Perfect Picture Book Friday / Prairie Christmas

Hi Friends!

Now you know I have to start with news, so get your mocha and settle in. I’ve waited for a long time before showing you this and it’s good!

How do you like my new book trailer? WOOT!!                                                                

Image representing Woot as depicted in CrunchBase

Image via CrunchBase

http://youtu.be/tPsLf6jNylk  

Thanks Lightning Books Promotion! I love it!

And if you didn’t see it on Tuesday, I’m on Amazon now, too. Hurray!!

http://www.amazon.com/Annies-Special-Day-Clara-Bowman-Jahn/dp/1937809218/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1354585784&sr=8-1&keywords=Annie%27s+Special+Day

Woot!! Hoot!!

And now for an about face.

What Rosi Hollinbeck, one amazing author does, and I would like to do on a regular basis, is show links that have been helpful to me the previous week. All it takes is some thoughtfulness. http://rosihollinbeckthewritestuff.blogspot.com/

Here’s a start on my giving sites that have helped me this week. This one is about your Amazon author page.

http://www.savvyauthors.com/vb/content.php?2403-13-Ways-to-Maximize-Your-Amazon-Presence-and-Make-Amazon-Work-for-You-by-Laura-Kaye

Here’s another on how to make your blog post’s title stand out. Don’t be taken in by this title though.

http://southernwritersmagazine.blogspot.com/2012/12/kate-middleton-is-expecting.html?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter

Let’s see if I can meet this goal in the New Year.

Now I hope you have your Mocha, and that’s it hot because here, finally, is the show stopper! 🙂

Prairie Christmas.alt_book coverPerfect Picture Book Friday / Prairie Christmas

Title: Prairie Christmas

Author and Illustrator: Elizabeth Van Steenwyk/ Ronald Himler

What the Jacket says: Eleven-year-old Emma is disappointed when she learns her mother has to deliver a baby on Christmas Day. But when she arrives with Mama at the house, Emma realizes she isn’t the only on whose Christmas has been interrupted. Young Hansie and Will are sad about missing the holiday and anxious about their new sibling’s arrival. Overcoming her own feelings of frustration, Emma works to create a special Christmas that the two young children won’t forget.

With warm pencil-and-watercolor illustrations, this Christmas story offers a glimpse of life on the prairie in the 1880’s.And, like Emma, young readers will be reminded that easing someone else’s pain can often help ease their own.

Published in 2006 by Eerdmons Books for Young Readers, fiction

Themes: Christmas , Mothers and daughters, doctors, prairies, relationships, co-operation, working together, Self control, Self esteem, Self worth, reassurance, comfort, problem solving, kindness, compassion, generosity, Historical Fiction, helping others , kindness, growing up,

Suitable for: Grades one through four

Resources: Look here for homemade gifts you can make with your child. http://www.raisingarrows.net/2012/11/a-little-house-on-the-prairie-christmas/

You may have to hunt a little but http://teach.simonandschuster.net/4-6 has many kinds of teacher guides for all their books. Most resources I found were for Laura Wilder’s Little House on the Prairie and I wasn’t sure if it was kosher to put them here but here is one: http://littlehouseteachersguides.blogspot.com/2008/10/little-house-on-prairie-chapter-guides.html

First sentences: A knock on the door wakes me in the night. I listen as Mama opens it.

“I’m John Cooper, a neighbor of the Van Der Meers,” a man says. “They say to hurry because their baby is coming.”

“It’s too soon.” I hear the worry in Mama’s voice as she closes the door.

Why I Love it: Because it’s about a woman doctor in the 1880’s and shows how a ten year old girl helps the siblings by taking their mind off their worries and the birthing mother. She celebrates the spirit of Christmas by helping the siblings decorate their tree with strands of horse hair and ribbons. At first she is upset because she realizes her Christmas plans have been derailed. Then she sees the younger siblings and realizes they aren’t having much of a Christmas either. She makes Christmas pudding because they didn’t get dinner and soon is offering comfort and sharing her lap with them.  Emma sings songs to lighten the sounds of birthing and the cries of the baby bring a lump in my throat as I realize the baby is here and is OK. This the perfect story for new families and mothers and daughters everywhere. Especially at Christmas.

As Robyn (http://robyn-campbell.blogspot.com/2012/03/perfect-picture-book-friday_16.html) says “Go check out more favorite picture books over at Susanna Leonard Hill’s house. You’ll be glad ya did.

