Perfect Picture Book Friday/The Three Golden Keys

Hi Friends,

Here are a few links as my gift for you.

http://janefriedman.com/2012/12/29/how-long-to-get-published/

Just like the site says it is an article on how long till you get published. And all the pitfalls in there.

http://www.writersdigest.com/editor-blogs/there-are-no-rules/5-new-years-resolutions-for-writers

 One of Writer’s Digest 101 best web sites, here are the new years resolutions. And as the one most known: keep but in chair. Write at least 100 words a day taking only an hour and you’ll have a novel by the end of a year. Where are the rules for picture books?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-I-Word-ebook/dp/B00B14ATJG/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1358349896&sr=1-1

Where I’m published!! Yes!! Fine Line Anthology published my 100 word essay on Words That Inspire that I wrote and submitted last year and here it is. If you have a Kindle you can read it. unfortunately I only have a NOOK so I’ll just sit back and wait till the next expenditure on a Kindle. But *Yay*, right? This is an accomplishment that I can be proud of.

I’m mentioned in Cher Green’s blog “Footsteps of a Writer” for ideas of how to engage my reader. Cher has often mentioned my answers to writer questions she has.

http://chergreen.blogspot.com/2013/01/voices-of-fiction-getting-readers_29.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+blogspot%2FFootsteps+%28Footsteps+of+a+Writer+-+Cher+Green%29&utm_content=Yahoo%21+Mail#.UQkyikllHng

Hi again friends, as I get to the meat of my post. Last week I featured Peter Sis’s book on Galileo and this week it’s a book he wrote for his youngest daughter. He didn’t know how else to share his childhood and wrote a picture book for her for when she was ready to explore it.

61OtJ-XJMXL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU01_

PPBF/The Three Golden Keys

Author/Illustrator: Peter Sis

Appropriate for ages: Seven on up

Resources: The authors own website http://www.petersis.com/content/golden_keys.html

And specific to teacher guides are http://www.petersis.com/content/madlenka_teachers_guide.html.

Just for fun  I’ll tell you a joke that happened to me as I was searching through google for teacher guides on the Three Golden Keys. If you want to learn about potty training a pit bull there are the three keys on how to do it. Lol      http://www.buzzle.com/articles/how-to-potty-train-a-pitbull.html. Isn’t that funny!! 🙂

Themes: Myths, fairy tales, European tales, Adventure, discovery, dreams, educational, history, growing up, geographic, cities, imagination, lost childhood, magic, memory, historical fiction, seasons, and  tall tales. 

First Three sentences:

“Madeleine…

A wild and turbulent storm took control of my hot-air balloon and sent far off course. When the storm finally calmed, I found myself floating toward the spires of a big city. I did not have time to wonder about the city, as my balloon was rapidly losing air.”

What the Jacket says: “A man in a hot-air balloon is blown off course in a violent storm, landing in the city of his childhood. He finds the way to his old home, but he house is dark, with three rusty padlocks on the door. He knows he must find the keys that will let him in. A black cat with magic eyes appears and leads the man through the lonely, silent streets in search of the keys. Three times they come to a special place from his childhood, three times the seasons change, and three times an old Czech legend is revealed to them. To each legend a golden key is attached. So , with three golden keys in hand, the man opens the padlocks on the door of his childhood home and the deserted city comes alive…Or is it just the magic cat playing tricks?”

Why I loved it:  In my exploration of Peter Sis books I came across this one. Because it starts out like a dream and is dreamy and magical all throughout I was drawn in. Peter Sis very clearly makes all the illustrations dreamy and magical of ten having images overlaying each other and coming out of the margins or other images just like in dreams. This book is part memoir and part travel log.

And as my friend Beth Stillborn says. “Every Friday, bloggers join together to share picture book reviews and resources, thanks to author Susanna Leonard Hill’s brainchild, “Perfect Picture Book Fridays.” Susanna then adds the books (and links to the reviews) to a comprehensive listing by subject on her blog. Find the entire listing at her “Perfect Picture Books.”

Have a Greeaat Weekend!!

Peter Sis Speaking at the 40th Annual Conferen...

Peter Sis Speaking at the 40th Annual Conference on Children’s Literature, University of Georgia (Photo credit: theunquietlibrarian)

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in blogging, Clara Bowman-Jahn, Clarike Bowman-Jahn, Course or Book Review, marketing, Perfect Picture Book Friday, social networking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Perfect Picture Book Friday/The Three Golden Keys

  1. Thank you, Clar for the links you have provided for us. I have Jane and Writers Digest “on tap” so I loved those. Yes you certainly can be proud of your story. No matter where its published it is still a great achievement. Yay You!
    Loved your dreamy book, great choice for PPBF, and also I love anything to do with travel. Speaking of which, I will be missing for a few weeks as I fly off to South America for a much needed holiday. See ya when I get back. Ciao!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      We’ll miss you while you’re gone but hope you have a fabulous time. We’ll be here when you return. Have fun!! 🙂

      So glad to have a fellow Jane Friedman fan aboard.

      Yes, I think you’ll love this book, too. 🙂

      Like

  2. Catherine Johnson says:

    Thanks for the links, Clar. It’s great that you are in one! The book sounds perfectly magical too :0)

    Like

  3. This book sounds very original and interesting and lovely, and also like it might have some of that old folktale flavor that I love. Peter Sis is amazing. Thank you for sharing this one – I’d like to read it!

    Like

  4. Thanks, Clar, for the links and this PPB recommendation. The art looks amazing…I like line art, and story intriguing.

    Like

  5. Stacy S. Jensen says:

    Another great one. I like studying multiple books from authors. My son just likes reading them.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Ha ha! Great comment, Stacy.

      I guess that’s the way it is with me. I read them for fun the first time then take another careful look. And with these author/illustrator combos it’s amazing what they do. 🙂

      Like

  6. Joanna says:

    Sis always manages such DEPTH in both his text and illustrations. Love it!

    Like

  7. As I have mentioned before, I am intrigued with Peter’s books, and, if I remember right, he is Slavic…like me. Hey, congrats on your publication, Clare! How exciting…

    Like

  8. What a great find and selection. Yes, it does sound like there is a lot of depth to Sis’ books. This one really intrigues me. Want to read it.
    Thanks for the links.

    Like

  9. Rosi says:

    Nice review. It sounds like a really fun book for the older picture book crowd. Thanks. And also thanks for the links.

    Like

  10. This is a definite I-must-get-this-book!
    Thank you for a wonderful review that makes me have to read it, Clar.
    And congrats…I will check out the links you provided. You know, you can use your computer to read books that are on Kindle…you don’t actually need a Kindle. Amazon has a free program you can download.:)

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks, Vivian.

      Yes, I am aware of that. Once I had a KIndle installed on my PC and read books there but something happened to the download and I don’t have it anymore. I have a Nook now and don’t miss it much. I get tired of reading on the computer. I like the paper kind of books. I don’t even read much on my Nook even though there’s a wonderful novel on there waiting for me. I read everything else first. 🙂

      Like

  11. Oh! I really like the feel of this book. Even tho it’s a magical CAT! I’ll have to look this one up. And it looks like i might need to look into more of Mr Sis! Thanks for the review and Congratulations on your publication!

    Like

  12. Amazing cover illustration! 😀 The story sounds very interesting and like one I would really get into!

    Like

  13. This book looks fabulous! Thank you for sharing, Clar. (I’m late in my PPBF comments this time, sorry!)

    Like

Comments are closed.