Perfect Picture Book Friday/ Just Kidding

Hi Friends!

Cartoon of "One Big Happy! "

We are ready when we are ready! 🙂

Tomorrow we celebrate our Thanksgiving with all my family. My sister from Texas who is always so supportive of my writing will be there with her husband. My son and his wife will be there. Plus all my nieces and their children will be there. We expect somewhere between twenty and thirty people to eat. My contribution will be fruit salad with tiny marshmallows, always a favorite. I will bring it in a huge bowl I reserve for four doubles of cookie recipes and kneading bread. Like I said it is huge.

 

1950/ That's me with the half Nelson on my big brother with my other brother sitting by.

1950/ That’s me with the half Nelson on my big brother with my other brother sitting by.

It is a wonder I got this PPBF done with my sister in town because I have just had three phone conversations with her in the last half hour while typing this up and I will go see her after lunch. This after seeing her all day yesterday. Make no mistake. I LOVE this sister and there is no substitute for her. She is Special. I can hardly wait till I see her again in an hour. She is one of those people who make you seem so much more than you really are. So much more loveable, sos much more authentic, and all the bad qualities one has seems to disappear in her presence.

 

Her name is Johanna Ash and she has gifted me with a guest post on Annie’s Special Day which you will find  here. And once when I was talking food? She gifted me with a recipe on Green Chilli Peppers. So you can see she is very special to me.

 

Do you want a PPBF for today? Or do you want chocolate? I have a bowl of Hershey goodness sitting on the table near by. Want some? Take it and then read my post about anti bullying.

 

Just KIdding Book cover_ Title: Just Kidding

 

Author: Trudy Ludwig

 

Illustrator: Adam Gustavson

 

Tricycle Press, Fiction, 2006

 

For ages four to eleven

 

Resources: Organization: The Empower Program , www.empowered.org

Full esteem Ahead, www.fullesteemahead.org

Hands & Words Are Not for Hurting Project, www.handsproject.org

Operation Respect, www.operationrespect.org

The Ophelia Project, www.opheliaproject.org

 

Websites:

www.bullying.org

www.cyberbully.org

www.no-bully.com

www.stopbullyingme.ab.ca/

 

And there were more at the end of the book plus recommended readings for both adults and children.

 

First Three Sentences: “There are times I hate being a kid. Here I am, waiting to see which team will choose me for some pickup basketball. And the decision rests on a stupid game of Rock Paper Scissors.”

 

Summary: With help from his father, older brother, and teacher, DJ. learns how to handle a classmate who claims that his mean-spirited ‘teasing” is just a joke.

 

Why I love it: This book was written before Ludwig’s famous “Confessions of a Secret Bully” but is along the same vein. This book, Just Kidding, looks at these two words and show how they can hurt. Then she talks about Bullying in a forward by Stan Davis, bullying prevention consultant and founder of www.stopbullyingnow.com .

 

This book is different than Confessions of a Secret Bully in that it is not as thorough and that it occurred between two friends as you can see from the summary. I like this book because of that and because it is simpler. It breaks down bullying into two words, Just Kidding. In the simple beginning of Rock Paper Scissors it shows how  hurtful waiting to be chosen for a team can be.

I have reviewed two other books by Trudy Ludwig for PPBF. Sorry and Confessions of a Secret Bully  which were excellent sources of anti bullying in themselves as well.

 

Thanks so much for reading this. If you would like to read more books like this one go to Susanna Leonard Hill’s Perfect Picture Books and where you will find a treasure trove of good stories for students , parents and teachers and librarians. All categorized in alphabet order and in order of theme. Go there and see for yourself why you should and will want to tell others about it. Perfect Picture Book Friday. It’s awesome! Try it! 🙂

So there you go! Have a great weekend!

XOXO

 

 

 

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in blogging, Cartoon, Clara Bowman-Jahn, Clarike Bowman-Jahn, Course or Book Review, Perfect Picture Book Friday, recipes, social networking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Perfect Picture Book Friday/ Just Kidding

  1. “just kidding” sounds like a good book to share.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks, Sue. I agree, it is a good message to get to kids because they may not even be aware how they end up hurting one another with both how teams get made and with the two words of “Just KIdding.” 🙂

      Like

  2. Joanna says:

    Great title and excellent idea to unpack quite how hurtful those words can be!

    Like

  3. You are so blessed to have a dear sister who supports your writing. Something to be thankful for this coming week. Encouraging words are another way we can suppress the “bully” in ourselves and others!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks so much, Jarm.

      With Thanksgiving coming round I am more graterul than ever for my sister. I am not letting her leave until she knows this from me.

      And you are right about encouraging words. They often do suppress the bully in us.

      Thanks 🙂

      Like

  4. I really enjoyed “Just Kidding” because it emphasizes a different kind of bullying — someone having to be one-up on you or making a sarcastic remark or putdown that is hurtful.

    Like

  5. What a great way to address this so hurtful topic! I’ll have to check this one out for sure! Thanks Ms Tilton! I hope you have some really fun time with your sister and family!!!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks, Rhythm,

      I am having a ball with my sister. You never saw two grown women talk as much as we do.

      And I agree about Trudy Ludwig’s book, She did an amazing job unwrapping that topic. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Wow, looks like one for me! Thanks, Clar!

    Like

  7. Margot Finke says:

    I was teased and bullied as a kid because of y red hair and freckles, so Just Kidding really resonates with me. Excellent book + information. Pinned to my Book Reviews (kids to YA) on Pinterest. And I wish Clara, and all who read her super blog, the best Thanksgiving ever!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks, Margot.

      Kids can be very mean and I am grateful for books like these pointing out how teasing can hurt and what to do about it. 🙂

      Happy Thanksgiving to you, too, 🙂

      Like

  8. How blessed you are! Thanks for this great pick.

    Like

  9. Darlene says:

    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving with your family!!

    Like

  10. granny1947 says:

    I must forward that title onto a friend of mine.
    she is a librarian for a NGO.

    Like

  11. Stacy S. Jensen says:

    Thanks for sharing this title. I hope you have a wonderful time with your family. Enjoy. And, yes that fruit salad sounds huge and will likely be a huge hit!

    Like

  12. Happy Thanksgiving where you are! 😀 This book sounds like an important book. I like the style of illustrations.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. jannatwrites says:

    I’m excited for you and for visit with your sister! I hope you have a great time 🙂 I like the first three sentences of the book. I remember the choosing of groups as a kid… and the disappointment of the group that got stuck with me (I’ve never been athletic!)

    Like

  14. Barbara says:

    Sounds like an important book. I’m glad you shared it.
    Happy Thanksgiving!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Joanne Sher says:

    This sounds wonderful – and NEEDED. Thanks for the info!!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.