Halloweensie Contest 2014

Hi Friends!

Whooo hooo booo!!

Whooo hooo booo!!

It’s time for the Halloweensie contest, brain child of Susanna Leonard HIll. Her rules said to use the words creak, pumpkin and broomstick. Susanna says “Your story can be scary, funny or anything in between, poetry or prose, but it will only count for the contest if it includes those 3 words (you can count candy corn as one word) and is 100 words (you can go under, but not over!)  Get it?  Halloweensie – because it’s not very long and it’s for little people 🙂  (And yes, I know 100 words is short but that’s part of the fun and the challenge!  We got nearly 80 fantastic entries last year so I know you can do it!) Here is her  link so you can go and read all the other stories. 🙂

My story will be up all week to coincide with her contest with no  Perfect Picture Book Friday this week. So get your chocolate and sit awhile. Here is mine.

 

Halloween Stew

It was Halloween break at Hogwarts. Christine arrived home on her old creaky broomstick. Sister, Marie, welcomed her with screeches and squeals. Marie quickly finished her homework with the words,

“Double Double toil and Trouble.”

Looking up Marie stared at Christine holding hands with a man, Christine’s boyfriend. With her lips pressed flat Marie asked, “Is he baking pie with us?” Christine said, “Yes, isn’t that nice?” With clenched teeth Marie said “No.”

Suddenly the man scooped Marie up in the air and twirled her around. Marie liked him instantly and the three relished in baking pumpkin pie.

The end

Yep! that is the end to my story. IF I had more than 100 words I would certainly say more. However I can’t and here are links for my writer friends.

Here is Marcie Atkins site for writers:

16 tips on Pinterest /

So that is it for my  post this week folks. See you next week. On Tuesday.

HUGS!!

 

XOXO

Both my picture books are up on amazon now.

My Picture Books in logo by Margot Finke

My Picture Books in logo by Margot Finke

 

 

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in blogging, Clara Bowman-Jahn, Clarike Bowman-Jahn, social networking, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Halloweensie Contest 2014

  1. Catherine Johnson says:

    Three cooks in the kitchen. That’s a fun story, Clar!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Robyn Campbell says:

    Good one, Clar! Love it. My kids would love to finish their schoolwork that easily. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Janet Smart says:

    Good story. Marie changed her mind quickly, didn’t she? She was swept off her feet!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nancy Tandon says:

    Oooh, a love triangle is a-brewin’! Lots of story in 100 words!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. cherylsec says:

    Hi Clarike! 🙂 I enjoyed your story. How fun! Puts me in the mood for pumpkin pie. Nice job!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pumpkin pie makes everything better! Thanks for serving up some. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Scooping up and twirling can certainly cast a spell! Cute entry, Clar.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. lindaboyden says:

    What a lovely beginning to I hope a longer story some day! Nice work!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Fun idea, Clara. Good luck in the contest.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. jdewdropsofink says:

    I’m hankering for some pumpkin pie. Wish I could fetch it with a spell. :). Good luck.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Hahaha! A little sibling jealousy 🙂 Poor Marie, having to share Christine with a boy when she was home on break! I’m glad Marie decided she liked him and they were all able to enjoy pumpkin pie! 🙂 Thanks so much for a fun entry, Clar, and for joining the Halloweensie high jinx 🙂

    Like

  12. I love that twirling around! And baking pie all at the same time! Great story! to be continued —–

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Too many cooks in the kitchen. Cute!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach and pumpkin pie (which I have tasted only once in my life) is sure to be a winning dish. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  15. I sense jealousy – and a jealous witch is not someone to tangle with! I wonder what happens next…

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I wonder how that pumpkin pie will turn out! Intriguing story.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Ooh – a pie-making man will be welcome in my kitchen anytime! Fun story Clar!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. I wish I got a Halloween break, too! 🙂 I need to bake a pumpkin pie!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Now I’m ready for some pumpkin pie. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. What’s not to like by a tall dark stranger who twirls you in circles AND bakes pies.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Susanne says:

    Halloweensie romance! Love it. Thank you for the sweet comment! My first-graders have loved reading everyone’s encouragement.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. mmm…. I agree with Teresa, what’s not to like with a tall dark stranger and pies? Yum! hehehe! Great entry Clar!

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Pingback: Perfect Picture Book Friday/ Girls Hold Up This World | Clarbojahn's Blog

Comments are closed.