PPBF/ The Man Who Walked Between Two Towers

PPBF / The Man Who Walked Between the Towers

The Man Who Walked Between  Two Towers

The Man Who Walked Between Two Towers

Hi Friends! Title: The Man Who Walked Between the Towers

Author/ illustrator: Moridcai Gerstein

Award: The Caldecott Medal

Ages appropriate for: age three to eleven

First Three sentences: Once there were two towers side by side. They were each a quarter of a mile high; one thousand three hundred and forty feet. The tallest buildings in New York City.

Themes:  Courage, biography, nonfiction, History,

 

From the Jacket: In 1974, as the World Trade Center was being completed, a young aerialist, Philippe Petit, threw a tightrope between the two towers  and spent almost an hour walking, dancing, and performing tricks a quarter of a mile in the sky. Petit’s high wire walk has remained part of the history of New York City and of the World Trade Center. The Man Who Walked Between the Towers captures poetry and magic of his feat with a poetry of its  own: Lyrical words and  lovely ink and oil paintings  that  present the detail, the daring, and – in two dramatic foldout spreads – the vertiginous drama of  Petit’s feat. Just as the Massive towers of the World trade Center remain in memory, so too does the image of a young man walking in the air between them – here given expression by a master picture book artist.

Resources: https://www.scholastic.com/teachers/lesson-plan/man-who-walked-between-towers-lesson-plan

Teaching 9/11 ideas and projects:: http://learning.blogs.nytimes.com/2011/08/31/teaching-911-ideas-and-projects-from-teachers/?_r=0

You tube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xEDT8mCOfM4

The book Philippe Petit wrote:: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6ddpV1GvF7E

The MOVIE: Man on Wire: http://www.studio360.org/story/155770-philippe-petit-man-on-wire/

Why I love it: I had read the “Let the World Spin” a notable book of the year for my book club which I had picked out and it had a chapter devoted to this even with Philippe Petit. So when I saw this Picture book I was immediately taken by it. This book starts off saying the impossible parts of the walk. How high it was. How they almost didn’t get the cable across. How they worked all night to get the walk ready. I was exhausted just by that. Petit had worked all night to get ready and then just as the sun came up across the city, Petit started his walk and a woman coming out of a subway saw him. It must have been quite a sight flying a mile high in the sky where sky usually is. I hope those mean boys grew up to regret wobbling the wire that he balanced on while serving his sentence of performing for kids in the park. What about you, what do you think your favorite part of the book will be? Can you tell me in the comments?

Here is my gift for my writer friends: In your writing do you see dragons that need slaying?   http://annerallen.blogspot.com/2013/12/6-writing-dragons-how-to-slay-themand.html   Let’s kill those buggers.

How about making our submissions easier? Check out this blog from book baby http://blog.bookbaby.com/2013/12/3-tools-thatll-make-the-submissions-process-easier-for-writers/?utm_campaign=BB1401&u

So those two gifts should make my writer friends very happy and if you just wanted to skip this part and read the Perfect Picture Book Friday review, please do.  🙂  I aim to please!

Let me give an update on my new picture book, Edmund Pickle Chin, a Donkey Rescue Story. We are done with the illustrations and are ready to have it formatted. I am not sure if who is doing that at eTreasurespublishing and I may not know for a while. The CEO has breast cancer and is recovering from that. I’m thinking of shooting an email to her assistant but don’t want to harass.  I’ll keep you posted. 🙂

/////Please join other bloggers in Perfect Picture Book Friday over at Susanna Leonard Hill’s site to see other fun books.

l For more links to Perfect Picture Books, a collection of bloggers who contribute at Susanna Leonard Hill’s site, click here

© 2014  Clara Bowman-Jahn/ Clarike Bowman-Jahn

See you next Tuesday! XXxOOOo

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in Clara Bowman-Jahn, Clarike Bowman-Jahn, Course or Book Review, marketing, Perfect Picture Book Friday, social networking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to PPBF/ The Man Who Walked Between Two Towers

  1. Just looking at the cover gives me vertigo! Humans are strange animals to do things like this, don’t you think?

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks, Wendy.

