Shout Out For An Outstanding Member of the Kid Lit Writing Community

Tulips for Susanna

Tulips for Susanna

Hi Friends, 

Today I want to blog about Susanna Leonard Hill and her blog (http://susannahill.blogspot.com/   ). She has great ideas and it is a treat to visit her. Really, she usually has some yummy chocolatey thing to eat… But chocolate aside, there are a variety of reasons to visit her blog.

The most obvious is Perfect Picture Book Friday, of which I participate each Friday. I read and review a picture book, find resources, say why I loved it and Voila! My Friday blog post. Susanna has a linky list on her blog on Fridays and we hop around reading each others PPBF reviews. It’s fun and has created a community but that’s not the least of it.

Susanna has a site on her blog called Perfect Picture Books where all the books from all of us for over two years have been alphabetized, organized according to themes and also to bloggers. This is perfect for teachers, librarians, home schoolers and parents looking for a particular book. The best part is that each book has a teacher guide or resources that that special person can use to expand their knowledge of the book.

Another wonderful event Susanna has is her Wednesday pitch posts. Wednesday’s she devotes to writers sprucing up their query letters with a pitch and asks her readers for tips and whether they would read the book or not. Usually at the end of the day the writer who has been brave enough to put their pitch out there has a good idea of how to make their pitch stand out for that agent or editor waiting to publish their manuscript. And once a month there is a comment from a real agent for the most voted on pitch.

Mondays are usually devoted to a writer’s question. Susanna has answered many pertinent questions about the art and craft of writing in general and picture books in particular.  She has even established a class for writers called Making Picture Book Magic or http://susannahill.blogspot.com/p/making-picture-book-magic.html . I’m taking it myself in April when I’ve finished my online memoir course class called “Write Your Life Story” by Eva Shaw.

As you can see, I am one of Susanna’s fans. And her blog is one I don’t want to miss.

Susanna not only has a great and outstanding blog, offering contests and much more than I’ve gone into detail here about but she is a great and outstanding person. Recently she approached me with “Yet another hair-raising scheme” about giving a child, a hospitalized, sick, five-year old, a linky list of ready-made posts to go to in search of reassurance, comfort, and encouragement. It was a huge success.

I highly recommend Susanna. After reading this and you would like to visit her, click here http://susannahill.blogspot.com/    to go to her blog.

 

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in blogging, Clara Bowman-Jahn, Clarike Bowman-Jahn, social networking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Shout Out For An Outstanding Member of the Kid Lit Writing Community

  1. Aw. Clar! You made me all teary! Thank you so much for the tulips and all the kind words! What a lovely post – and such a happy surprise when I opened it from my inbox. I so appreciate your fellowship and support, but honestly, it’s people like you who make my blog a fun place. I couldn’t do it without brave writers who submit pitches for Would You Read It, generous reviewers who take the time and trouble to share wonderful picture books for Perfect Picture Books, or more brave writers to enter the contests, ask their questions in Oh Susanna, and play along with Short & Sweets. And all the wonderful, warm-hearted people who go along with my hare-brained schemes – such an amazing community. So thank you for your post – you made my day! 🙂 – and thank you for being a part of this community, and for all YOU do!!! 🙂

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      You are more than welcome, Susannna. Thanks for all YOU do. We LOVE you and your blog. 🙂

      I hope I didn’t embarrass you too much but this was sitting on my to write about pile and I couldn’t help myself. There was a lot more to your blog that I didn’t mention and I am glad you did. Like your short and sweets. There is so much good you do and you are so generous about it.

      Thanks so much!! 🙂 My life is made richer because of people like you. 🙂

      Like

  2. Catherine Johnson says:

    Yay! Throws confetti! Susanna is the Queen of this kidlit community, offering so many useful and fun posts for us all. You rock, Susanna! Great post, Clar!

    Like

  3. count me as one of Susanna’s biggest fans, as well! Not only does she do so much for our blogging community, she is such a delightful person (I can hardly wait to meet her in real life!). I love all her schemes, her wonderful blog, and her more-than-wonderful picture books. Yay, Susanna!!!! (throws more confetti!)

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks so much, Beth for joining in the Susanna parade! I could just go on and on. And I”m real jealous of you getting to meet her in real life. When is that happening? 🙂

      I’m sure she has lots of fans and I am glad the both of us are two of her best. 🙂

      Like

  4. Rosi says:

    I always take a look when Susanna’s posts come into my mail box. You’re right. There is a lot to like on her blog.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks, Rosi!

      Her blog, her books, her course, her contests and I wish I was meeting her in real life like Beth. Maybe I should do something about that. 🙂

      Like

  5. Margot Finke says:

    I am throwing confetti on both Susanna and Clar. Our days would be far less fun and interesting without BOTH of you. Hugs!!

    Books for Kids – Manuscript Critiques
    http;//www.margotfinke.com

    Like

  6. A lovely tribute to our fearless leader!

    Like

  7. Hi Clar,
    I’m so glad you posted this about “our” amazing Susanna. You’re going to love her “Making Picture Book Magic!” course. 🙂

    Like

  8. Kudos to you, Clar! What a wonderful post and a much deserved one as well. I am a total Susanna Leonard Hill fan…if she had groupies, I’d definitely be counted amongst them.:) Her blog provides so many writerly offerings…fun, informative and filled with a great community spirit.

    Like

  9. Oh I loved this post. I too, am a huge fan of Susanna and her blog. Not only does she inspire us with her blog, but she is also one of the most gentle and patient people I know. Thanks Clar for sharing this tribute to her.

    Like

  10. Joanna says:

    Thank you for this fabulous tribute to Susanna and her blog, Clar. You have put into words the appreciation so many of us feel.

    Like

  11. Darlene says:

    Susanna does so much for the children’s writing communityand so do you Clarike. Thank you for sending Susanna tulips from all of us!! What a wonderful group of people I have found in the blogging world.

    Like

Comments are closed.