I’m a Blog Prisoner

Out my window. Cardinals on a rail.

Out my window. Cardinals on a rail.

Hi Friends!

Over my winter break I thought I would come to some sort of balanced feeling about this. I am shy and my blog helps me say things about myself that otherwise I wouldn’t say. But what about over sharing?  Like with my journal articles and talking about how much they mean to me?  and this one on part two: Here.

Or my spiritual path here: . There’s a bit of over sharing in that, I would say.  And then the whining one where I actually whine: here. But it’s really about writing memoir and the support I get. I love and need that. But,,,

Is that not over sharing?

I often feel rather self conscientious about blogging. But what kind of blog would I have if I did not reveal my thoughts about myself? Christie feels the same way.

My response to her was this:

In my blogging, I too, find myself with the dilemma of writing too much about myself or not enough to keep the conversation going. But if it were not for comments I would not do it. I find so much support in the kid lit and my blogging community that I am thoroughly enchanted by it and also captured. I am a prisoner of my blog.   I am captured by my readers and I love it.

Thanks, readers, for taking me prisoner.

What about you? Do you feel self conscientious in your blogging? Do you find yourself in a dilemma of saying too much about yourself? Tell me in the comments, OK?

Out my window. Cardinals  pecking seeds on deck table.

Out my window. Cardinals pecking seeds on deck table.

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in blogging, Clara Bowman-Jahn, Clarike Bowman-Jahn, life story, memoir, personal growth, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to I’m a Blog Prisoner

  1. Oh my! This blog post speaks to me. Everything you have said is me…lol. I’ve also become a bit quiet on my blog. mmm…

    Like

  2. jannatwrites says:

    I think most of us have a line that we try not to cross when blogging. There are topics that I don’t write about because they leave me feeling too exposed, or they aren’t just my story. I also avoid face photos of the kids, or sharing anything that could be embarrassing for them. Sharing ourselves can be hard, but on the up-side, many times we find that someone else happens along that can relate to it.

    As a reader, I enjoy blogs where I feel like I know the person a little.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks, Janna, for your honest and humbling comment. I too, don’t share face photos of my grandson or write anything that might embarrass his mother or him. I think that is wise.

      I do hope that as I get more into writing posts about my memoir that I don’t over share and embarrass myself. I don’t know blog etiquette for memoir. I know you have been brave enough to post short stories online and my hate goes off to you. You have been very successful doing that.

      I may start writing something about a scene in my memoir that later I wish I hadn’t. I guess I have to start by wiggling my toes a little. 🙂

      Like

  3. I have to say, I like it when other people share. It makes me feel like I get to know them better. But I have a hard time sharing beyond a certain point myself because I’m not convinced anyone would be interested 🙂

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks, Susanna.

      I say of course we’re interested. I think it depends on what you’re saying and how but if it’s your story people want to know. Any way I hope so. 🙂

      Like

  4. Margot Finke says:

    We LOVE being party to your inner angst and ideas. They make us think about ourselves. They sometimes humble us. They make us love you because we see ourselves in all you write down in your awesome blog. If you quit I will cry buckets!!! I need your mirror so I can see myself more clearly.

    Books for Kids – Skype Author Visits
    http://www.mrgotfinke.com

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Oh thanks, Margot. Every-time I get a doubt I will come running to you. That, what you write above, is exactly why I want to write a memoir. I”ll keep that save by my computer for awhile I think. Thanks so much! 🙂

      Like

  5. Hey Clar! What beautiful cardinals. I saw robins today. That must mean spring is coming. I love when other folks share. It makes me realize I’m not the only person with a boatload of stuff to deal with. And that is a good thing. Because I know then that we’re REALLY all in this together. 🙂

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks, Robyn,

      Those cardinals are outside my sliding window as a work. they are my friends as long as I keep the cats inside.

      Don’t worry — we are REALLY in this together. 🙂

      Like

  6. Well said! 🙂 I know what you mean. 🙂

    Like

  7. Life and Other Turbulence says:

    What a lovely picture on this post! Looking at those beautiful birds would put me in the mood to write with a cup of tea on hand! I only began blogging as an effort to make sure I was writing regularly, since I was struggling to get my memoir project moving forward with the focus I needed to see it through. I’ve purposely stayed beneath the radar with my blog, not interested in garnering hordes of followers because I don’t want to get swept up with paying attention to how many followers I have, and then try to figure out how can I increase that number. I just want to write what I want to write, and that way I keep it honest and current. I’m always amazed though to get reader comments, often wondering how the heck they stumbled upon my blog to begin with. I never was one to journal, but now that I’ve been blogging for 2 years, I have to say, it’s made me realize how much I enjoy writing. Glad you’ve found wonderful support through the blogging community…its a great group overall, isn’t it?! And, glad we’ve connected in our mutual memoir journey…looking forward to the day when I can finally type that last page. Sending all good wishes to you as you move forward!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      I started this blog with my kid-lit community holding it down. I began when Annie’s Special Day started seeing light. I got real involved in kid lit with my second picture book coming out next summer so I must say these people know me for picture book blogs and posts having to do with kid lit. I will be swaying far in the tree when I start sharing snippets from my memoir with them..

      And as you can see from this blog their comments mean the world to me. I’m their prisoner. And I like it this way. 🙂

      Like

  8. Darlene says:

    I enjoy learning about other people and I feel that everyone shares what they are comfortable sharing. Readers do like to know more about the writers of books they read. It is also good to share with other writers some of our thoughts and frustrations. We are all human. I tend to enjoy writing about my kids and grandkids, but I would never include anything they wouldn’t want me to. The wonderful thing is, all blogs are different which makes it so interesting. I’m very glad I’ve got to know you.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Same here, Darlene. Just think, if we had traveled in different circles we would not know each other. sad. 😦

      It’s through the kid lit community we met isn’t it? Any way, no chance of me not following you or you not following me. is there? even if I all I wrote about were memoir? Or snippets of memoir? Not sure yet how to proceed here. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.