      The art in this book is all about realism. In a cartoonish way. Just like the cover. You can think about Spiderman in this book. Not too different except Phillippe was a true human walking on a thin cable between the tallest buildings on earth at that time.

      He was an exceptional human, Wendy. I can’t put myself in his category. 🙂

      Like

  2. I’m sure kids will love a book about the aerialist, Philippe Petit. I’m always intrigued why there is such a drive to accomplish such dangerous things. And hour is a long time. I could barely watch the man who recently crossed the Grand Canyon. I know they are trained and very talented. It sounds like the book is beautifully illustrated. I like the cover.

    Like

  3. Love the book, the story, the illos and the documentary!

    Like

  4. Joanna says:

    Fabulous resources list to go with this review, Clar. If it’s a Caldecott medalist I would love to see the illustrations.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Yes, the illustrations are great. See the You Tube video I have on the resources and you’ll see the illustrations as well during the story. I hope you like it. 🙂

      Like

  5. Margot Finke says:

    Loved the arielist’s tale, Clar. The illos are awesome. I pinned it to my Book Reviews (kids to YA) on Pinterest. Also pinned your two GIFT links to Writing Help etc. Good resources!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks as always Margot.So glad you liked the gifts. Its’ so interesting that you have writing help. It’s obviously time to visit your Pinterest site. And your boards. 🙂

      Like

  6. I get dizzy just looking at the cover! What a crazy thing to do – and yet… no crazier, I guess, than climbing a mountain or hang-gliding.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Yes, it is a little crazier. But I see where you re going and coming from. But throwing a cable across the buildings at night and at dawn walking and dancing a mile high above the city like spider man. It goes beyond normal. But admirable to us. That is the only way I understand it.

      Thanks so much for visiting and leaving a comment, Sue. Come back anytime. 🙂

      Like

  7. I would probably like to see and hear about the very first steps he took on his journey across so high in the air. I love the realistic but artsy illustrations!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      In the book, “As the world Spins” it tells of it. Also in my resources I have a book and movie of it, one by Phillippe Petit himself. Maybe that would be a start for you when you get time.

      The picture book does leave out the beginnings of his journey. Thanks for your interest. 🙂

      Like

  8. I love this story! What an incredible man! Thanks for the review and all the resources. I’ll be looking for this one. I hope it’s not up on a high shelf!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Ha because if it were up on high shelf you would be tempted to throw a cable to the next high shelf and tight walk across to it, right? Ha ha

      Thanks for reading and commenting. Have a great week! 🙂

      Like

  9. I read this book in school years ago. I never forgot it. I loved it (because I am extremely clumsy and I am jealous of anyone who can stand 1000ft+ in the air on a wire for one minute, let alone one hour. 😉 )! 😀

    Like

  10. That cover image makes me a little dizzy. We’ll have to find this one. Thanks for the gifts too and best of luck with your newest book!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks Stacy! ON all counts. the book, the gifts and my new book coming out this summer. 🙂

      So glad you were able to stop by and leave a comment. come again sometime. We love company. 🙂

      Like

  11. jannatwrites says:

    I don’t have an adventurous heart, so I’m intrigued and fascinated by those who taunt death 🙂

    I’m glad your second book is coming along. Good luck with it!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks, Janna!

      I’m not sure where to post updates. On my Tuesday blog or here on PPBF? Maybe I’ll make separate posts for my blog or what? I just want to let people know what’s going on. 🙂

      Like

  12. Dear Clare,
    What a great way to do a book review! Do the review and then add advice for writers. I love it. That’s an intriguing story about the man crossing between the two towers. He’s braver than I would be.

    Have a fun day.
    Celebrate you.
    Joan Y. Edwards

    Like

Comments are closed.