A Warning and Writing Goals!

Hi Friends! 

BASSIST: I’ve found four books that address the “sitting in a chair” obstacle: Anne Lamott’s Bird by Bird, Annie Dillard’s The Writing Life, Natalie Goldberg’s Writing Down the Bones, and Steven Pressfield’s The War of Art. In Pressfield’s book, every page can be reduced to: “Shut up and write.”

From How to Write Like a Mother#^@%*&

Elissa Bassist & Cheryl Strayed

From Creative Nonfiction’s magazine of issue 47 out this April.

Bassist read four books to shut up and write. I got those and others. If you read my last post you’ve got an idea of where I’m heading with this one.  

I plan on writing, writing and more writing starting next week for at least 90 days as I focus on my memoir.

Yes, I’m warning you now that I’ll stop Perfect Picture Book Friday’s and my Tuesday posts next week. My goal is to get up early with the birds, when I do my best writing and write. Then after two or three hours I can live my life. But I don’t want to blog while I’m doing this. I don’t want to have to think about putting posts together. I’m going to be too busy. I’m planning on shutting up and writing.

I plan on writing, writing and more writing with a break on June 15th for my son’s wedding. The whole weekend will be family. I am looking forward to this writing marathon but am a little nervous, too. Will I be able sit in chair and write like a Mother #^@%*&? (Yes, I know, I don’t usually talk like this. However my intention needs this kind of language.)

Because that is what I’m planning but we all know our intentions don’t always fall where they intend to go.  I’ve clued in husb. He is supportive but things will happen. Like what will happen when grandson visits? Will I stop writing? He claims to be afraid of sleeping in his room but that’s whole other story. My life will be about writing not visiting. Or at least not until after the writing is done for the day.

Right now that’s my goal. Right now I want to finish Susanna Hill’s course on Making Picture Book Magic and writing that draft. And also in those afternoons after I’ve finished working on my memoir I plan on submitting last January’s and February’s manuscript to publishing houses. It’s all revised and rewritten a thousand times till it’s as perfect as can be. In fact I’m waiting for Christie Wild’s contest to see if it won the nonfiction selection and if I’ll get a critique.

My current WIP will also get revised and critiqued during summer and IF I have time in the afternoon I’ll work on my picture book biography.

That’s about it for now folks. Enough? Are you bored?

1950/ That's me with the half Nelson on my big brother with my other brother sitting by.

1950/ That’s me with the half Nelson on my big brother with my other brother sitting by.

Please leave a comment. Make me Smile.

Cover of "Writing down the Bones"

Cover of Writing down the Bones

.

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in blogging, Clara Bowman-Jahn, Clarike Bowman-Jahn, life story, memoir, personal growth, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to A Warning and Writing Goals!

  1. henryonfire says:

    Good luck. Remember its like dieting and bicycle riding. If you drop your pen you just pick it up and start again.

    Like

  2. Good for you! All of the blogging does interfere with writing. Have a ball.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks, Patricia.

      I appreciate that comment from someone who I admire greatly for your blog posts and also your resolve in writing Picture books. 🙂

      Like

  3. Rosi says:

    I admire your plan and hope it works for you. I need to make a plan like that!

    Like

  4. john doody says:

    Clara,

    This is what I’m doing for book 3. It will be done by the end of May! You just have to do what you have to do. Now, I’m to work.

    John Doody Author of Action Science Fiction http://www.johndoody.com/ http://johnjosephdoody.blogspot.com/ The Wonk Decelerator Available from ETreasures Publishing

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Do you mean you’re concentrating on writing and not doing anything else? But in chair?

      Good for you, John. I have done it for short periods of time but not extended periods so this will be discipline for me. Thanks for letting me know. 🙂

      Like

  5. Stacy S. Jensen says:

    Good luck. I thought about you when an agent mentioned a non-fiction book to read. I took her recommendation to heart. I’ll read it and then look at what I will send her. I’ve been in hiding for several weeks and have about two more to go. 🙂

    Like

  6. Darlene says:

    Good luck with your plan. Sounds like a good one. “People don’t plan to fail, they just fail to plan”

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      I’m going to start a little later than the first of May which is tomorrow because I’m cleaning up the junk room to hold my notes and journals that I will be consulting. Am on the path. *YaY*

      Like

  7. Judith says:

    Yes, yes, yes, writing is a daily practice. What a wonderful challenge you have set for yourself. I applaud you and support you. Now get going! JD

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Ha Ha, Judith!

      As a writer I have long written every day. Only not on a project like a book length so this is challenging for me. Thanks for the encouragement. 🙂

      Like

  8. I have been wanting to read “Bird by Bird.” It sounds like a wonderful book. Good luck on your endeavors!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks so much, Heather!

      Getting the discipline is harder than I thought. I am reading a lot right now and loving it. Still need to get butt in chair everyday. Am on a road block right now. Maybe I’ll skip ahead and forget this next part. lol

      Like

  9. Clar, Bird By Bird is excellent. You know I love your plan. Hugs and loves beautiful lady! (I’m still debating about quitting blogging.)

    Like

Comments are closed.