#PPBF/ Monsieur Marceau

Hi Friends!

I’m working on Perfect Picture Book Friday early this week on a perfect snowy writing day. It’s easy to sit here writing this while big fluffy flakes are making a winter wonderland outside while I’m snug in here by the warmth of the wood stove. I was super surprised when I searched Susanna’s web site just now that this one hadn’t been done before. Pleasantly surprised because now I got to do it. 🙂

Monsier Marceau_Title: Monsieur Marceau

Author/ Illustrator: Leda Schubert/ Gerard Dubois

publisher info: Roaring Brook Press/ 2012/ historical biography of famous person

Summary from Jacket : “He is the superstar of silence, the maestro of mime —

acting without words…His body talks for him. ” “Marcel Marceau, the world’s most famous mime,enthralled audiences around the world for more than fifty years. When he waved his hand or lifted his eyebrow he was able to speak volumes without ever saying a word. But few know the man behind those gestures…”

Ages appropriate for: I think biographies are for everyone especially since this has such interesting backmatter in it.

Themes: Biography, mimes, historical , famous person

Resources: For a discussion and activity guide click here

And for a mentor guide for teaching click here:

You Tube book Trailer : h

First Three Sentences: ” Look at this man. He climbs imaginary stairs. He bows to an invisible person.”

Why  I LOVE it: I Love historical picture books and biographies are right up on top for me. Who wouldn’t fall in love with this book cover? Leda Schubert with her engaging language and Gerard Dubois with his exemplary art really made this a fascinating book for me. Ass the summary says I did not know the man behind the gestures and this book gave me the details. Did you know he was in the French resistance during WWII saving hundreds of children by pretending they were boy scouts as they traveled over the Alps into Switzerland? I didn’t either. Just one detail. And there are more. A terrific book. I loved it.

And links for my writer friends:

I love Authors Publish Magazine and they have put out a free ebook on how to get published in  a literary journal here:   If you have no ambition to submit to lit journals then maybe you will just enjoy the magazine which you can get by downloading this ebook and giving up your email.

 Publishers Weekly 

And for more picture book fun, as my friend Stacy Jensen says:

To find more PPBF books, visit Susanna Leonard Hill’s blog

See you next Tuesday!! One of my Penn Writer  colleagues is being featured on my blog with an interview… You’ll get in depth information about her books and her publishing journey for getting a four book deal.

XOXO

 

As my friend Penny Klostermann says:

Oh! And while you’re checking things out, head on over to Susanna Leonard Hill’s place and check out all the fantastic Perfect Picture Book Selections! Each book is reviewed by a picture book -lovin’ reviewer, AND includes activities to go along with the book. You will find a handy list right HERE.

I can’t let you go without looking at this wonderful logo Margot Finke made me.

You can purchase my books on Amazon , For Edmund, click here:

For Annie, Click here:

My Picture Books in logo by Margot Finke

My Picture Books in logo by Margot Finke

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in blogging, Clara Bowman-Jahn, Clarike Bowman-Jahn, Course or Book Review, Perfect Picture Book Friday, social networking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to #PPBF/ Monsieur Marceau

  1. Oh, I love this book already. I loved to watch Marcel. Got to get this book. Great review and activities.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love bio books – and I bet this will be no exception!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t think many kids these days are familiar with this clever gentleman, but what a grand way to introduce him!!! I love it!!! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lily Lau says:

    Thank you for sharing this with us, Clarike! It’s always delicious to read this kind of books 🙂

    Like

  5. This sounds very interesting. Love bio stories. Thanks for posting this one.

    Like

  6. Looks like a very interesting book, and how nice that it’s in a format that children can enjoy and understand as well. I’m catching up with your blog and especially enjoying these Picture Book Friday posts. So much good information and discussion topics, and I’m even finding things out about you that I never knew, like that you are from Holland. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • clarbojahn says:

      Hi Sandra!! So glad to make your acquaintance 🙂 > Funny isn’t it? Loved your post on my Clarbojahn Presents! Glad you’re looking around. Welcome! 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.