#PPBF / One Morning in Maine

Hi Friends!

 

Man! Do I ever feel for Boston and the mountains of snow they are dealing with over there. Are any of you from New England? I know Susanna is from New York the upper part and has seen unusual bits of snow. Ourselves have escaped the mountains and have only had Arctic air. Now the thermometer says it is twenty so not so cold. The worst is to come tomorrow and again on Monday into Tuesday. I say this as most of you know I schedule these PPBF a week away on Saturday morning. tell me of your week in weather ok? I love weather of all kinds and think I might be one of those creatures who write the temperature and sunrise in a journal in a different era.

 

One Morning in Maine book cover_160_Title: One Morning In Maine

Author / Illustrator:  Robert McCloskey

Publishing info: The Penguin Group, first copyright 1952

Ages appropriate for: All ages

Themes: Common childhood experiences, losing first tooth, coping, Differences

 

First sentences:  One Morning in Maine, Sal Woke up. She peeked  over the top of the covers. The bright sunlight made her blink, so she pulled up and was just about to go back to sleep when she remembered “today is the day I am going to Buck’s Harbor with my father!”

 

Sal pushed back the covers, hopped out of bed, put on her slippers, and hurried out into the hall.”

 

Summary from Jacket : “As Sal brushes her teeth she notices something strange. One of her teeth is loose! Her first loose tooth! When the tooth falls out she’ll be able to put it under her pillow and make a wish. But while Sal digs for clams with Dad, her loose tooth becomes a lost tooth. How can she make a wish now? Luckily an exciting trip to Buck’s Harbor with Dad and baby Jane helps make Sal’s wish come true.

In this  heartwarming story, Robert McCloskey beautifully conveys life’s everyday pleasures and his intimate knowledge and deep appreciation of the Maine Islands.”

 

Resources:  For a Study guide from Amazon click here: 

For a list of Robert McCloskey’s works and films click here

A wonderful bio of Robert McCloskey is here

And a wonderful pdf about his most famous book “Make Way for Ducklings.” 

 

Why I love it: One of the picture books Granny Pat gave my eldest son, Eric, when he was three and therefore my only child was, Blueberries for Sal, When I saw this one by Robert McCloskey standing at attention on the libraries’ shelf, I knew I  had to get it, And then when I Looked at Susanna’s PPB site and didn’t see it listed, I was not only flabbergasted, I was delighted.

It meant I got to introduce this book to ya’ll. It’s theme of one of childhood’s common experiences was thrilling. Who among us has not lost a tooth as a six-year-old? And the way McCloskey bumps up the conflict of losing the tooth so the wish so the tooth fairy can’t happen is amazing.

The copyright is 1952 and renewed in 1980. This topic sprang up a topic of recurring discussion between my husband and I as to when children’s books became popular and if we had them when we were young. Due to reasons of culture and immigration, when I was a child we did not get picture books read to us when I was young enough to appreciate them but I am making up for it now. while still in Holland up to age seven my parents sat us down around the dining table after dinner and read the King James Bible to us. Then after coming to the States we sat around the dining table with an American dictionary learning English.

Now with my ESOL student we read picture books.

 

Please tell me in the comments when you started reading picture books?

And from my friend Donna Martin blog:

WORD COUNT

 

Micro-Fiction (up to 100 words)

Flash Fiction (100 – 1,000 words)

Short Story (1,000 – 7,500 words)

Novellette (7,500 – 20,000 words)

Novella (20,000 – 50,000 words)

Novel (50,000 -110,000 words)

Epics and Sequels (Over 110,000 words)

 

CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT

 

The Athletic Nerd…http://theathleticnerd.com/screenwriting/getting-to-know-your-characters

Creative Writing Now… http://www.creative-writing-now.com/writing-character-profiles.html

 

GRAMMAR

 

University of Chicago…http://writing-program.uchicago.edu/resources/grammar.html

Oxford Dictionaries…http://writing-program.uchicago.edu/resources/grammar.html

 

PLOT

 

Alicia Rasley…http://www.aliciarasley.com/10prob.html

Writing World…http://www.writing-world.com/fiction/beckham.shtml

 

SETTING OR SCENE

 

The Write Life…http://thewritelife.com/write-better-stories-by-asking-these-questions/

Fiction University…http://blog.janicehardy.com/2013/07/10-questions-to-ask-when-choosing.html

 

**********

 

 

Joanna Marple says about Susanna Hill’s project:

 

Each week a group of bloggers reviews picture books we feel would make great educational reads. To help teachers, caregivers and parents, we have included resources and activities with each of our reviews. A complete list of the thousands of books we have reviewed can be found sorted alphabetically and by topics, here on Susanna Leonard Hill’s website.

