One Unofficial Post

1950 Clarike in playpen grabbing brother Ernst  with Brother John sitting with dog Peiter.

1950 Clarike in playpen grabbing brother Ernst with Brother John sitting with dog Peiter.

Hi Friends! 

I must tell you of the site that my son’s Ben and Eric introduced me to; Wendell Berry, a poet and writer of greatness, through Bill Moyers. Oh how such a wonderful man should live today!

 http://billmoyers.com/segment/wendell-berry-on-his-hopes-for-humanity/

Thanks, readers! This is my first post of January, it is unofficial because not my usual style. It was important enough to give its own post and not hide among gifts in PPBF or my other Tuesday posts. I’ll talk of goals and stuff next week. I just wanted to bring your attention to Wendell Berry.

(Oh yes! There’s lots of good stuff in store for 2014)

Come back Friday and see what I have for you! PPBF / The Man Who Walked Between the Towers

XXXOOO

 ©  Clarike Bowman-Jahn aka -Clara Bowman-Jahn ©

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in Clara Bowman-Jahn, Clarike Bowman-Jahn, Faith Journey, life story, personal growth, social networking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to One Unofficial Post

  1. Margot Finke says:

    Berry is an inspiring man for so many reasons. Thanks for introducing him to us. I have added your post to my BLOGS that Rock, on Pinterest.

    Like

  2. Thank you for sharing Bill Moyer’s post on Berry. I love Bill Moyers and he always seeks out the most inspiring individuals who are making a difference.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      thanks, Patricia.

      I agree, Bill Moyer is great and I was particularly taken by Berry. I felt like he really said it like it was.

      Thanks so much for commenting. 🙂

      Like

  3. Clar, playpens were the best invention, thanks for sharing the photo and your thoughts. 🙂

    Like

  4. Wow, Clar! You are leading off the year with a great post! My husband and I used to love to watch Sunday Mornings with Charles Kerault…and then with Charles Osgood. Bill Moyers is another who shines the light on people and places of true value. I was happy to read about Wendall Berry…a man with a true pioneer spirit and an understanding of what really matters in life.
    Looking forward to visiting often in 2014!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks, Vivian!

      I listened to Berry twice when Eric and Ben sent this to me but now I want to hear it again. thanks for the comment.

      Yes, yes, lot’s of visits. 🙂

      Like

  5. And Clar…I absolutely LOVE the playpen picture…you are adorable! Do they even have playpens anymore? They should…it was great for the mother and great for the child. 🙂

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      SMILE. 🙂

      I think they did away with them but have many other things now like swings and jumpers. I don’t know if they do have play pens? May google it ha ha.

      Like

  6. Wendell came to Indiana University where my husband teaches to have a moderated conversation with Wes Jackson (another one of the guys we admire) a couple of years ago. I think my husband first learned of him through reading Gene Logsden’s books both of them among the bunch of farmer rock stars that we are fans of. 🙂

    Like

  7. 2014 is a year of spontaneity & surprises. So much ahead of us. So much to create and experience. Happy New Year to you & your family.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks so much, Traveler,

      Yes, the year is turning out to be one of surprises. Some good some not so good. I hope I can survive the bad ones and meet the challenges of the good.

      Happy New Year to you and your family also. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.