Perfect Picture Book Friday/ Girls Hold Up This World

Hi Friends,

I was sorry to see Halloween go. As it was the most fun I had was entering Susanna Leonard Hill’s Halloweensie Contest.  My entry did not win but I was assured I was a winner just because I entered and wrote a story. Now the rush for Thanksgiving and Christmas is on. I however have been doing some shopping all along and don’t have that much to do except eat. And I can always eat. How about you? Where are you with getting ready for the Holidays? Are you going on blogging break?

I will. I will be taking a hiatus from blogging with my last blog on December 2, 2014, where I will be giving you the first three lines of the first three chapters of my memoir; to January 9, 2015, where I will be participating in Perfect Picture Book Friday again for the New Year. On Tuesdays I will continue blogging about my memoir journey and life as I refurbish it, while under construction. I hope you will visit me when I get back.

Now for the reason behind this blog, “Girls Hold UP This World,” my Perfect Picture Book Friday selection. 

Girls Hold Up This World book cover._AA160_Title: Girls Hold Up This World

Author/Illustrator: Jada Pinkett Smith/ Donyell Kennedy- McCullough

Publishing info: Scholastic 2005, Fiction

Resources: A blog for what schools don’t teach is here and on this website one can also buy T-shirts and other gifts with the logo of Girls Hold Up This World. On that site is a link for a Facebook page as well. On Amazon I noticed it had made an easy reader choice for schools. Inside there is a good message for girls. I only hope there is one just as validating for boys.

Ages appropriate for: All ages

Summary: Relates how girls are unique individuals, possessing self-esteem and discipline, and able to work with other girls to make a world a better place.

Themes: Girl Power, Behavior, Common childhood experiences

First three lines: “We girls hold up this world with a strength that’s all our own. We’ll see the different ways one day when we are grown. When we show our softer side, that doesn’t mean we’re weak.

Why I Love it: We have all heard about how a strong woman was behind the men who made this world the way it is. Here is a younger version how “Girls Hold Up This World.” This small picture book has a big lesson and honors girls with their uniqueness. In rhyme it makes each girl special no matter what her personality is. The text is wonderful but the photographs really accentuate it. If diversity is the word for today in picture books, than this book is the word for diversity. It is amazing. 

Every Friday, authors and KidLit bloggers post a favorite picture book.  To see a complete listing of all the Perfect Picture Books with resources, please visit author Susanna Leonard Hill’s Perfect Picture Books.

What about you? Do you think you’ll like reading this book?

Have a great weekend!

Now for one more glimpse of my book logo:

My Picture Books in logo by Margot Finke

My Picture Books in logo by Margot Finke

I know you needed that. 🙂 

See you Tuesday with an interview of Edmund’s illustrator, Lynne Bendoly. 

HUGS:

XOXO

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in blogging, Clara Bowman-Jahn, Clarike Bowman-Jahn, http://www.etreasurespublishing.com/, Perfect Picture Book Friday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Perfect Picture Book Friday/ Girls Hold Up This World

  1. Great book for girls. My kind of choice. Checked out the T-shirts. Will get it for my granddaughter.

    Thanks, your books arrived. Love them!:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There is always room on the shelf for a book that empowers, right? I’m glad you’ll be taking a break for the holidays. Enjoy life, and focus on your creativity!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Joanna says:

    Wasn’t expecting it to be in rhyme. Plenty of room for more books empowering girls, that’s for sure.

    Like

  4. This book looks like something I need for my counseling collection. Thanks! EnJOY your well-deserved holiday break.

    Like

  5. diannegray says:

    It’s great to take a break from blogging every now and then (I’m often coming and going) 😉 I think it’s very exciting that you’re writing a memoir xxx

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks so much, Dianne!

      I probably said it too soon about going on break. I should have waited till closer to time. I think anyway. 🙂

      My Memoir is going to be about after my late husband died and I lost my mind. I hope it won’t be too dark.. 🙂

      I hope I can weave enough light into the dark so it will be a nice read. Thanks again. Excited that you are following me.

      XOXO

      Liked by 1 person

  6. This books sounds great! I really love the third line in the opening “When we show our softer side, that doesn’t mean we’re weak.” What a great line to show that girls hold up this world.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Hi Penny,

      I know what you mean about the third line. I agree. We often think we are weak when we show our softer side so to have it validated that we are not is a great idea. We can hear that over and over till it is ingrained I think.

      Thanks so much for stopping by. 🙂

      Like

  7. I agree with Penny, that is a great line. Lovely book and message, we need these. Thanks for sharing Clar.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks, Diane!

      I know what you mean about showing our softer side not meaning we are weak. I told Penny we could hear that over and over and have it validated for us. 🙂

      So glad you stopped by, Diane. Happy weekend!
      XOXO

      Like

  8. This sounds very important. 🙂

    Like

  9. This sounds like a fabulous book for girls to read.

    Like

Comments are closed.