PPBF/ This Is Not My Hat

Hi Friends!

We’re back! *Yipee!* I love Friday’s because then comes the weekend, right? Everyone on that with me? It’s also Perfect Picture Book Friday time and I love sharing my favorite picture books. 

And now for the Real Deal, Perfect Picture Book Friday.

This is not my Hat

This is not my Hat

Title: This is Not My Hat

Author/ Illustrator: Jon Klassen

Publishing info: Candlewick Press 2012, fiction

Age appropriate for: age 4-8 years old although another source says 5-11 years old

First Three Sentences: This hat is not mine. I just stole it. I stole it from a big fish.

What it says on the Jacket: “A fish has stolen a hat. And he’ll probably get away with it. Probably.”

Resources: You tube:

 A free PDF:

Teacher activities: In science, art, math, and so many more activities one  couldn’t hope to do them in a week. Here:  

Why I love it: A sneaky small fish steals a bigger fish’s hat and the story spins off from there. The reader is left to think the thief is getting away it. But there is a twist.  And it’s good. 

For my writer friends I have gifts of sites that were helpful to me during the week. Is everyone signing up for a conference? Or signing up to pitch to an agent during one of the online conferences? Here is the site I found most helpful to you if you are. And if you get face time with an agent you are much more likely to have a book published than if you just send a query letter. Here it is:

For Jeff Goin’s Writer’s Manifesto? Look here:

And here’s what Vivian Kirkfield says on her blog: 

“Today is Friday – I have a children’s book review to add to the Perfect Picture Book resource list that author Susanna Leonard Hill is building on her blog. For more wonderful reviews from authors, educators and others who contributed today, please go here. ”

And here’s what I say:

Hugs and kisses!

See you on Tuesday, my other posting day.

©Clara Bowman-Jahn aka Clarike Bowman-Jahn

 

 

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in blogging, Clara Bowman-Jahn, Clarike Bowman-Jahn, Course or Book Review, Perfect Picture Book Friday, social networking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to PPBF/ This Is Not My Hat

  1. I have a feeling that thieving fish is in for some trouble… 🙂 Thanks for sharing this one, Clar!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks, Susanna!
      And the beauty of it is that it is all subtle and nuanced. The illustrations lead you to believe of the trouble but it is not stated per-say. 🙂

      Like

  2. I have read many reviews of this book, and still haven’t read it. Must check it out. Great review!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks, Patricia.

      I have read many reviews, too, and could have sworn I saw one on PPBF but when I checked there wasn’t one, so I went ahead and did it.

      You’ll love it, I’m sure. 🙂

      Like

  3. I love this book!!! It is a great fun one to read with kids! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  4. Clar, I love this book, along with I Want My Hat Back. Great choice.

    Like

  5. I know some people don’t like the ending in this book, but I’m a supporter!

    Like

  6. I like books like this because I can’t imagine any child not wanting to discuss what’s happening! Thanks, Clar.

    Like

  7. cheeky little fish…. love it! Very cute and thanks for the inspiring links, Clar. Have a great weekend.

    Like

  8. I love this book – it is so fun… thanks for sharing it.

    Like

  9. I love this book! I love the hook. 🙂

    Like

  10. I like this book, too, Clar. I know it’s gotten mixed reactions but I love the humor! The little fish is so smug and I found it funny when he got his comeuppance!

    Like

Comments are closed.