Food! Chocolate and Chili Peppers – a Birthday Post!

This was my family with Joanna as the youngest little girl reaching to her brother, Paul. She is in front.

This was my family with Joanna as the youngest little girl reaching to her brother, Paul. She is in front.

Hi Friends!

This may come as a surprise but sometimes I like to share food ideas instead of writing. I forget my life is under construction although it says so right on my blog tag line. I press onward and get all tense thinking about all the things I need to do. I even make timelines so I don’t go off on a tangent and “waste” time. I write out the day using hour markers and plan my day in one hour slots so I get everything done. Today and tomorrow are such days. I have a lot to do.

Then my friend, Margot Finke, gave me her relaxation technique and I knew I was lost. I’ll post it sometime if you want. It’s a good one. But then, then I knew I had to relax. I also had a head ache and sciatica from too much tension in my muscles. I get sciatica by tightening my quads so tightly they impinge on the nerve and it hurts from my butt and hip all the way down to my knee.

So I knew, knew something had to give. And I thought the first thing to do was think about food. After eating some chocolate that is. So here is a food blog post to celebrate. And it’s in gratitude for my little sister, Johanna Ash. She doesn’t have a web site but she reads this blog so it will be a surprise when she reads this one. I owe a lot to her and don’t always show my gratitude like I should. She was the one who re read Annie’s Special Day so many times that after I did the revisions I almost had a submission ready manuscript. One that was ready for my critique group anyway. So here is the Chili Pepper freezing recipe and uses for them she gave me.

Chili peppers

There are lots of different types of chili peppers.   If you can remember the name of the kind you bought, that will make a huge difference in how you fix them.    If you succeed in freezing them, I can share recipes…or you can go online.    
An easy way to use chilies is in beans, or with rice or in eggs.   Just try a

little to see if you like them.  Dairy products like milk or cheese or sour cream will help cut the spice if your mouth is too sore after you eat some. If you ordinarily don’t use salsa or piquante sauce, you probably will not like chili peppers.  Do you ever eat Mexican?   They use very mild chilies.  Thai food comes a little closer to the burn sensation of chili peppers.


You can roast one or two and use a little bit before you mess with the entire group.   Try it first, because it is a lot of work. 
I will be using our chilies in Chile stew, and in enchiladas.  The ones we got are very hot, so I will be using less than I normally would.   My nephew, Brian,

This was my family with Joanna as the youngest little girl reaching to her brother, Paul. She is in front.

This was my family with Joanna as the youngest little girl reaching to her brother, Paul. She is in front.

doesn’t like chili peppers at all.
Be sure to keep your hands away from your face when you are peeling them.

So friends, there you have it; the way to prepare chilies from scratch after roasting them to make them ready for the freezer. And then, then you can thaw them and use them in food. And this post was about how you can use them in food.

This post was to celebrate my sister Anneliese Johanna Ash from Texas’s birthday on May 14, 2014. Happy birthday little sister!

See you here Friday everyone! Bring on the chocolate!

© 2014 Clara Bowman-Jahn aka Clarike Bowman-Jahn

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in Clara Bowman-Jahn, Clarike Bowman-Jahn, food, life story, personal growth, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Food! Chocolate and Chili Peppers – a Birthday Post!

  1. Rosi says:

    Well, that was interesting! Not your usual fare.

    Like

  2. Happy birthday to your sister! 🙂 I had chili pepper jelly once – I wasn’t very fond of it… 😉

    Like

Comments are closed.