Clarbojahn Presents! Interview with Marketing Director, Patricia Bates! Part One.

Hi Readers!

It’s Tuesday again. That wonderful day when it isn’t Monday and the week is still full of promise.  Some of you have noticed that I like to have my interview on Tuesdays.  I am in the middle of doing a promotional series of my own publishing house of eTreasurespublishing by interviewing some of the authors there. Today the Marketing Director has given her time to join us. I feel very lucky to be able to feature her. Her name is Patricia Bates.  Grab your mocha and sit a spell. You’re in for a treat. Her genre is romance and she has written over eight books, four of which I’ll show here today and four  next Tuesday in part two of our interview. (I break it up in two parts because we are all so busy and it’s easier to read this way.) 🙂

Thanks, Patricia. Here’s a start

Claiming Her Dream

Claiming Her Dream

1-    What books are currently published and by who? Can you tell us a little about them?

I have a number of books. All of them are romance books, ranging from 8th Century Ireland to paranormals, contemporaries and m/m titles. Some of them are written under my pen name Elise Whyles and others are under my real name.

A complete list is available on my websites – but here’s an abridged one lol

Master’s Mistress, Love Thy Neighbor, Viscount’s Prize, and Claiming her Dream is through CBG

The Cowgirl’s Christmas is through Beachwalk as well as **The Forsaken Series – a paranormal erotic series featuring ForsakenHeart_Mediummythological creatures and various mythologies

The Preacher’s Outlaw is through Decadent Publishing

**Five Alarm Lust and **Real Good Man are through Liquid Silver Books

Bordering on Love, Sin’s Bite, and **Gillian’s Christmas Wish are all self-pubs. The Books with ** are under Elise Whyles

Phantom’s Pleasure and Firecracker are through Passion in Print

2-    Did you go the traditional route? Or consider self publishing any of them? Why? Why not?

Most of the books are actually published through e-publishers though I have self pubbed a few of them due to length, or inability to find a home due to getting rights reversals. When I started my journey a few years ago I never imagined how much I’d learn and what I would like. 

3- How long does it take to write a book for you from idea to finished product?

It depends entirely on the length and heat level. If it’s a full length novel say around 45k – and I don’t have a deadline staring me in the face – I can punch it out in three months…if I have a deadline I need to get it in by – as little as three weeks. If it’s shorter (something I don’t like to do because as someone who knows me – I’m a word hog) it can take as little as a week.

4- You are the promotional arm for eTreasures publishing are you not? Can you tell us a little bit about this job and what you do?

Its one of the hats I wear here at eTreasures, yes. Promoting a publishing house is a lot different then a single author brand. I’m constantly looking for ways to reach readers of all the genres, using the social media I have available can be tricky but its something I really enjoy. I book things like blog tours, readers groups on fb, and do the newsletter for the house. Looking for review sites, organizing contests, and sales are all part of it. I do work closely with the authors as well, to ensure that they get a chance to promote because marketing can be scary for someone who hasn’t done it before.

5—  How can people get in touch with you? What is the name of your blog and tell us what you blog about?

If people want to get in touch with me they can check out both my websites www.patbatesromances.com orwww.elisewhyles.com. As well they can check out my blogs – http://ofinkandquille.blogspot.com andhttp://charactersandcoffee.blogspot.com

Of Ink and Quille is my blog about a little bit of everything, my writing, my journey, things that I feel strongly about and a spotlight for other authors. Characters and Coffee is my character interview blog..

Patricia Bates, Author and Editor

Patricia Bates, Author and Editor

Patricia’s bio:

Reading has been such a large part of my life. I cut my literary teeth on such author’s as Louis L’Amour, Nora Roberts and Janet Dailey. For me it wasn’t such a jump from reading the wonderful tales these authors’s spun to imagining my own. 

Soon I was writing poetry, short stories and by junior high I’d written my first full length romance novel. Since then I’ve taken my love of history and my passion for writing and combined them into what I hope will continue to prove a successful career. 

Thanks so much, Patricia, for letting me feature you on my blog. It has been a pleasure! Next week we’ll have part two of this interview with Patricia Bates, author and promotional editor of eTreasurespublishing. It is the very same house that published my children’s picture book, “Annie’s Special Day.”

ForsakenParadise_SmallLove thy neighborI bet you didn’t know this house was so diverse, did you? Do you think you might read any of these romances? Why or why not? And we just adore questions so ask away and we’ll meet by the old tree called comments. :)

 

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in Clara Bowman-Jahn, Clarike Bowman-Jahn, http://www.etreasurespublishing.com/, interview, marketing, social networking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Clarbojahn Presents! Interview with Marketing Director, Patricia Bates! Part One.

  1. Patricia wears many hats. Her romance novels look interesting, especially the first one. I wish her success. But, I really enjoyed listening to her advice on marketing. I like to hear different POVs from different agencies.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks, Patricia.

      Same here. I just love hearing different voices and takes on things. It’s good to get out of our boxes once in a while. 🙂

      Like

  2. Hi Patricia,
    Marketing is something that I think everyone can have fun with. If you have any questions let me know and I’ll be happy to answer them.

    Like

  3. John Doody says:

    Patricia,
    Where do you find the time?

    Like

    • lol Honestly, I’m not sure. On average I’m at the computer anywhere from 6 to 12 hours – however, I do make myself close it on ‘family day’ I think it helps to be doing something you love 🙂

      Like

  4. norma bronson says:

    I have a question , with life changing every day for us all ,do you include theses changes in your writing , do you find this helps put you in the right frame of mind when deciding real from fiction ,do the characters come to life with a bit of reality , I no when iam reading this is how i see them ,I think wow that could have been me , lol ,

    Like

    • Hi Norma,
      To some extent yes. If there’s something major happening in my life, making it happen in the book and giving it a better outcome, or the character its happening to more control is almost therapuetic for me. Doesn’t always mean art immitates life…but it is an outlet for me.

      Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Welcome to my blog, Norma.

      Thanks so much for visiting, come back any time. 🙂

      Like

  5. Margot Finke says:

    Interesting interview, even for someone like me, who writes picture books and young teen adventures. Thanks for the insights Patricia. I pinned it to my Pinterest “Interviews and More” board.

    Books for Kids – Manuscript Critiques
    http://www.margotfinke.com

    Like

Comments are closed.