Chicken Soup for Little Souls/The New Kid and the Cookie Thief/#PPBF

Chicken Soup for Little Souls/The New Kid and the Cookie Thief/#PPBF

Hi Friends!

Here is the third Friday in January all ready. The days are getting longer and we have gotten through some bitter cold and winter weather. We’ve gotten through flu and sickness and winter is half over. I have a book written for the first day of school but it could happen now. It could happen to a new person moving in no matter what the age. Just be friendly first.

Chicken Soup for little souls-the new kid and cookie thiefTitle: Chicken Soup for Little Souls/ the New Kid and the Cookie Thief

Author/ illustrator: Jack Canfield and Mark Victor Hansen/ adapted from a story by Lisa McCourt/ Mary O’Keefe Young

Publishing info: 1998/ Health Communications, Inc/ appropriate for ages preschool to seven

First Three Sentences: The new kid, I thought, hating the sound of it. That’s what I’ll be today. Everyone will notice me. Everyone will know I don’t belong.

Resources: For a meet the author go to : http://www.koorong.com/search/product/new-kid-the-cookie-thief-l-mccourt/1558745882.jhtml

One discussion kids and students could have is to talk about being new in a neighborhood or class and tragedies to overcome feelings of isolation and being new.

Themes: first day of school, all childhood experiences, school

Summary: “Nervous and shy about being the new kid on the first day of school, Julie has a rough start trying to make friends, but things get better as the day goes on.”

Why I love it: We have all had the experience of being new. New in a neighborhood. New in a volunteering opportunity or new in a writer’s group. This heartwarming story tells it like it is. The thing big sister tells Julie is sharing your cookies and be friendly first something we can all remember.

For my writer friends,

Writer’s Digest writing machine: http://masterwriter.com/creative_writer/mwtourfinal.html all ready for down load. I got a new windows eight computer for Christmas and my husband will download this from the CD. I have really been missing it since I have had the Chromebook and working on my memoir on the one computer without internet connection. I can’t wait to start using it again. It’s got its own thesaurus and its own dictionary and own title manufacturing and new files so it is almost like having a scrivener on file.

Here’s another from our talented Donna. Her rule of three for picture books. Engage the emotions, get critiqued and submit. That’s it in a nutshell. http://donasdays.blogspot.com/2013/05/the-rules-of-three.html?spref=fb

And finally one from our own:

What is platform? It’s not who you know but who knows you. http://www.huffingtonpost.com/penny-c-sansevieri/why-having-a-platform-may_b_3639378.html

As my friend Stacy Jensen says:

http://www.stacysjensen.com/

To find more PPBF books, visit Susanna Leonard Hill’s blog

See you next Tuesday!! We are going to meet one of the authors from my writer group who also writes children’s stories. I’ll tell you what and why and how next Tuesday.

XOXO

/////

I can’t let you go without looking at this wonderful logo Margot Finke made me.

You can purchase my books on Amazon , For Edmund, click here:

http://www.amazon.com/Edmund-Pickle-Chin-Donkey-Rescue-ebook/dp/1937809854/ref=sr_1_1_twi_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1421505523&sr=1-1&keywords=edmund+pickle+chin+a+donkey+rescue+story

For Annie, Click here:

http://www.amazon.com/Annies-Special-Day-Clara-Bowman-Jahn/dp/1937809218/ref=sr_1_1_twi_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1421505973&sr=1-1&keywords=Annie%27s+Special+Day

My Picture Books in logo by Margot Finke

My Picture Books in logo

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in blogging, Clara Bowman-Jahn, Clarike Bowman-Jahn, Course or Book Review, marketing, Perfect Picture Book Friday, social networking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Chicken Soup for Little Souls/The New Kid and the Cookie Thief/#PPBF

  1. Hi! Enjoyed this post. The link to the etreasurepublishing did not work for me. Do you have a recommendation of a book for a 6-year-old girl that includes beautiful illustrations but also plenty of words that’s well-written and interesting?

    Like

  2. I think we all have memories of being the “new person” in a group, neighborhood, etc. This is a great theme for kids, especially for those who move around a lot because they may have a parent in the military etc. I know I still slip in and hope I’m not noticed when I go somewhere new.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have lots of experience helping out “new” kids at school! Rhythm to the rescue to help ease the transitions! This sounds like an excellent book! Thanks Ms BJ!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Beverly says:

    Great post. The Chicken Soup books always have the best stories. So nice to meet you. Thanks for following my blog. Have a great weekend.

    Like

Comments are closed.