Memoir Writing is Hard!!

Hi Friends,

Credit Creative Commons _Flicker

Credit Creative Commons _Flicker

One day I came across Marcie Atkins site for writers and I was intrigued. Until I came across her revision post. Then it got me thinking and I wrote the following in one swoop.

Here is Marcie Atkins site for writers:

Just what I was looking for one day when I had a hard time starting on my revisions. I was just sitting doing everything but THE THING I needed to do. Which was working or revising my memoir. I have put the conclusion aside for now while I work on tightening my scenes. My memoir teacher has offered to read from start to finish if I tighten my scenes. So I am hard at work. Or rather I should be once I get the distractions out of the way.

 

What makes it so hard to go right to the writing or the revision work we have to do? Why do we fight it so hard?

 

I know some of my reasons. I am afraid it is no good. That what I do is no good. And I know it is from my inner critic. Why can’t I silence it? I know it is not necessarily true, right? Right? or is it?

 

I am much better at putsing right now than working. I am searching the web. Going from thing to thing. Pinterest to Facebook to YouTube. Looking at ways to revise rather than actually doing the thing of revising. OK, Toughen up. Work.

 

Ok, I Just spent good portion of two hours learning scrivener. Then came across a document in my memoir about how hard my life was during this period of my life. No wonder I don’t want to work. I have to work, which is hard, I  have to learn something new which is hard and hardest of all is how I have to re read and relive my life to write about it at all!! RELIVING it. The hard part. And it all was hard those lean years after my husband died. I felt so alone. so very alone.

 

My mother had turned away from me and gotten my older brother to believe I was a monster and I had no one else to turn to. My work friends were my work friends. They saw the confident nurse who others went to ask advice from. They did not see me cry buckets at home. Or fight with my son. Actually I had my sisters who often listened to me for hours on the phone but they lived in other states and Canada. Far away from me. And they were married.

So when I am writing this memior I have to relive the saddest hardest part of my life so far. Writing this memoir is HARD. So hard. It is a wonder I got this far. I am going to call Teresa, my memoir partner and see how she is doing.

This concludes the post on writing Memoir is hard. You heard it first on Clara Bowman-Jahn’s blog.

But I have a couple of great links for my writer friends:

 

Here is a great post from Linked IN about Pinterest for authors. Wonderful tips.

A great post on 29 writer conferences to learn about:

See you on Friday Folks!

XOXO

Wanna see my books again? I   can’t resist.

My Picture Books in logo by Margot Finke

My Picture Books in logo by Margot Finke

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in Clara Bowman-Jahn, Clarike Bowman-Jahn, life story, memoir, personal growth, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Memoir Writing is Hard!!

  1. granny1947 says:

    Hi There. I did a whole lot of blogs and posted them under memories but suddenly I couldn’t write any more. As you say…painful. Maybe I should revive those posts..hmmm…food for thought.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Hi Granny,

      I think that is where we met. When you were writing your memoiries. They were so interesting. However I learned once you put anything on a blog it is considered published and a publisher doesn’t want what has been published before. They think the readership has been exhausted.

      Any way why don’t you write a book like what I”m doing and try and publish it? You have a grand start. 🙂

      Then you can use your blog as a tribe of people who are interested in buying your book.

      Just a thought. Let me know. 🙂

      Like

  2. jannatwrites says:

    I admire you for keeping at it. I’ve managed to repress things enough, I doubt I could remember anything accurately if I tried. So I don’t. I think you’ll get back to it when you’re emotionally ready to go there again. Best to you!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Hi Janna!

      Fortunately for me I have kept a journal all these years and the memoiries are there for the taking. In fact there is way too much for one book to handle. Some of my biggest challenges is to narrow the scope down of what I write about in this book. Who’s story is it anyway. is a question I often ask myself.

      🙂

      Like

  3. Margot Finke says:

    Wonderful article, Clar. I tried to pin it to my Pinterest, but ti will not pin???
    Battle on, mate. Once you have written it all down you will have slayed the dragon for all time!!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      HI Margot!

      I hope you are right. I Find even in re reading it to edit it again I have to relive it. and the pain is sufficient to stop once again. There is also a lot of anger towards my mother that just has to stop. Somewhere I forgave her and allowed me to help her in her old age but here in my memoir it is live and well. 🙂

      Like

  4. Beautifully honest.

    Like

  5. You are one tough cookie! I believe that!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. clarbojahn says:

    Aaawww! Thanks, Rhythm. I appreciate that. 🙂

    Like

  7. Darlene says:

    All writing is hard but I do believe memoir writing is the most difficult. But I know you will do it!

    Like

Comments are closed.