Hillary Rodham Clinton/ #PPBF

Hi Friends!

Another May Friday! Happy Perfect Picture Books Friday! And Happy Weekend! 

Hillary Rodham Clinton book cover from amazon_Title: Hillary Rodham Clinton, Dreams Taking Flight

Author / Illustrator : Kathleen Knell/ Amy June Bates

Publishing info : Simon and Schuster Books for Young Readers 2008 Although I was surprised to find an updated version of  August 2015, right in line when she said she would run for president.

Appropriate for ages :  Age Level: 5 – 8 | Grade Level: K – 3

Summary from jacket : “When Hillary was young, she wanted to an astronaut, to soar as high as the stars above. She kept reaching up and up as she grew. There were people who told her no. But she didn’t listen to them. There were people who didn’t think she could do it. But she believed in herself. And Hillary has been making history ever since. This is the inspiring story of a girl with dreams as big as the open sky.”

And from amazon page : “ The beautifully illustrated picture book about Hillary Clinton—now revised and updated with brand-new material about her time as Secretary of State.

Before Hillary Clinton was in the running to be president, she was a young girl growing up outside Chicago who lost the election for student-body president. She wanted to be an astronaut, to soar as high as the stars above. She kept reaching up and up as she grew. There were people who told her no—most of them simply because she was a girl—but she didn’t listen to them. There were people who didn’t think she could do it. But she believed in herself. And Hillary has been making history ever since. This is the inspiring story of a girl with dreams as big as the open sky.”

First Three Sentences : “Once there was a girl who  wanted to fly. She dreamed of  zooming in a spaceship up through the clouds into outer space, learning new things about Earth. She wrote to the national space agency to volunteer.”

RESOURCES : Have your child watch the news on TV and follow Hillary’s campaign for president or alternately clip news articles out of magazines about her.

To watch her on TV on American Experiences check out this listing :

And for a reading guide on this book :

Why I love it: The end papers really wowed me. THere was so much good information in them that I feel I  know Hillary much better than before. Also all along the text telling of her life up to 2008 there were inspirational quotes. I just loved how they could empower a girl or even a woman like me to do my best or do better in life than I have been. Quotes like “Stand up for yourself and keep your balance. “ And “ You don’t have time for fear.”

Theres a lot to love about this picture book. The illustrations are spot on. For a presidential candidate to already have a book that aims at the younger readers is key as well.

For the complete list of books with resources, please visit Perfect Picture Books.

And for her Pinterest board look here :

Also there is another blog Susanna started with alphabetizing here : 

So you see? There is no scarcity of places to look for picture books. Enjoy!!

For those of you who visited me last Tuesday you will remember I told you about my web site reconstruction. Stacy Jensen is giving me one! *Yay!*

My blog will be part of http://www.clarabowman-jahn.com . No more wordpress in the name of it. No more short hand of clarbojahn but my full name. Plus it will have my books in it and more. A whole website with blog. Not two. So I hope you won’t be confused.

Stacy reassures me it will be seamless. We all like that right? But next time you visit you may see a different header with different pages under it. I hope you take a look around.

See you on Tuesday! and again next Friday with another Perfect Picture Book.

Congrats! Sandy!

Thanks, Stacy!

 

Thanks for reading ya’ll! I love you all!  XOXO

Have a Happy Happy Weekend!

 

 

 

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in blogging, Clara Bowman-Jahn, Clarike Bowman-Jahn, Course or Book Review, marketing, Perfect Picture Book Friday, social networking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Hillary Rodham Clinton/ #PPBF

  1. Darlene says:

    I love books like this for young people, about real woman who followed their dreams. I read a book about Eleanor Roosevelt when I was a young girl and it really stuck with me. Young girls need good role modals.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ManjuBeth says:

    The language of current PB biographies hooks readers. Books like this one don’t have the dry listing of facts that we were subjected to at school.

    Liked by 1 person

    • clarbojahn says:

      That is so true, Manjubeth! This was inspiring for more reasons than it was just Hillary Clinton. There were inspiring quotes on each page meant for the younger girls but ones I got something out of as well. 🙂

      Like

  3. A new website? How exciting! Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Gotta dream BIG!

    Like

  5. Margot Finke says:

    I am a Hillary fan, so it was great to see a biography of her aimed at kids. I pinned it to my Book Reviews (kids to YA) on Pinterest. It will keep company with many other of your fine reviews.

    By the way, Clara, I have a new fantasy adventure for tweens almost ready to publish. The wonderful cover is by the same illustrator that did Dreamtime Man + some special small illos to scatter through the chapters. Can you guess what an Oogledork , Dynoroar, or a Featherbutt Bird would look like? These are the illos I will scatter, along with that of Daisy and Bartholomew Q Bookwork, the 2 main characters, and Evil Big Crow, the main villain.

    I would love you to read it, PDF version, and then do a review that will go on the back cover. I can send you some illo samples + the cover. However, please note that these illos are at this moment being tweaked into final perfection–but they WILL give you a good idea of the final ones. They are even better than those for Dreamtime Man. . . is that possible?

    Looking forward to hearing back from you, mate. Have not been too active here for a while (still ‘pin’ your reviews though), due to working at finalizing and getting ready to publish three new books,plus lots of critique clients needing my help.

    Books for Kids- Skype Author Visits
    http://www.margotfinke.com

    Like

  6. Was on vacation and missed PPBF. This one is a keeper and one I will purchase. I like Hillary Clinton. Have read every book she’s written. Now a PB. Thank you.

    Like

Comments are closed.