Chopin, Fryderyk / #PPBF

Hi Friends!

 

I’m sitting in the library Wednesday writing this perfect picture book Friday post with my neighbor friend who is working on a novel. We started meeting long ago to work on our projects; my memoir and her novel but today I am cheating. Since I was out-of-town visiting my grandson last Saturday when I usually schedule my blog posts I didn’t write one for today so… I’m catching up. I hope you like it.

 

Book Cover for CHopin_Title: Chopin, Fryderyk

Author/ Illustrator : Catherine Weill/ Charlotte Voake

CD narrated by : Michael Cantwell

Publishing info: ABRSM publishing 1999/ English translation 2001 by Moonlight Press Ltd / the Associated Board of Royal Schools of Music

Summary of back blurb: Did you know that Fryderyk Chopin was Polish and that by the age of five  he was already composing his own tunes? Did you know that he learnt Latin, Greek and French, then German, English and Italian at the same time he was learning to  play the piano? Can you tell stories through your  piano playing or singing? Have you ever danced a Polish mazurka? Read about Chopin and listen to his music – you, too, could be a great musician!

Resources : Ask your child to sing a story. Or try “taking a song you know really well and changing it by expressing through it something you feel strongly: Slow it down: Sing it louder and louder; put a stress on certain consonants…see if your friends can guess what feelings you are trying to express,”

Themes: Biography, nonfiction, musician, Chopin, Composer

Why I Love it : Though the cover was not as tantalizing as some of the other picture book biographies I had my eye on this week, this became my favorite, due to the descriptive spare language of the text and the little information bubbles that made it pertinent for our young readers today.

I knew Chopin was a famous piano player but that was about all I knew..I did not know he was a child prodigy, who was asked to play for the russian Tsar’s brother, the Grand Duke at age eight!

Each page has an illustration of what must have been like for Chopin and describes the text. then along the side are two photographs portraying it further. Also along the page number is the CD music that goes with the  page. This book is a feast for the eyes and for the ears!

So if you want to join other PPBF writers go look at Susanna Hill’s site for today and enjoy other reviews on her links. also you can click on Perfect Picture Books and find books categorized by theme or alphabetized. No matter which way you go it will be fun. For the complete list of books with resources, please visit Perfect Picture Books.

See you on Tuesday!  Have a Great Weekend Folks!

 

XOXO

 

You can buy Edmund here! on amazon!

And Annie here! on amazon!

 

 

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in blogging, Clara Bowman-Jahn, Clarike Bowman-Jahn, Course or Book Review, Perfect Picture Book Friday, social networking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Chopin, Fryderyk / #PPBF

  1. Darlene says:

    it is great for children to learn about people like Chopin. I am a great admirer of him.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Too bad about the cover, butI do like Voake’s work and your description of the text sounds delightful!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jennifer Marsh says:

    Chopin is one of my all-time favorite composers, and I’m glad to know about the book. I see there is a whole series of First Discovery: Music books for kids!

    Liked by 1 person

    • clarbojahn says:

      Hi Jennifer!

      He is growing on me. There is a lot to like. I guess with your piano lessons you would be a good one to run this book and CD by. 🙂

      Like

  4. I would enjoy this book. It is important for kids to learn about composers as children — all were prodigy’s.

    Have you heard of child prodigy Alma Deutscher, 9, who composes music and operas, plays the violin and piano etc. She was first seen at age 5. Here’s a more recent Youtube clip of her.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BE1wJs0P4j0. There are many Youtube videos of her at different stages. Thought this would go nicely with your book.

    Liked by 1 person

    • clarbojahn says:

      Hi Patricia! Yes! the You tube of Alma is fantastic! I had not heard of her and I am thrilled you included this in your comment. I will look for others when I have more time as it seems so good. I Only wish I could hear what she says better.

      Thanks so much! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I love that it has the CD tracks along with the text! Thanks. We’ll check it out.

    Liked by 1 person

    • clarbojahn says:

      Hi Joanne!

      The CD is very good and shows how varied his work is. And of course if there is a child learning to read he or she could go along with the words in the text as well as listen to the music. 🙂

      Like

  6. Joanna says:

    What a prodigy. I confess I have read far more artists’ biographies than composers and I should rectify that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • clarbojahn says:

      HI Joanna!

      I’m with you. I need to rectify that, too, and read some more composer’s biographies. This was so interesting. And beautiful to listen to. 🙂

      Like

  7. Joanne Sher says:

    Fascinating information – this sounds like a gem for shire. Thanks for sharing it!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.