Perfect Picture Book Friday/ Barack

Hi Friends,

 

It was with trepidation that I looked through the list of Perfect Picture Books on Susanna Leonard Hill’s site for this one, thinking of course someone else had already done it.  It was with surprise it hadn’t. So I am delighted to bring this to you.

 

Barack/  Book Cover

Barack/ Book Cover

Title: Barack

Author/ Illustrator : Jonah Winter/ A. G. Ford

Theme: History, nonfiction, president

Publication by Collins, Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, 2008

Resources:

 

Teacher Guides for Barack are here:

And for Barack Obama as United States President here:

Summary: This is a biographical picture book of Barack Obama up to his Senate Career,  One the last page it says something about him being nominated for President. Here is the summary from inside the jacket. “”This is a journey that began in many places. It began in Kansas, home of Barack’s mother. It began in Africa, home of Barack’s father. It began in Hawaii one moonlight night, the night that Barack was born.

 

Sometimes it was a lonely journey. Sometimes it was an enchanted journey. But throughout the most unusual ride, this boy often wondered: Who am I? Where do I belong?”

 

Why I love it: In this stunning picture book, Jonah Winter and AG Ford re-create the extraordinary story behind the journey of our president, Barack Obama. And they do it very well. I Just loved seeing his young life in living color while Jonah Winter described it. I have yet to read Obama’s book The Audacity of Hope, but maybe I’ll find time now. No matter how one feels about our current president  his life is one of courage and hope. I really enjoyed reading this Perfect Picture Book for Friday.

 

Thanks so much for reading this. If you would like to read more books like this one go to Susanna Leonard Hill’s Perfect Picture Books site

where you will find a treasure trove of good stories for students , parents and teachers and librarians. All categorized in alphabet order and in order of theme. Go there and see for yourself why you should and will want to tell others about it. Perfect Picture Book Friday. It’s awesome!

 

And my books?

Annie’s Special Day and Edmund Pickle Chin, a Donkey Rescue Story. See below for the jackets. You can purchase them and find more information here :

My Picture Books in logo by Margot Finke

My Picture Books in logo by Margot Finke

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in blogging, Clara Bowman-Jahn, Clarike Bowman-Jahn, Course or Book Review, http://www.etreasurespublishing.com/, marketing, Perfect Picture Book Friday, social networking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Perfect Picture Book Friday/ Barack

  1. I can’t believe I haven’t seen this biography about Obama. Glad to know there is a book for children that tells his journey. Sounds like and Inspiring book for children because they don’t think of the President as a child.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      So true, Patricia, children don’t think of any adult as a child. But especially famous people.

      This doesn’t go into his tenur as President though. It only goes up to the eve of his nomination and doesn’t go into his having won the election.

      Thanks so much for your comment. Have a great weekend! 🙂

      Like

  2. I’ve seen this, but didn’t know anything about it. Thanks for the review.

    Like

  3. Thanks for the review. I haven’t seen this one.

    Like

  4. Joanna says:

    I have read and reviewed Of Thee I Sing, but somehow missed this one. Thanks so much for the introduction, Clar!

    Like

  5. We’ve got this one in our school’s library. It is definitely a stand out!

    Like

  6. Wow, Clar, I’m surprised I’ve never heard of this one. We have OF THEE I SING and love it. I’ll have to check this one out.

    Like

  7. Darlene says:

    It’s good for children to read about individuals who have achieved their goals.A book like this would be so inspiring for children. It also adds another dimension to someone they really only know from TV News. I remember reading a book about Eleanor Roosevelt when I was quite young and it so inspired me.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      I agree, Darlene! That is why biographies are so important. It puts real people in the hero seat or in the ‘I look up to people like that’ seat or status. ‘

      Thanks so much for commenting. 🙂

      Like

  8. Clare, I’m amazed at how realistic the illustration of the President is on the front cover. Its always interesting to discover what “made the man”. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks, Jarm,

      Yes, what made the man was a whole lot of diversity and adversity in childhood and growing up. And he over came it then and he is overcoming it now. 🙂

      Like

  9. jannatwrites says:

    Regardless of political beliefs, I think biographies like this are great for kids to read for historical perspective.

    Like

  10. sounds like a book I should have read… and know I didn’t! thanks for bringing it to my attention.

    Like

  11. Wow, Clar! I didn’t even know this book existed! I’m so glad you found it and added it to our list! I will certainly have to read it. Thanks so much for sharing!

    Like

  12. Looks like you found a unique gem. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  13. Joanne Sher says:

    This really does sound fascinating – and like some have said, no matter our politics, learning about our president as a child has got to be inspiring. Thanks!

    Like

  14. This sounds great! 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.