PPBF/International Day of the Girl

Hi Friends!

I hope I am not too late. This post is about Girl Power and International Day of the Girl.

Every Girl Tells A Story

Every Girl Tells A Story

The first Friday back from my summer break, I featured Every Girl Has a Story,      a picture book with autobiographies of girls who are our future. I loved this book. A blogger friend, Patricia Tilton gave me more web sites to go to for more insights and resources. She researched this herself on her post for a book called A Girl Called Problem.”

This book features how hard it is for girls to get an education in Tanzania and Patricia’s niece works there. She says “Our niece has built a school, library and dorms for girls in Tanzania, where this story takes place. This is her web site,  where her niece has made a difference. It is all so inspiring.

There she also gave me the date for International Day of the Girl on October 11, 2013, which is today.

A Girl Called ProblemHer other web sites were telling also.

One moved me to no end; Girl Rising.  On that web site are names of girls who through unbearable hardships rise above them. There is a movie trailer by that name. It by itself is very moving.

And there is http://www.girleffect.org/ about how important education is for girls. We don’t know here in the States how much education is a difficult hurdle to climb in developing countries. Basically what this web site says is that poverty can be overcome by year 2015 by empowering girls and giving them an education. “Economically empowered girls can stop poverty before it starts.”

Not so long ago through Children International I sponsored an Indian girl from age seven through seventeen when she outgrew the sponsorship. I helped her go to school and get an education. I received letters from her monthly and gave money for birthdays and holidays that benefited her family. It meant a lot to the family. My husband is doing the same for a boy in Central America. But my thinking now is that girls need it more. It is Girls who grow up into women bearing the family and decide what happens generationally and if educated, they can change the world. Fifty percent of the population is female.

I am going to start sponsoring another girl from an impoverished family. Making that decision and doing it makes me think I am doing a little thing in helping girls around the world. It is a little thing with big rewards. I am grateful for the opportunity.

Are any of you doing anything for poverty on a regular basis? Are you inspired by these web sites? What do you think about “International Day of the Girl?”

Virgie goes to school with us boysOther PPBF books I have featured that give girl power is “Virgie goes to School With us Boys.”  

 As my friend Joanna  Marple says on her blog on PPBF “Every Friday, authors and Kid Lit bloggers post a favorite picture book.  To see a complete listing of all the Perfect Picture Books with resources, please visit author Susanna Leonard Hill’s Perfect Picture Books. ” 

Have a Greaaat weekend!! XXOO 

© Clara Bowman-Jahn aka Clarike Bowman-Jahn

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in blogging, Course or Book Review, Perfect Picture Book Friday, social networking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to PPBF/International Day of the Girl

  1. I admire your compassion for those who have little access to education. Sponsoring a child is one important way to do that. My husband does the same through the organization, “Compassion, intl.” You do find the most interesting books on the issue, Clar!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks so much, Jarm.

      Thanks so much for sponsoring a child. I am ashamed to say I haven’t yet done taken action. Although I will. I have just been busy. I agree. It is one thing to do to help the situation of poverty and empowerment. 🙂

      Like

  2. Excellent! International Girls Day. Should be every day! You have presented a lot of things to think about and some good book choices to look into. Thanks!!

    Like

  3. Pingback: International Day of the Girl: Picture Book Review | Picture Books Help Kids Soar

  4. Clar, I expected to see a picture book review. Wow, what a surprise. I am so pleased that my earlier review inspired you to look deeper and focus on this day. And, thank you for sharing the info I gave you and Katie Quirk’s book, “A Girl Called Problem.” There is so much we can all do. I got involved in 2010 and helped design a traveling exhibit for the Dayton International Peace Museum on Greg Mortenson’s work to educate girls. It’s a subject very near to my heart.

    I’m glad you’re sponsoring a child. We helped sponsor three girls and a female med student in Haiti.

    Our niece was featured in the Huffington Post today. Here’s the link, if your interested. http://www.huffingtonpost.com/anne-robinson-wadsworth/the-gimmick-of-1011-the-p_b_4084941.html

    Patricia

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      This is so interesting, Patricia! Thanks so much! I have loved all your tweets and emails and am late to these comments. I have thought to get on Susanna’s blog hop but didn’t ask her in time.

      Thanks so much for the link to the Huffingtonpost. I will definitely look it up. This work is so important and I am thrilled by the work you are doing. 🙂

      Like

  5. Clar, Terrific article and books about girls learning and going places in Africa. These are all inspiring reads. Pinned to my HOOK Kids on Reading on Pinterest.

    Books for Kids – Skype Author Visits
    http://www.margotfinke.com

    Like

  6. Pingback: International Day of the Girl—How You Can Help Educate Girls Globally | Girl's CEO Connection Blog

  7. Pingback: International Day of the Girl | doug --- off the record

  8. Pingback: Perfect Picture Book Friday/ Please Bury Me in the Library | Clarbojahn's Blog

Comments are closed.