Books I’m Reading In Preparation

Three Couples, My husb and I are flanked by my sons and their partners.

Three Couples, My husb and I are flanked by my sons and their partners. My all time favorite photo. Circa summer 2010.

HI Friends!

I’ve gone over board in ordering books to read before I settle down and work hard on my memoir. I planned on reading these before my marathon writing streak starts in May.

Here is a partial list. I’m embarrassed by a whole one.

Writing the Nonfiction Book by Eva Shaw

Crafting the Personal Essay by Dinty W. Moore

The Emotion Thesaurus by Angela Ackerman & Becca Puglisi

The Writer’s Journey, Mythic Structure for Writers by Christopher Vogler

Write Your Book in 20 Minutes by Eva Shaw, PhD

The 90 Day Novel by Alan Watts

And

Writing Down the Bones by Natalie Goldberg

I’ve finished “Writing Down the Bones.” It was just as easy to read and just as inspiring as Stephen King’s “On Writing.” I’m on Day six of “The 90 Day Novel” and am loving it. Maybe I’ll just use this to jump-start my memoir each day in May, June and July. I found each days writing takes about two hours and then I’ll reward myself with a break.

I plan on finishing the CD of the “Write Your Book in 20 Minutes” as soon as I get time by myself with my husband gone. With him doing taxes in the same room as our TV and CD player I can’t very well watch it until he’s gone for an hour or two.

And I must admit, he left me alone this past Sunday and I didn’t do it. I read. My computer broke down. I got three black screens of death in a row on Friday so I’ve been using his Linux computer. It’s real different and I don’t like how I have to learn everything new. It takes so long and I can’t wait till my own computer comes back from the doctor.

And as for the other books? They’ll be research ones for the most part or used to skim through in the afternoons after I’ve done my butt in chair for two hours.

What books are you reading? Are you getting ready for special projects this summer?

Please leave a comment. Make me Smile.

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in Clara Bowman-Jahn, Clarike Bowman-Jahn, life story, memoir, personal growth, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Books I’m Reading In Preparation

  1. Jennifer says:

    I hope your computer comes back healthy soon – your plans sound great and I’m impressed. Also, I love the photo. : )

    Like

  2. Well, I plan to work on my book (and book ideas) during the summer. I also plan to read. 😉

    Like

  3. Stacy S. Jensen says:

    Good luck. I read Marioan Roach Smith’s The Memoir Project. http://marionroach.com It was a combination of the book and “timing” that helped me complete by first draft. I’m in the third revision and will pitch it at a conference on Saturday. Then, I’ll begin writing queries.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks for heads up on “The memoir project”. Good luck on the pitch. Maybe you don’t need to query if you get lucky.

      You’ve come a long way, Stacy. I’m proud of you. 🙂

      Like

  4. Thanks for the helpful list, Clare! I hope to write my childhood memoirs someday. I will file these for the future.

    Like

  5. Good luck and have fun Clar. Thanks for the list of books. I read “Writing Down the Bones” years ago. And, thanks Stacy for the recommendation.

    Like

  6. Margot Finke says:

    What a wonderful selection of “inspirational learning.” Your memoir will be a winner for sure, mate. Now all you have to do is BEGIN!

    Books for Kids – Manuscript Critiques
    Fluff up your pillows – not your paragraphs!
    http://www.margotfinke.com

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks, Margot!

      I”ve actually got quite a lot of memoir written already. Just not in a compelling way. And all my journal entries should help. Also the course I took made me start it. Now just for some undiluted writing time. 🙂

      Like

  7. Darlene says:

    All good choices. You will find The Emotion Thesaurus very helpfuul while writing your memoirs. Good luck with this project!

    Like

Comments are closed.