Perfect Picture Book Friday/ The Important Book

Hi Friends!

Here are my gifts to  you! I’m being brief because I still have two classes to go in Susanna’s Making Picture Book Magic before I start on todays. And since I’m behind already, I don’t want to get more behind.

The first link could easily refer to me.

You’re not lazy, but you might be scared.   http://www.freelancersunion.org/blog/2013/01/15/five-tips-preventing-procrastination/, I pinched this from my facebook and Blogger friend, Susan Carter Payne, or Suzicate, the Water Witches Daughter, as some of you may know her. She is a gifted blogger and from her face book entries I see she is every bit as warm and caring as her blog suggests.

http://www.writersonthemove.com/2012/12/fun-words-to-think-about.html        Words that are descriptive in writing and help move it along. Words that use words to describe themselves in writing. It’s true, they’re fun!! 

The Important book _book cover_Title: The Important Book

Author/ Illustrator: Margaret Wise Brown/ Leonard Weisgard

Published by: Harpers Collins Publishers 1949/ renewed in 1977 – nonfiction, informational,

For ages: four to eight

Themes: Books for boys, CHALLENGING ASSUMPTIONS, COMMON CHILDHOOD EXPERIENCES, CONCEPTS , CONFIDENCE, nonfiction, EDUCATIONAL, IMPORTANCE, NON-FICTION, Early Learning, Opposites and Contrasts, Understanding Self and Others,

Resources: this teacher uses this book to boost self-esteem in students : http://www.scholastic.com/teachers/lesson-plan/important-book-lesson-plan by having students write important things about each other.

http://www.brighthubeducation.com/high-school-english-lessons/49430-the-important-book-lesson-plan-on-character-analysis/   To use the book in writing a character analysis in middle school.

You Tube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vNcxQFn_7uc

From the Jacket: “Written by Margaret Wise Brown, the beloved author of GOODNIGHT MOON, and illustrated by Caldecott Medalist Leonard Weisgard, THE IMPORTANT BOOK, was hailed as “a perfect book” by Kirkus Reviews. Spirited and inventive, it examines the world of the everyday with the fresh, open  perspective of a child. It is as innovative today as it was in 1949 when it was first published. Share this special 50th anniversary edition with a new generation of readers, and find out why THE IMPORTANT BOOK continues to go on long after the book is closed.

Why I loved it: The articles chosen for their importance are simple and important in their simplicity. The thing that is important about them is it’s very obvious trait. Like apple is round and glass is that you can see through it and grass is green. I can just see kids wondering about these things and the questions start or ease up. I wish I had a three-year old I was reading this to. Although I put the ages appropriate as four to eight it might be closer to two or three when questions start. I love the marriage of art and text in this book. Margaret Wise Brown has a proclivity of saying profound things in  a simple way.

This is what , Erik, the kid who reviews books, says every Friday ,

Susanna Leonard Hill has a feature on her blog called Perfect Picture Book Friday. It is a list of “perfect” picture books recommended by all sorts of people.

Have you heard of The Important Book by Margaret Wise Brown or only Good Night Moon? Do you think you will want to read it? yes or no?

Have a safe and lovely weekend, y’all. Xoxo”

Cover of "Goodnight Moon"

Cover of Goodnight Moon

 

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in blogging, Clara Bowman-Jahn, Clarike Bowman-Jahn, Course or Book Review, Perfect Picture Book Friday, social networking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Perfect Picture Book Friday/ The Important Book

  1. Wow! I’ve never heard of this title. It sounds like a good one, Clar! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

  2. No, I have never heard of this book. But, it certainly has stood the test of time as an outstanding book. I’m glad it has bee reprinted. Great share today!

    Like

  3. Is this one still in print, Clara? I hope so.

    Like

  4. Catherine Johnson says:

    Will check it out and thanks for the links, Clar!

    Like

  5. Never heard of this book before today. wow, who knew?

    Like

  6. Joanna says:

    I love being introduced to books that are still contemporary and profound decades later. Thank you, Clar!

    Like

  7. Great review and loved the link to “Writers on the Move”!

    Like

  8. This looks great and I also haven’t heard of it. Thank you so much for recommending it!

    Like

  9. This looks like one for me! Thanks Clar!

    Like

  10. That Margaret Wise Brown is a very wise woman! She makes good books. I don’t know this one but I’ll be checking it out! Thanks!

    Like

  11. Judith says:

    I enjoyed the references… very helpful

    Like

  12. As a Margaret Wise Brown-lover, I can’t believe I don’t have/know this book! Thanks so much, Clar, for uncovering it and posting it for PPBF. 🙂 Great review…I will have fun looking for this book!

    Like

Comments are closed.