A Gun for a Toddler: A National Rifle Association Event

.alt._TheyaresoPrecious.alt._

THEY ARE SO PRECIOUS!!

HI Friends!

 I’m going to break my break with a guest post. Recent events have brought me out of hiding.  Today we have a special guest post from my husb., Ed Jahn. He’s got something he wants to say to you. A story with a moral. Welcome! Ed! 

A Gun for a Toddler: A National Rifle Association Event

News of the latest mass shooting reminded me of an event in my life.

My son Karl, who was then a toddler still in diapers, was visiting his grandfather – who was a lifetime member of the National Rife Association, and avid gun collector. We grownups were sitting around the living room having causal conversation. Down the stairs came my son, carrying a 38 revolver. Which was loaded.

Grandfather took the gun away, but did not then or later do anything to unload, or lock up, or put his guns out of reach. Maybe it’s not quite fair to say that he cared more for his guns than for his grandchild – but he certainly had no real concern for child safety. (We didn’t stop visiting him after that, but we watched our children much more carefully when we did.)

This for me sums up the National Rife Association. Among its members, I’m sure, there are those who do care about children. But for the true believers like Karl’s grandfather – the people who decide the policies of the organization – it’s about promoting guns, no matter who might get hurt.

This blog usually deals with all things writing but we have felt sad since the Sandy Hook Elementary School Event. Since I still have life construction going on and will for some time, I thought this an apt topic to bring up. Our deepest condolences go to the families of Sandy Hook Elementary. And all those who have lost children in gun shootings of any kind. 

Gun control is one of our top wishes this Christmas along with better prevention for Mental Illness. How do you feel about this topic? If you weigh in at the comments I would greatly appreciate it. 

Now after today you may not see me blog till January 4th, in the new year 2013. Happy Holidays everyone! And Happy New Year! 🙂

Generic Cartoon For the NRA

Generic Cartoon

Candles.alt._restinpeace.alt_.

Sandy Hook Elementary Angels

Sandy Hook Elementary Angels (Photo credit: ladytimeless)

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in Cartoon, Clara Bowman-Jahn, Clarike Bowman-Jahn, Faith Journey, guest post, personal growth and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A Gun for a Toddler: A National Rifle Association Event

  1. Margot Finke says:

    I am with you and your husband 100%.
    Grandpa needs his head examined. People like this only wake up after a gun has done something terrible to a member of their family – and maybe not even then. Kids versus guns – no contest!! KID SAFETY FIRST! Not to mention the safety of the rest of us.

    Books for Kids + My FREE Book Catalog
    http://tinyurl.com/d8ppylg

    Like

  2. Margot Finke says:

    Clar, I also added your post to the Interviews and Interesting Posts on my Pinterest board.

    Margot Finke

    http://www.matgotfinke.com

    Like

  3. Clar…this was a wonderful post! Maybe your husband will guest post again…he writes well and passionately.:)
    Gun control/gun safety are important issues whether or not there are children in the home. And mental illness needs to be treated just like any other illness…seriously and with immediacy.
    I’ll link this post to the one I did: http://viviankirkfield.wordpress.com/2012/12/19/newtown-tragedy-how-do-we-move-forward/

    Like

  4. Pingback: Newtown Tragedy…How Do We Move Forward? « Positive Parental Participation

  5. Darlene says:

    I am happy to read some relevant and clear headed thoughts on this topic. I wish you and your dear husband a very Happy and Peaceful Christmas.

    Like

  6. Widdershins says:

    Couldn’t agree more … how many children will it take?

    And Merry Christmas to you both.

    Like

  7. Your hubby did a great job
    Merry Christmas to you both

    Like

  8. Ms. Yingling says:

    How sad is it that I thought briefly that allowing LIBRARIANS to be trained and armed who would allow all schools to HAVE a librarian. More guns is not the answer. Great post.

    Like

Comments are closed.