#PPBF: Click, Clack, Splish, Splash

HI FRIENDS!

Yay! it’s Friday! Tomorrow is Saturday with all it’s possibilities. I Love the weekend. But first the fun of Perfect Picture Book Friday. And here’s my selection. It’s different from my usual fare but is sure to please.

Click Clack Splish

Title: Click, Clack, Splish, Splash, a counting adventure

Author / Illustrator: Doreen Cronin/ Betsy Lewin

Age appropriate for: preschool, ages two to six

Publishing info: Atheneum books for young readers, an imprint of Simon and Schuster’s Publishing Division 2006, fiction

Themes: counting, stories in rhyme, fishing, farming, animals, humor

Resources: For the scholastic teachers guide check here:

How to use counting books is here:

Here are scholastic’s activity sheets :

 

Summary from in Jacket: While Farmer Brown sleeps; some of the animals who live on the farm go on a fishing expedition.

First Three sentences: “1 farmer sleeping. 2 feet creeping. 3 buckets piled high.

Why I love it: This counting book is especially cute in that the bare rhyming text tells an adorable farm story. Without waking the farmer all the animals carefully put the ten fish from his beloved aquarium back in the creek/pond/river. The humor just naturally flows. The illustrations showing the part of the story that can’t be told makes it especially funny. I think the preschooler set will laugh their heads off at this book.

 Check out all the titles for Perfect Picture Book Friday

available on Susanna Leonard Hill’s excellent blog.

What about you? Do you think you’ll like it?

Have a great weekend!

Edmund Pickle Chin is being reviewed on Vivian’s blog today for her PPBF. Psst! Wanna go see? click!

Hugs and kisses!

See you on Tuesday. If You didn’t see it this past Tuesday, I’ve got an interesting post on “Edmund Pickle Chin, a Donkey Rescue Story,”  blog tour coming up. Yep, a blog tour! With all our friends. It’s sure to please. See you there!

© 2014 Clara Bowman-Jahn aka Clarike Bowman-Jahn

 

///

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in blogging, Clara Bowman-Jahn, Clarike Bowman-Jahn, Course or Book Review, marketing, Perfect Picture Book Friday, social networking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to #PPBF: Click, Clack, Splish, Splash

  1. Stacy S. Jensen says:

    Oh, This version looks fun. I’m interested in the sparse text. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. This looks like a lot fun counting book that kids will enjoy reading again and again. Love the active cover!

    Like

  3. Margot Finke says:

    Love the sound of this counting book. The author really thought out of the box!! Of course it goes on my Book Reviews (kids to YA) – on Pinterest. You have a great eye for a fun story, mate.

    Books for Kids – Skype Author Visits
    http://www.margotfinke.com

    Like

  4. Another ClickClack – will have to check it out!

    Like

  5. Wendy says:

    This duo is amazing. I read this story years ago before I was “studying” picture books. Time for a reread!

    Like

  6. The mighty duo strikes again! The click clack books are always favorites!!!! I’ll have to check this one out! Thanks!

    Like

  7. I haven’t read this one, but I am the proud owner of several other Duck books. Thanks for the review.

    Like

  8. Joanne Sher says:

    This looks incredibly clever and fun. Thanks for sharing – will have to give it a look 🙂

    Like

  9. Joanna says:

    I don’t know how I missed this Clack-Clack one, it sounds perfect to read aloud!

    Like

  10. This one sounds really cute. Thanks for telling me about it.

    Like

  11. I love Click Clack Moo, so I’m sure this one is just as fun in its own way. It sounds very cute and funny 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing! And wow! How is Edmund’s blog tour starting already – I thought we had another week! I’ll be over to Vivian’s soon 🙂

    Like

  12. Darlene says:

    I love these books. I use Click Clack Moo when I tutor young ESL students. They just love it too. This one looks adorable. Good luck with your blog tour.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks, Darlene!

      And thanks for the suggestion for ESOL. I teach it as well although more to adults, but picture books are key. They are not intimidating. 🙂

      Like

  13. there’s more after the typewriter fiasco? Gotta read this one for sure! I’m curious to find out what they do on this fishing expedition…

    Like

  14. I love this series! 😀

    Like

Comments are closed.