#PPBF/ Cinderella

Hi Friends!

 

Many of you know that I got over thirteen fairy tales from my librarian when I went looking to get some for my reading at The Snowflake Ball in the Lovettsville Community Center near Leesburg where I live. Last week I gave a thumbs up to Princes and Princesses. When it became clear to me that I was not going to have time to even tell each of the four fairy tales I had chosen, I picked this one. It had some of the most beautiful illustrations I have ever seen. Snow White illustrated by Charles Santore  came up second but because some of the little princesses had started listening to me read Cinderella I Just kept on going with this.

 

Cinderella Book Cover_Title: Cinderella

Author/ Illustrator: Susan Jeffers

Publishing info: Cinderella by Charles Perrault as retold by Amy Ehrlich, Dutton Children’s Books, New York, 2004,’

Themes : Fairy Tales, Folklore, France, classic

Summary as found inside Jacket: The magical transformation of  Cinderella from sooty serving girl to bejeweled princess never fails to enchant readers of all ages. Cinderella is someone we can admire for being true to herself, brave, and kind, and in this timeless tale shows us how to become the best person we can be.

Susan Jeffers, renowned for her fairy tale illustrations of exquisite beauty, brings the classic story to life in this elegant edition. From the first touch of the fairy godmother’s wand through the dazzling splendor of Cinderella’s arrival at the royal ball, each bewitching moment is captured in   paintings rich with detail. This definitive version of a deeply satisfying story is fa must for every storybook collection.”

Resources:  For a teacher guide on fairy tales for all ages look ,

Guide students through a fairy-tale genre study. By immersing themselves in the genre, students will determine why people tell such magical tales!

And for your little princess at home, do dress up, paint nails, Glue a tiara   and for a flower wreath look here: and make a wand.

Why I love it: The jacket summary says it all. The illustrations take one right into the story and are so beautiful they capture the heart. Since I was in princess land myself I had no problem believing this was true. And I Loved feasting my eyes on the art again and again while telling the story to the twenty or so little princesses that came to listen to me read at the Lovettsville Snowflake Ball.

And for those of you who come looking for writer sites? I have one on self-esteem. A perfect one for those like me who are afraid of writing because it isn’t going to be perfect. I learned this from Read aloud Dad. One way to build self-esteem after a fall from grace! Ish in picture books:

 

Joanna Marple says about Susanna Hill’s project:

 

Each week a group of bloggers reviews picture books we feel would make great educational reads. To help teachers, caregivers and parents, we have included resources and activities with each of our reviews. A complete list of the thousands of books we have reviewed can be found sorted alphabetically and by topics, hereon Susanna Leonard Hill’s website.

Enjoy your weekend everyone!

 

XOXO

And my books!

The book for the Thunderclap!

Available on Amazon and kindle!

 

 

MY BOOK!! *Yay!*

MY BOOK!! *Yay!*

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in blogging, Clara Bowman-Jahn, Clarike Bowman-Jahn, Course or Book Review, Perfect Picture Book Friday, social networking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to #PPBF/ Cinderella

  1. Thanks for the recommendation – I just bought if from Amazon to read to my 6-year-old granddaughter. I have a book called “Cinderella’s Dress” that is also gorgeously illustrated that she thinks should be award-winning, so I think she’ll like this one. Last Christmas I bought The Nutcracker by the same illustrator – a perfectly illustrated explanation of the ballet.

    Liked by 1 person

    • clarbojahn says:

      HI Roughwighting! I know she’ll like it. This illustrator is just one where the illustrations are so compelling one wants to stay on the page and soak it up. And her story is good , too. And you must know this from getting her other books. 🙂

      Enjoy! 🙂

      Like

  2. Darlene says:

    You will soon be an expert on princesses!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sounds like a wonderful retelling of Cinderella. And, just in time for the new release of the new Cinderella movie with Downton Abby’s Lilly James (Rose). My favorite version to date in a movie, is Drew Barrymore’s “Ever After.”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It sounds like a great time for all. Thanks for the lovely choice.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. analee says:

    My girls love all the fairy tale stories and have all the costumes so I’m sure they would love this book.

    Like

  6. Rachel says:

    My girls love all the fairy tale stories and have all the costumes so I’m sure they’d love this book.

    Like

  7. I love Susan Jeffers illustrations. She has a way of pulling you into the stories.

    Like

Comments are closed.