#PPBF/ A Picture Book of Anne Frank

Hi Friends!

Tomorrow we are  on warning for a wintery mix but it may turn out to be the biggest snow this area has seen this winter. We are gathering wood for our wood stove and are preparing to hunker down. Meanwhile I am going to sit- butt in chair for scheduling my blog post so I can concentrate on writing  tomorrow. As you know I am in revision of my memoir in preparation for reading it through by my teacher Brooke Warner. First I have to decrease the amount of documents into coherent chapters so she can read it. And that is what I spend my time doing. But now for the fun! Perfect Picture Book  Friday is here.

Book cover for Picture book of Anne Frank_Title:  A Picture Book of Anne Frank

Author/Illustrator:  David A. Adler/ Karen Ritz

Publishing info: Holiday House, 1993, biography

Themes: Biography, Anne Frank, WWII, Jews, Holocaust, Amsterdam

Ages appropriate for: All ages

Summary from Jacket: Traces the life of the young Jewish girl whose diary chronicles the years she and her family  hid from the Nazis in an Amsterdam attic.

First Three Sentences : Anne Frank was born on June 12, 1929 in Frankfurt am Main, Germany. Her parents were Otto and Edith Frank. Anne  had an older sister, Margot.

Resources: Lots of general info on the Holocaust and Anne Frank for grades three to eight, but precious little for younger children as in picture book age of seven to eleven. A visit to the Holocaust museum would be too wearisome and not understood at this age. And do we really want to go into the holocaust and the Nazis at this age. I think this picture book with the way it touches on these subjects is information enough. I am not sure how I would explain in terms a little kid would understand about Anne Frank and millions of Jews like her.

Here is one guide for teachers which covers all ages. 

And one with discussion questions for young readers but not of this particular book but a graphic novel. 

This one has questions one could use for ages seven to eleven like looking a map of Europe and the Netherlands,      pointing out Amsterdam. Looking at a neighborhood like where Anne Frank lived and discussing it.

“After about a year of living in hiding, Anne writes, “We long for Saturdays because that means books . . . Our only diversions are reading, studying and listening to the wireless.” (p. 110) How would you pass the time in such a situation? Imagine you have thirty minutes to pack a bag with your most cherished possessions. Draw pictures of the items.”

Book Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJSpxVLiGKY

Not of this book but the real thing! Her Diary.  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jubDcuaYyAc

Why I Love this book : Well, I’m from Holland and this is part of my identity. It is core to my heart. My father was in a German Prisoner of WAr camp, and once in a labor camp. He told us stories about it during dinner but we are not Jews. We were not hunted down like criminals.

This picture book is more than just a biography of Anne Frank. It is about the Holocaust and what Hitler did to the Jewish population from 1933 to 1945. It is embodied in the  voice of Anne Frank. I saw a play about her once that my  parents took me to see and it was more about her life in “the Annex” than this book is.

This book never the less made me choke up when I read (and I knew before) that Anne Frank’s father, Otto, survived and came back to Amsterdam where they lived in their secret apartment. Someone gave him the diary, He was the only survivor.

And here are some links for my writer friends:

For any friend who has too much to do and want to spend time on priorities. Outsource! http://alexisgrant.com/2015/01/21/outsource-chores/

 

How do you keep readers reading in your books? Here is  how one author did it for his thrillers,  I’ve seen this and it is very effective. http://killzoneauthors.blogspot.com/2015/01/just-one-more-chapter.html

 

And for more picture book fun, as my friend Stacy Jensen says:

To find more PPBF books, visit Susanna Leonard Hill’s blog

As my friend Penny Klostermann says:

Oh! And while you’re checking things out, head on over to Susanna Leonard Hill’s place and check out all the fantastic Perfect Picture Book Selections! Each book is reviewed by a picture book -lovin’ reviewer, AND includes activities to go along with the book. You will find a handy list right HERE.

Come back on Tuesday and read about Crime Mystery Author Annette Dasofy’s author journey in Part two of my interview with her.

XOXO

////

I can’t let you go without looking at this wonderful logo Margot Finke made me.

You can buy my books on Amazon , For Edmund, click here:

For Annie, Click here:

My Picture Books in logo by Margot Finke

My Picture Books in logo by Margot Finke

 

 

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in blogging, Clara Bowman-Jahn, Clarike Bowman-Jahn, Course or Book Review, Perfect Picture Book Friday, social networking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to #PPBF/ A Picture Book of Anne Frank

  1. I’ve seen the movie. That story of Anne Frank always chokes me up too. What they must have been though is tough and yes it would be hard to explain to very small kids. I liked your choice though. The illustrations look lovely. Thanks for sharing Clar.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks, Diane!