And for my favorite this link about Edmund Pickle Chin? Here it is on Reading with Rhythm: 

and for my Clarbojahn  Presents! Author Annette Dasofy! For Tuesday!

This is her signature,

USA Today Best Selling Author of the Zoe Chambers Mysteries

Circle of Influence (Agatha Award Nominee for Best First Novel)

Lost Legacy (Zoe Chambers mystery #2)

Bridges Burned (Zoe Chambers #3, coming April 7, 2015)

www.annettedashofy.com

I’ll see you back here on Tuesday for Part two on Annette Dasofy’s Interview. And the give away opportunity.   XOXO

I can’t let you go without looking at this wonderful logo Margot Finke made me.

You can buy my books on Amazon , For Edmund, click here:

For Annie, Click here:

My Picture Books in logo by Margot Finke

My Picture Books in logo by Margot Finke

 

 

 

 

 

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in blogging, Clara Bowman-Jahn, Clarike Bowman-Jahn, Course or Book Review, Perfect Picture Book Friday, social networking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to #PPBF / One Morning in Maine

  1. What a sweet book. I love some of the older books — and this one certainly carries memories for you. I remember the Golden Books, Uncle Wiggly and the Velveteen Rabbit, but my memories are mostly of story books with fairy tales “Easto the Sun, Westo the Moon,” and poetry books my mother read to me until I could read. And I remember the “Dick and Jane” books in first grade.

    Just finished a marvelous memoir last night “The Thirteenth Gift,” by Joanne Huist Smith, 2014. It’s about overcoming grief during the holidays and what some “true friends” did to ease the pain for a family. It is so heartfelt, downright funny, and a blessings to read. I literally laughed out loud as I read it, startling my dog. It was a page turner. It is the best memoir I’ve ever read. Just thought you might like to check it out because it is a quick read and well worth the read.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks for your good list on what was read to you when you were a wee one. You must feel blessed. Another time you must tell me why you became a children’s picture book author? Because that would be interesting as well. 🙂

      I’ll be sure and get that book, Patricia! I just checked our library and they don’t carry it so it off to Amazon I go. I Just finished ‘Running With SCissors ” Which is astoundingly good as well. I highly recommend it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, that Sal! I haven’t seen this one and it does sound like a sweet tale! And i enjoyed hearing about your reading history. It’s nice to learn how folks get to where they are in the world. My Mom Person remembers picture books from her very early self. Her mom sitting on the bed at bedtime reading Chicken Little and Mother Goose and all kinds of fairy tales. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • clarbojahn says:

      You will enjoy this one as well , Rhythm! You must try and get it.

      Some people remember way back to their early years. I only have some memories because I was traumatized by moving to USA. But I did enjoy reading fairy tales to myself in third grade once I learned how to read in American. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This is one of my all time favorites! It’s a classic! And I’m not biased, even though we go to Maine to visit my husband’s family every summer. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Darlene says:

    Sounds like a lovely book that will appeal to all generations of kids. Love that! Please stay warm. Here in Spain it has been sunny but windy and a tad cool (for here). You can see the sunny skies on my blog https://darlenefoster.wordpress.com/2015/02/13/orihuela-historic-sites/ but we did need a jacket. I don´t miss the snow.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I LOVE this book with all my heart!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Joanna says:

    Another one about Sal, how special, especially as it is set in Maine.

    I went cross country skiing last weekend in the Adirondacks and the temperatures were down to -14F or so!!

    Like

  7. Blueberries for Sal – one of my favres as a kid (born in Maine) & one of my faves now, as a “way older kid”.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Oh, golly! An oldie but a goodie, Clar! Right now the idea of a summer morning in Maine is VERY appealing! The temp at our house the morning you posted this was -14! Thanks for adding this gem to our list 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • clarbojahn says:

      Bbrrr, Susanna! We have had arctic weather but it hasn’t hit minus fourteen yet. And we’ve had record breakers as well as you. 🙂

      I Like the illustrations in this book, too. Made me wish I would visit Maine. I Love the big trees right up to the beach. and I wasn’t aware of how many islands there were in the state. So I learned a lot, just what the author intended. 🙂

      Like

  9. I’m not familiar with this one, but will check. I joked we had “Boston-like” weather this weekend. A little frigid. We’ve been very blessed so far by a light winter, but suspect snow will come as it usually does in March. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • clarbojahn says:

      I saw you had some traffic problems in your state over the weekend, Stacy. Didn’t you get some of the snow that was dropped here? And yes, you’e right. We always get snow in March as well. But the sun is warmer and days longer and it doesn’t stay around long usually.

      Yes, Check this book out! You’ll love it. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.