GIVE ME STRENGTH Or Memoir or Bust, part two & Give Away!

Hi Friends!

Flicka eating Suet. Pecking away. Like us writers

Flicka eating Suet. Pecking away. Like us writers

The reason for the title will soon be apparent.  And as I go along I may reuse it sometime. “Memoir or Bust” seems altogether relevant this week.

Here I am confessing to you that for the third time I am concentrating on writing my memoir. I just have a lot to say about it.  In fact I am paying two teachers to help me in a course called Write Your Memoir in Six Months.   🙂

Linda Joy Meyers, the president of NAMW or National Assoc of Memoir Writers and Brooke Warner of She Writes Press,  are the two teachers.

There is no way I can fail short of giving up. I have a partner and there’s a face book page and this calls to me as you well know. I do not think I will give up. Not on my rough draft anyhow.  But some of you may know how close I actually got this week. Writing memoir makes one relive their life and I’ve had some rough times. One thing picture book writing doesn’t have is the emotional component of getting it down like this has.

I may lose some of you, faithful readers though you may be, along the way but I hope you are here for the long haul. I will still be writing on picture books and have one coming out in summer as you are aware. Edmund Pickle Chin, a Donkey Rescue Story. Whew the title is so long. I think I will just refer to it as Edmund. Just like I refer to “Annie’s Special Day” as Annie. And yes, the trailer gets mixed up with Annie from the broad way play. Did you ever hear it? Here it is again. 🙂

Just for kicks if you missed it. 🙂

http://youtu.be/tPsLf6jNylk

I’ve got several talks in elementary schools this April and I need to call the librarians in those schools and set up meetings. I’ll be doing that next week. And another thing I have to do is make a meeting a with my ESOL student and see if she still wants to meet with me or if she is too busy. I can go on and tell you my “to do” list but this is long enough. Dear readers, stay with me and I will not disappoint.

In fact let’s do a giveaway.  I will give away one copy of Annie or one copy of “Henry on Fire” to a lucky commenter.  The comments will close next Tuesday so this give away will include any who comment here as well as on PPBF also as long as you are a follower. (Guess what? Soon I’ll have two of my own picture books to give away.)

“Henry on Fire” is a middle grade written by friend and critique partner Stuart. So comment away and get signed up for this giveaway.

Guess What? I’m on Vivian Kirkfield’s blog this week. Remember my goals? I talked about more with Vivian. Here is the site:

And not only that but my publishing house for “Annie’s Special Day” is doing a rafter giveaway as well. So you actually have two chances to win. And this one runs the whole month of March. Go here:

Hope to see you on Friday!

Kisses and hugs everyone!

© 2014 Clara Bowman-Jahn aka Clarike Bowman-Jahn

Did I give you enough information this time? Do you feel inundated by info? Or that you’ve been run over by a train? I hope not.

Enjoy  your day everyone!

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in Clara Bowman-Jahn, Clarike Bowman-Jahn, life story, marketing, memoir, personal growth, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to GIVE ME STRENGTH Or Memoir or Bust, part two & Give Away!

  1. Oh Clar…congratulations on all you are doing! I’m excited for you about the memoir…and will be praying for you to have courage and strength to look back and look inside…that can be very difficult and a huge emotional drain. I’ll try my best to visit as you post…we all need cheerleaders, right? And hurray for Edmund Pickle Chin…absolutely love that name! I’ll want to review the book as soon as it comes out!
    And thanks again for the wonderful goal-buster’s interview…you are inspiring. 🙂

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks so much, Vivian for giving me so much to give thanks for. You are always more than a cheerleader, you give inspiration. With you behind me there is even less chance of giving up. 🙂

      Yes, I am very happy about Edmund Pickle Chin and it gives me hope that even though my life as I’m reliving it in my memoir hasn’t been the happiest one, now it is. And I feel so blessed and grateful. 🙂 . 🙂

      Like

  2. From what little I know of your life already, I’m sure your memoir will be an incredible book, and I can’t wait to read it!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Oh wow! Teresa, really? so glad. Thanks so much. I need beta readers and maybe I’ll ask you if you would be so kind. After the first draft I’ll know more about it and will message you. 🙂

      Like

  3. Margot Finke says:

    Clar, you have discovered the secret of success!! It is not so much talent, or promotion, or using powerful and evocative words. It is that dull, often forgotten thing called stick-with-it-ness! Never quit trying! Never give up! Get there or bust! Go for it mate, you are on the right path.

    Books for Kids – Skype Author Visits
    http://www.margotfinke,com

    Like

  4. Darlene says:

    Sounds like you are on the right track Clare! Best of luck.

    Like

  5. jannatwrites says:

    I admire the effort you’re putting toward your memoir. I really think you’re going to do it! (And I’m going to be reading along here as you do 🙂 )

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks so much, Janna!

      It’s all about determination and Butt in Chair. And not giving up when the going gets tough. I think my writing will be easier now since I got over the bad lump. 🙂

      Like

  6. Wow! Your brain is on fire! Way to go!

    Like

  7. Dear Clar,
    I wrote this to help you and others write your memoir? I hope it helps you.
    How to Write an Intriguing Memoir
    http://joanyedwards.wordpress.com/2014/03/06/how-to-write-an-intriguing-memoir/

    Like

  8. Pingback: Clarbojahn Presents! Interview with AMANDA Author, Darlene Foster! | Clarbojahn's Blog

Comments are closed.