19 Struggles Of Having An Outgoing Personality But Actually Being Introverted

Like so many others who reblogged this. I would only do so if I thought it awesome. My little sister alerted me to this post and said this said this post said it best.

Introversion Effect

Like many categorizing systems, the separatist thinking behind them attempts to firmly place us in one container or another.  The flaw in these types of systems is that they don’t always take into account the middle areas of the spectrum.  And any system is just that: a spectrum.  I’ve long stated with unequivocal certainty that I’m introverted.  My friends, however, look at me askance, because I’m actually very fun-loving and outgoing when I need to be.  So on that introvert/extravert spectrum, I fall somewhere to the introverted side, but exhibit limited extroverted tendencies.  Here is an article found online that I have updated to reflect this spectrumized system.

1. You’re not anti-social, you’re selectively social.

2. At any given point, you have one (maybe two) best friends who are your entire life. You’re not a “group of friends” person. You can’t keep up with all that.

3. Social gatherings…

View original post 454 more words

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 19 Struggles Of Having An Outgoing Personality But Actually Being Introverted

  1. Robyn Campbell says:

    I found this very interesting, Clar. It’s something to be outgoing and introverted at the same time. But I see how that can happen after reading this. I used to be a group of friends type person. Now I’ve mellowed and treasure the trueness in just a couple of friendships.

    Like

  2. clarbojahn says:

    Like my sister who sent this to me, I think I”ve found my group. Although you won’t find me in one at a social gathering. lol

    I’m surprised at what you say though, Robyn, because you are always joking and fooling around in social media. I had the opposite opinion of you. Maybe all I see is the social personality coming out. thanks so much for commenting. 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.