Have a safe and lovely weekend, y’all. Xoxo”

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in blogging, Clara Bowman-Jahn, Clarike Bowman-Jahn, Perfect Picture Book Friday, social networking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Perfect Picture Book Friday / Prairie Christmas

  1. joanna says:

    I absolutely love the new book trailer and congrats for being on Amazon, Clar! I do love historical fictional picture books and this sounds like a Laura Ingalls Wilder book for the younger set! Yay, indeed, to a nineteenth century female doctor! And what an adorable message. I have a friend in Canada who is already a week overdue with her third and I know she’d love this. I will get to see the newborn for Christmas so I may try and pick up a copy for them!

    Like

  2. Great links Clar! I agree with Joanna, reminded me of Little House right away. Sweet pick!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      yes! many of the resources were of Little House on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder. I felt like I was plagiarizing when I used them but I kept one above.

      Thanks, Julie. 🙂

      Like

  3. Congrats on the promotion of your new book. How exciting, Clare! Love this book…it’s lots of good themes rolled into one big gift. Thanks for sharing it…

    Like

  4. I love period pieces. There is something heartwarming about Christmas on a prairie. Like you choce.

    And, I love your new video trailer. Posted it yesterday on my blog with my review of the book and interview with you! Sounds like you’re having fun!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks, Patricia. I am having fun!!

      Some of my hard earned goals are coming true. Some I couldn’t do by myself but had to rely on others for. Thanks for promoting me.

      Glad you like the book, too. 🙂

      Like

  5. Rosi says:

    Wow. Thanks for the shout out! And thanks for the links and review. I’ve never seen this book, but I’m going to find it now. Congrats on your Amazon listing and very cute trailer.

    Like

  6. Oh this book sounds wonderful! I will look for it next time at the library. I love the themes in it. Thanks for adding it to the PPBF list.

    Like

  7. Wonderful Clar – congrats!!! Love the jazzy piano background, too. I like the sounds of your PPB pick. I’m a big historical fiction fan and this sounds like a winner.

    Like

  8. Margot Finke says:

    Prairie Christmas sounds like the perfect Holiday gift book. The cover is just darling. Your Annie Trailer was a surprise. A real hoot!!

    Books for Kids + FREE Book Catalog
    http://tinyurl.com/d8ppylg

    Like

  9. Widdershins says:

    Lovely book trailer! Congratulations 😀

    Like

  10. Love your new trailer (and I was bopping in my chair to the beat of that jazzy happy birthday!)

    This book sounds wonderful. I know my mum would have loved it, too, as her mother acted as midwife for many women in their farming area (in the 1920s, but still…) Thanks for introducing it to us!

    Like

  11. Loved your book trailer, very cute. This is a lovely book review and like Joanna, reminded me of Little House on the Prairie, also the tv program Medicine Woman. Lovely message, thanks for sharing Clar.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Oh, I’ve got to look for that TV program. Maybe it’s on Netflix now. I love medical things seeming as I was a nurse in my previous life.

      Thanks for the good word about my trailer. 🙂

      Like

  12. Enjoyed your book trailer – congratulations!
    Prairie Christmas sounds like a combinations of Little House on the Prairie and Dr. Quinn Medicine Woman.

    Like

  13. Congrats on the trailer! Great PPBF choice too! I like the opening and message. 🙂

    Like

  14. Barbara says:

    The book sounds beautiful.
    Congratulations to you, Clar!

    Like

  15. This looks like a thoroughly lovely book! I don’t know much about birthing babies, but i like hearing about kids looking out for younger kids. Thanks for sharing this one. I’ll be looking for it. And your trailer is great! Congratulations!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks, RWR! I appreciate the good word.

      Both about my trailer and about the PPBF pick. This book is magical with a little girl making Christmas for even littler kids. 🙂

      Like

  16. This sounds like a heart-warming tale that will remind all of us of what the season is all about. And congrats on making Amazon, etc. WOOT!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Woot! I can’t stop being excited! Thanks so much. 🙂

      Yes, this book does remind us what Christmas is all about. Giving of ourselves. 🙂 Making the day magical for the younger set. 🙂 and love. 🙂

      Like

  17. This sounds lovely, Clar, and I got a lump in my throat just reading your description, so I’d probably need the whole box of kleenex to actually read it 🙂 I love that it’s historical – a really different take on Christmas. Thanks so much for adding this one to our list!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks so much, Susanna.

      So glad you liked it. I know when you read the whole book you will feel exactly that way. I love historical fiction, too, and am so glad I found it. 🙂

      Like

  18. This sounds great, and I love the fact that it is a picture book for older readers. We need more of those!

    Like

Comments are closed.