Clarbojahn Presents! Kidlit Author Donna Martin

Hi Friends!

I have another kidlit author friend on board this morning. Meet début author Donna Martin! Her new book The Story Catcher was just released last month and is making a splash in the picture book department. I was fortunate that Donna gave me an interview.

 

Donna Martin's book_STORY CATCHER BOOK COVERQ: What’s the premise of your new book?

My début picture book, THE STORY CATCHER, is about a little girl who desperately wants to learn how to read.

 

Q: What would you like people to know about the story itself?

The universal theme of my book is based on the martial arts tenet of perseverance. A

person should never give up when they’re trying to reach a goal.

 

Q: What do your characters have to overcome in this story? What challenges do you set before them?

My main character is a little girl named Addie who struggles to learn how to read. Her

family tries to help encourage her to keep trying but every time she tries on her own,

things go horribly wrong. Addie even tries some creative ways to capture those wiggly

words herself with interesting results.

Q: What unique challenges did this book pose for you, if any?

This book is based on a real experience I had a couple of years ago while being a READ

TO ME volunteer. The young girl I worked with really struggled to understand the words

on the pages of her favorite book, even though her family read to her all the time. By

the end of the year she was finally reading on her own. I knew telling her story could

possibly help others understand they’re not alone with their learning disabilities but I

wanted to make sure I also captured the frustration that comes from not understanding the

written word.

Q: What has been the most rewarding aspect of having written this book?

My book was released by Anaiah Press on January 20th

telling me how they can relate to little Addie’s story. It makes me feel good to know THE

STORY CATCHER is touching people’s hearts in that way.

Q: Tell us your publishing journey

I’ve been writing for more than 40 years but only started writing professionally for

the past 5 years. After writing THE STORY CATCHER a couple years ago, I started

submitting it to different agents through Julie Hedlund’s 12 X 12 forum but received no

interest. Then in January of last year I participated in a Twitter pitch party and received a

request from my editor, Jessica Schmeidler, to read my manuscript. After that everything

went rather quickly and by the end of SIX DAYS, my story had been read, reviewed, a

book contract offered, contract sent to me, contract signed and returned to Anaiah Press.

A year later, here I am celebrating the release of my début picture book!

 

Q; Where can we find you on the web?

Here is one place Donna didn’t think to include but I found surreptitiously, I Loved reading about her here as well.

http://www.carriecharleybrown.com/carrie-on-together/january-mystery-author-donna-l-martin

And now for the usual places and links:

Facebook…www.facebook.com/donasdays

Twitter…www.twitter.com/donasdays

Pinterest…www.pinterest.com/donasdays

Goodreads…https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/7122982-donna-l-martin

Linkedin…https://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=136524010&trk=spm_pic

Amazon…https://authorcentral.amazon.com/gp/profile

Author Email: http://www.donasdays@gmail.com

Story Catcher Fan Club Email : http://www.storycatcherfanclub@gmail.com

 

Donna Martin, Author of Story Catcher

Donna Martin, Author of Story Catcher

Donna Martin’s Bio: 

Children’s book author, Donna L Martin, has been writing since she was eight years old.

She is a 4th Degree Black Belt in TaeKwonDo by day and a Ninja writer of children’s picture books, middle grade chapter books and young adult novels by night. Donna is a BOOK NOOK REVIEWS host providing the latest book reviews on all genres of children’s books. She is also a book reviewer for Harper Collins Christian Publishing as part of their Book Look Blogger division. Donna is a lover of chocolate, good stories, and adoptive mom to 20-pound guard kitty.

 

Book Blurb:

Addie comes from a long line of readers or “story catchers” as her family likes to call

themselves. Every time Addie tries to catch a story on her own the wiggly words play

tricks on her. She tries different ways to make those words sit still but it will take a little

faith for Addie to become the next STORY CATCHER.

 

Book Trailer

 

http://youtu.be/DvuB8FQXcmM

Thanks so very much, Donna for giving me an intricate look into your process of your publishing journey and your book, Story Catcher.   I love your book trailer and I can’t wait to read your book. Congratulations!

 

See you all here on Friday for another Perfect Picture Book Friday.

XOXO

 

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in Clara Bowman-Jahn, Clarike Bowman-Jahn, interview, social networking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Clarbojahn Presents! Kidlit Author Donna Martin

  1. Darlene says:

    Congratulations Donna on having this lovely book published!! I wish you all the best with it. Keep writing. A great interview Clara!!

    Like

  2. Thanks Clara for taking the time out of your busy schedule to interview me!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I like the idea of catching stories! I read with a lot of struggling readers, too. This book might fit in nicely in my book bag! Thanks for sharing Ms Martin’s story!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Casey says:

    I’ll have to check this out–our son knew only about a third of the alphabet when he came to live with us (at five years old), so learning to read has been a great struggle. Now 8, he’s finally reading at grade level. We’re so proud of him–but you’re right, the words are wiggly!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.