PERFECT PICTURE BOOK FRIDAY / I NEED MY MONSTER

Hi Readers!

I need my Monster book coverBoy, have a got a good one for you today! Not a Jon Sciescka or a historical fiction but a Monstore book! And are you ever going to be surprised.

Yes, I was going to review this picture book for perfect picture book Friday but it has been done before by Penny Klosterman. http://pennyklostermann.com/2012/02/24/perfect-picture-book-friday-i-need-my-monster/ . I was all set to publish my blog for today on my WordPress editor when I thought I’d get the book cover for the image and Penny came up on my google search.And I read the wonderful review with lots of comments.  I went back and choose another book thinking I would start all over with ISH. Smarter now I looked it up. Yep, it had been done before, too. Joanna Warple did it http://joannamarple.com/?p=2432 on January 12, 2012 with lots of comments. Not too daunted I chose another, Edwina, the Dinosaur Who Didn’t Know She Was Extinct. Yep, done before.  Robyn Campbell on Feb. 24, 2012 wrote a nice review for PPBF with lots of comments.  http://robyn-campbell.blogspot.com/2012/02/perfect-

Cover of "Edwina, The Dinosaur Who Didn't...

Cover via Amazon

picture-book-friday_24.html.

Now it was getting too late to start all over. I didn’t feel like reading another picture book just to do a blog on it. PPBF had always been fun for me before and it had ceased being fun. So see you next week people. Are you surprised? I hope so because for me it’s — Good Night!

And for those of you writing a PPBF blog? Don’t forget to look your book up on the lists where perfect picture books lives. 

For more books with resources please visit Perfect Picture Books at Susanna Leonard Hill’s blog. And if you’d like to be whisked away through cyber space to the resource page and the list of more marvelous recommended perfect picture books just click on the perfect picture book badge on the right.

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in blogging, Clara Bowman-Jahn, Clarike Bowman-Jahn, life story, personal growth, social networking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to PERFECT PICTURE BOOK FRIDAY / I NEED MY MONSTER

  1. Catherine Johnson says:

    Oh dear you must all have brilliant taste in books Clar. I haven’t looked mine up yet, so I’ve been lucky. Have a lovely weekend!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks, Catherine.
      I’m not sure whether I should link this book up to the hop or not. I guess I will so more can be warned to look their books up. 🙂

      Like

  2. Oh, Clar! I’m sorry you tried so hard and kept coming up with ones that had been previously done! I miss having your review today. I hope you’ll find something for next week that no one has beat you to! Your link isn’t working, so I will try to fix it for you. And thank you so much for checking and for putting in this helpful warning for others 🙂 Have a great weekend!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks, Susanna. I did something different with my link because of not having a real book. Thanks for fixing it for me.

      Have a great weekend yourself! 🙂

      Like

  3. Cathe Olson says:

    At my elementary school, I read all the nominees for this year’s California Young Reader Medal .. . . and our school pick was I Need My Monster. Can’t wait to find out next week which book won.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      With how imaginative “I need MY monster” is it is no wonder it was your school pick. I hope you come back next week and tell us what won, too. I’ll be wondering. 🙂

      Like

  4. You know how much I like this one 🙂 I’m glad you mentioned checking the list. That is what I do before I start because I have done the same thing you did…pick on that was already on the list. Fortunately, the time I did that, I had time to choose another favorite I had from the library. I will look forward to your next one.

    Like

  5. Even though you didn’t have a book to review, you had a whale of a story to tell! I enjoyed your humor.

    Like

  6. Clar, you obviously have good taste, since you keep picking previous PPBF books. Have you read “When a Dragon Moves In?” illustrated by Howard McWilliam? I think it was recently reviewed also, but it’s a current favorite around here.

    Like

  7. That happened to me two weeks ago! I was going to add Miss Nelson is Missing and had it all written and then saw someone else did it 😦 I made sure that I checked first this week 😉 Yours is a good PPB pick!

    Like

  8. It’s happened to me a couple times, so I always look both ways now before crossing the PPBF street!

    Like

  9. Char, I admire all your hard work and dedication and I so look forward to your PPBF posts!

    Like

  10. Wow. As someone said, it shows you have good taste in books, but how frustrating to have it happen so many times in a row! It’s a good thing to remember, to check first. We can’t possibly remember all the books that have been done, now that there are so many. Thanks for sharing the lesson with us.

    Like

  11. Stacy S. Jensen says:

    All great books. Clar, I typically look up the books before I post, to check. This week, I did not, so I hope I’m not a repeat review. I ran out of time. I love the titles this week.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Yep, I read your review. It was good and I don’t think it’s been done before. I wonder if the list is getting done. Are all Picture books Perfect ones? 🙂

      Like

  12. Christie Wright Wild says:

    I have an interview with author Amanda Noll on my blog. It’s her debut book!

    Like

  13. Myra GB says:

    Hi Clar, now that’s a blogpost I’d love to read too! 🙂 I likeylike! Very Scieszka-like in its ‘I will review I Need My Monster but I decided not to, good night people!’ 🙂 Seriously, though, thanks for still linking up to this post. And yes, we do try to check in as well about some of the books that we’re about to share for PPBF. I’m pretty glad your predicament has not happened to us yet, I’d probably do the same thing that you did in case it happens. 🙂

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks, Myra for your encouragement. And for seeing the humor in it.
      Yes, we have to start checking the lists now to see if it’s been done before. There are so many good ones. Hope writing several PPB blogs and finding them done doesn’t happen to you. 🙂

      Like

  14. Hi Clar…yes, you put a smile on everyone’s face with your post…that is for sure!!!!
    I do try to check Susanna’s list…of course, having been carefully taught in school never to scroll down to the bottom of the page, but answer each question in turn, I failed to realize there was an ALPHABETICAL list of all of the titles…so I had always looked through EACH category I thought would apply to the book I wanted to add to the list. 🙂 How funny is that? I just discovered it the other day (THANK YOU, SUSANNA), so my search will be speeded up in the future. 🙂
    A post from you is always a pleasure to read, even if it doesn’t have a picture book review attached to it!

    Like

Comments are closed.