Clarbojahn Presents! Interview with Marketing Director, Patricia Bates! Part Two.

Hi Readers!

Welcome back to Tuesday’s interview, Part two of author and marketing director, Patricia Bates. I hope you enjoyed part one last week and are ready for the finale. I featured four of her books last week and the other four are here as photos.  Patricia is part of my series on my own publishing house that published my picture book, “Annie’s Special Day.” I love getting to know some of the other authors and editors there. So Patricia, are you ready?

Masters Mistress5- What happened in your life to make you think you would like to be a writer? And how long have you been writing?

I’m the middle child of three, growing up I was the quiet one – and not having a lot of money – I had to come up with something to occupy myself. I’m always loved reading and writing for me it was the perfect escape. I started writing at a very early age – but didn’t actually get up the courage to try to get a book sold until after my son was born.  

6- Can you tell us a little about your writing journey?

realgoodmanMy journey hasn’t been easy – there are plenty of pot holes and narrow roads I’ve traveled. I wouldn’t change a single minute of it. I’m prolific – I tend to have a lot on the go – currently I have three books on the go (in various stages of writing) with seven more in notes and plot stage.

When I first stepped onto the road, I was nervous, scared…in fact it took me a half hour to open the first email from a publisher I had submitted to. It was a publisher a friend recommended after I’d met her on a writer’s forum. I was as green as grass and dreaded hearing the no I expected. I’d submitted the novel to agents and been turned down repeatedly…maybe it was just my moment but the publisher asked for the full manuscript and within two months they sent me an email asking me to accept a contract offer…and the rest as they say is history. 

7- You mention that you are writing for disabled children now and have two books out in that genre. Can you go into depth about this event? What the books are titled and what they are about? And what prompted you to write about this?

Yes, I currently have two books written with special needs children in mind. These books I’m going to self pub as I haven’t found a home with a publisher yet (under a pen name of course). They were written/designed with my son in mind who is ASD – and are to help with things like letter recognition, helping with anxiety – the one is about a turtle that goes to a new school.

These books were started to help my son deal with his own anxieties, and to help him do better in school. We’re currently working on plans for a few more books to help cover topics like bullying, hygiene, and more. 

8-  What are you working on now?

As me I’m working on a historical romance set in Spain during the 1850s – featuring an Australian ex-con and a Spanish noblewoman on the run, and another western featuring a young woman who took on raising her siblings after their father abandoned them…she’s a bit prickly until she meets the hero who shows her men can be trusted. 

As Elise Whyles, I’m working on book three in the Canadian Heroes trilogy, book seven in the Forsaken Series about a Fae and the man she loves who is descended from a wizard and a dragoness.

–  How can people get in touch with you? What is the name of your blog and tell us what you blog about?

If people want to get in touch with me they can check out both my websites www.patbatesromances.com orwww.elisewhyles.com. As well they can check out my blogs – http://ofinkandquille.blogspot.com andhttp://charactersandcoffee.blogspot.com

Of Ink and Quille is my blog about a little bit of everything, my writing, my journey, things that I feel strongly about and a spotlight for other authors. Characters and Coffee is my character interview blog.

Patricia Bates, author/editor of etp.

Patricia Bates, author/editor of etp.

Patricia’s Bio: Reading has been such a large part of my life. I cut my literary teeth on such author’s as Louis L’Amour, Nora Roberts and Janet Dailey. For me it wasn’t such a jump from reading the wonderful tales these authors’s spun to imagining my own. 

Soon I was writing poetry, short stories and by junior high I’d written my first full length romance novel. Since then I’ve taken my love of history and my passion for writing and combined them into what I hope will continue to prove a successful career. 

ThePreachersOutlaw_MDThanks so much, Patricia, for letting me feature you on my blog. It has been a pleasure! Friends, please ask questions in the comments section. Know we love them and offer you a virtual hug for being brave and commenting. Do any of you read romance? What is your favorite genre?

TheCowgirlsChristmas_Medium_30k

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in Clara Bowman-Jahn, Clarike Bowman-Jahn, http://www.etreasurespublishing.com/, interview, marketing, social networking, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Clarbojahn Presents! Interview with Marketing Director, Patricia Bates! Part Two.

  1. Very interesting! Thanks Patricia and Clar 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.