      I think the author did a good job in explaining it to picture book age kids and think even adults reading this will find it benificial. 🙂

      Like

  2. Heather Dent says:

    I have always been intrigued by Anne Frank’s story and I really like that discussion question you posted along with this.

    How wonderful that you are writing a memoir! Good luck with the revision process! I didn’t know you were from Holland! it’s wonderful that your father was able to share his stories. We were never able to get my Grandpa to talk about his experiences in the war. Some things are just too difficult to share.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Hi Heather!

      My father had PTSD from his experiences although we did not know that term then. We as children did not understand his pain and did not like hearing his stories. NOW however I wished I could hear them again with my adult perspective.

      Thanks so much for your wonderful comment and good words. 🙂

      Like

  3. Great way to weather a storm. This is my kind of story . I am so happy to see a Pb for children. Nice way to introduce kids to the Holocaust. Great choice.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks, Patricia! The Holocaust is a difficult issue to deal with when you are young and even as an adult. I think adults will benifit from reading this. 🙂

      Like

  4. Wendy says:

    We took our children to the Anne Frank House when they were in elementary school, and they didn’t “get it.” Maybe if they had read this book first. . .

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks for visiting me, Wendy, and for your comment. I think you are right about kids not getting it when they are little and I agree that if they had read this book first they might have understood better. They need a place to identify with her first. A place where they as a child might feel the idea of being a prisoner in an attic for two years might get tiresome and feel the danger of the Nazis. It is a hard concept to get when you are young.

      Like

  5. This looks very interesting, Clar. Anne Frank is a tough topic for a picture book, and it’s nice to see someone tackled it. I think you’re right, though, that it would be more appropriate for a slightly older readership because little kids really wouldn’t “get it” and as you say, we wouldn’t really want them to – not yet.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Hi Susanna!

      Yes, the topic is a little too horrific for me to imagine young kids really getting it and like you say we wouldn’t want them to. This is one of the reasons I said this book was appropriate for all ages so adults who were not familiar with Anne Frank would welcome this book into their library. 🙂

      Like

  6. It is an interesting choice for a picture book. But sometimes picture books are the best way to tackle tough subjects. Even for older kids and adults!!! Thanks for sharing!!

    Like

  7. Joanna says:

    Clar, what do you feel is the youngest age appropriate for this picture book? In the international school where I worked we did a topic on Anne Frank in grades 4 and 5 and then took them to Amsterdam and certainly they were old enough to appreciate much of this terrible history. Great choice.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Hi Joanna!

      I think the ages of the kids you took to Amsterdam of being between grades four and five were a perfect choice for that. I guess I usually think of picture books being for kids age three and up. Once kids know how to rread on their own, they choose chapter books. Or any way that might be a bias I have. 🙂

      Like

  8. I kind of echo what others have been saying about this being a tough subject for the youngest crowd. It’s good, though, to see someone give it a go. Nice choice to feature on PPBF!

    Your personal background does heighten your interest in this topic, and I’m wondering if the book would have drawn you in, otherwise. The opening sentences don’t do much to hook the reader. Does the story continue in this straightforward factual vein, or is there any dramatization that would draw a child in?

    Like

  9. This topic always chokes me up. Thanks for adding this to the list. I hope you managed to stay warm during your most recent snow. Best of luck with the memoir revisions and fine-tuning your files. 🙂

    Like

  10. Margot finke says:

    I think you would need to choose tha age you read this book to with care. All kids might not react in the same way. As usual I pinned your review to my REVIEW (kids to YA) board on Pinterest.
    The weather here in Oregon has been pretty mild with lots of the usual rain. Last winter we had the coldest in decades-below zero in many places. I guess this year Mother Nature is giving us a pass.

    Books for Kids – Manuscript Critiques
    http://www.margotfinke.com

    Like

  11. Darlene says:

    Nice to see a picture book about Ann Frank. A powerful story for all ages. Good luck on the revisions and stay warm!!

    Like

  12. JMD says:

    Interesting topic for young children…not sure I would use this for under 9-10 year olds…difficult subject yet a relevant and tragic part of our history. thought provoking

    Like

  13. I’m thinking we must have read this when we were homeschooling – picture books make information more accessible to mid-grade kids. Especially this one, as the Diary of Anne Frank is pretty long and intimidating for younger kids. The story isn’t happy, but it is history, and my kids loved to explore history.

    Like

Comments are closed.