You Reap What You Sow or How Writing Has Influenced Me Postively

Hi Readers!

“I am participating in the Writing Contest: How Writing Has Positively Influenced My Life. Hosted by Positive Writer.”

Me,Clara, writing at table

Me,Clara, writing at table

You REAP What you SOW

This may sound extreme. Writing was my footprints in the sand even when I was unable to leave footprints. I started venting on paper when I was a teen and haven’t stopped yet. Writing carried me through the time of my late husbands death and the aftermath of grief and loss. Writing carried me through the rough times in life.

There are three filing cabinets full of journals. Even when I had a three-month love affair I wrote all through it. Journaling has helped me more than I can say. I write to express gratitude and I write to soothe myself. I write to solve problems and to empower me in relationships. I reap what I sow. It gives me control in situations I find I have none.

Four years ago a dream like experience of hearing bird song could have fallen into nothingness but instead empowered me to write my first  children’s picture book, Annie’s Special Day. On my sick-bed I captured it in my journal.  You reap what you sow.

Now I am in the process of making that private writing public in a memoir.  A place where all my journaling will be turned into something palatable for readers.   Yes, I reap what I sow. Writing has definitely been a positive experience for me, giving me two picture books, three stories in anthologies and now a first rough draft on my memoir. I even journaled all through the first draft showing how I did it so now I can go back and do it again for the second memoir. You, too, can reap what you sow.

Starting a journal or diary is as easy as writing for five minutes a day  on any

HOPE !

HOPE !

subject you choose. It is best when starting a new habit to do it when you are rested. Some people say they are most creative in the morning and feel they can write better then. Or just start now in expressing how you would like to write a journal. Just jot down a few notes. Make it easy and fun for yourself. Do this for a week and then go back and read it. You will find clarity of thought. You will reap what you sow.


Enter this exciting contest from Bryan Hutchinson on how writing has positively influenced your life. http://positivewriter.com/writing-contest-how-writing-has-positively-influenced-my-life/  

My Books! in logo by Margot Finke.

My Books! in logo by Margot Finke.

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in blogging, Clara Bowman-Jahn, Clarike Bowman-Jahn, life story, memoir, personal growth, social networking, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to You Reap What You Sow or How Writing Has Influenced Me Postively

  1. Wow, you are a dedicated journal-er, Clar! I wish I had been better about keeping a journal. The only time I did it consistently was when my kids were little, and I’m so glad I did because there’s a lot I would have forgotten. I also find writing to be like therapy – when difficult things happen, writing about them helps me process and find peace. Looking forward to your memoir 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • clarbojahn says:

      Hi Susanna!

      Yes, I am dedicated to journaling. But unlike you my poorest years in writing down anything was when my boys were little and I have forg otten much. I claim it was because I was too busy working as I raised them. ANd we went camping every day off I had. comes from having an older husband who loved traveling and camping. So no journaling for those years for me. Only short snippets. rare snippets. One of my biggest regrets. 😦

      So glad you were able to get those important years down on paper, Susanna! They w ill hold treasure for those kids and grandkids to come. 🙂

      Like

  2. Dee Scully says:

    Wow! We must be kindred spirits! I’ve journaled since I was ten and now (in my late 40s) I still have all of my journals. It’s therapeutic for me and it sounds like it is for you too!

    I look forward to reading your children’s stories, Annie’s Special Day and Edmund’s Pickle Chin (loooove that title!).

    Thank you for sharing a part of yourself with the Positive Writer contest! Writing truly has been a positive influence on your life!

    Liked by 1 person

    • clarbojahn says:

      HI Dee!

      It does sound like we are kindred spirits! I am thrilled to have been so positively influenced by writing in my life. And it sounds like you know exactly what I speak of. Thanks so much for commenting to this post and for reading my books. I Hope you love them as much as I loved writing them. 🙂

      Like

  3. Clar, all the best with the contest. And yes, we sure do sow what we reap. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks, Tracy,

      Yes, it is true in writing as well as other things. Some say in mothering as well. I know I’m mighty proud of my sons.

      I think I know in which way you mean. Spiritually right?

      🙂

      Like

      • Yes, spiritually, but also in whatever we do in life. That also means being kind to others even when they hurt us. Glad you mighty proud of your sons. And I’m sure they’re proud of you too! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. jannatwrites says:

    I’ve never been one to keep a journal (I think I’m a little paranoid about someone finding them and reading my inner thoughts!) That being said, I have been writing fairly regularly for the last few months because I’ve been working through some things and the writing has helped. I can’t say this will be a new habit though… You’ve made so much progress in your writing over the years 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.