Perfect Picture Book Friday/ The Penguin Lady

Hi Friends

Go get your hot coffee or hot cocoa and come back for the news and the PPBF of the day.

 This past Tuesday I was on Pembroke’s blog as her meet the author Tuesday: http://pembrokesinclair.blogspot.com/2012/11/meet-author-tuesday.html

And for my own blog I interviewed Carol Cole the author of our very own PPBF today, last Tuesday as part one on Clarbojahn Presents! And will do again next Tuesday on part two.

As for the news about my book signing last Friday, I sold five books of Annie’s Special Day in an hour and half till I called it a night.  I was asked back for another time. The owners of “Books and Other Found Things” are two of the nicest people I have met in a long time.

As I write this on Wednesday I am preparing for teaching a clock craft project to the five-year olds at A Neighborhood Learning Center  tomorrow and do a reading of “Annie’s Special Day” to all three, four and five-year olds. I’m getting excited about this and will let you know how it goes.

And in other news of the day, which in my scatter brained way I forgot to add was where I’m going to be next week. On tour with my blogging friends. I don’t want you to miss it. 

My blog tour of my friends in blogging:

http://childrensbooksheal.com/author/phtilton/ a book review and Q&A by the author of “Annie’s Special Day” on November 12th

https://clarbojahn.wordpress.com/ a post from “Annie’s Special Day”  illustrator, Claudia Wolf on November 13th 

http://joannamarple.com/  the illustrator story of “Annie’s Special Day” from Clara’s side. on November 14th

http://stacysjensen.blogspot.com/  author Clara Bowman-Jahn’s publishing story of  “Annie’s Special Day” on November 15th

http://susannahill.blogspot.com/  the idea to story by Clara Bowman-Jahn of “Annie’s Special Day” on November 19th

 

So grab a refill and grab your chocolate donut and read the PPBF of today.

Book Cover for The Penguin Lady
A children’s picture counting book

Title:The Penguin Lady

Author: Carol  Cole// illustrated by Sherry Rogers

Publisher:Sylvan Dell publishing, 2012

What Carol said about her book: The Penguin Lady is a counting book for preschool through second grade children.  It features Penelope Parker who loves penguins.  Her brother sends her one Galápagos penguin for her birthday and she gradually acquires 10 different species of penguins from all over the southern hemisphere. She eventually winds up with 55 penguins all over her house and yard.  Younger children will enjoy having the story read to them. Beginning readers will be able to read the story themselves and learn about the different penguins. The back of the book has 4 pages of learning activities including a map of the world showing where the penguins live.  Sylvan Dell, the publisher also has created a 52 page teacher’s guide for the book that can be downloaded from their website: http://www.sylvandellpublishing.com/bookpage.php?id=116

Resources:  The back of the book has 4 pages of learning activities including a map of the world showing where the penguins live.  Sylvan Dell, the publisher also has created a 52 page teacher’s guide for the book that can be downloaded from their website: http://www.sylvandellpublishing.com/bookpage.php?id=116

Why I love it: The illustrations are mostly in black and white the color of penguins, the penguin lady is a delightful character collecting penguins like cats and the end of book has a nice  twist. As a preschool counting tool it meets the standard of teaching numbers one through ten in the guise of a story. It is a delight to read and I’m sure preschoolers will delight in counting the penguins as they turn the pages. They will laugh at the twist at the end.

I am so glad  Carol Cole will be here to answer any questions in the comments.

Please join Susanna Leonard Hill at her blog and visit Perfect Picture Books   for lists, one on themes and one that’s alphabetized for easy selection of that perfect book for your child or for your pleasure. All of them have teacher guides and resource guides for easy discussion or class plans.

Do you think you will like this book?

My all time fav blogs for writers. I stole this list from Robert Brewer on his blog called “My Name is not Bob” also one of my favorites. And if you click on any of these excellent blogs you’ll see the quality I speak of. So go ahead and enjoy ( with another cup of mocha). I could stop here and read all day!

And the Writer’s Digest blogs

Someday I’ll update my blogroll. Meanwhile please consider this list an update.

Are you up to date on your blog roll or does it need help like mine?

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in blogging, Clara Bowman-Jahn, Clarike Bowman-Jahn, Course or Book Review, Perfect Picture Book Friday, social networking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Perfect Picture Book Friday/ The Penguin Lady

  1. Wow! some serious reading and surfing coming up. Love your choice for PPBF Clar, very educational and endearing.
    Umm… yeah, I’m guilty as charged, my blogroll is certainly not up to date. Intend working on it over the Christmas break.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Every intention comes and goes for me. I just spent the greater part of a day figuring out how to put the image of the PiBoIdMo up on my sidebar. lol .

      So glad you like my selection, Diane. 🙂

      Like

  2. The Penguin Lady sounds like a fun and educational book, Clar! Thanks for adding it to our list. Who doesn’t love penguins? 🙂

    Like

  3. Stacy S. Jensen says:

    Wow. That’s a huge resource for the book. Since I have a toddler, who likes to count, well, we’re getting this book soon! Congrats on selling books! I hope you had a great time with the craft. I’m sure that’s a learning experience. I learn something every time we attend a local storytime – behavior, skill level, attention. 🙂

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Yes, to all the above. Behavior, skill level and attention. I had the kids say the bongs with my at the midnight mark and just as it got too cute for words, they didn’t stop saying them. haha.

      So glad you will be getting this counting book. I’m sure Enzo will enjoy it. And you! 🙂

      Like

  4. You have certainly been busy…but, a fun busy! I love penguins, so I know I would enjoy this book. I had the pleasure of visiting Tombo in Patagonia, which had a penguin reserve. Nothing like having them walking around a few feet in from of you and watching them feet their hungry babies!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      That sounds so special, Jarm. So glad were able to have that experience!

      I like reserves where the animals are in their own habitat and not caged up like in zoos don’t you? 🙂
      Thanks for sharing this fun story about yourself. 🙂

      Like

  5. Penguins and counting. What a fun combination. I’m adding it to my list!

    Like

  6. Penguins just seem to grab ones attention and imagination. This looks like a fun book. Adding it to my list.

    Like

  7. Oh, this counting book sounds like a fun and educational book for a young 6-year-old I know. Thanks! Your review/interview is set for Monday and ready to go.

    Like

  8. Richa Jha says:

    I second Penny’s comment: Penguins and counting! We have a winner even before we’ve gone on to page 1!

    And what a massive resource you have here, Clarike, awesome!

    Like

  9. Sounds like this is right up our iceberg..Looks delightful. My dad actually saw penguins in the wild when he was at the South Pole.

    Like

  10. Widdershins says:

    Congratulations on your book sales! . . . Did you get to autograph them?

    . . . Hot cocoa is definitely the drink of the moment now that Autumn has decided She’s heading straight into winter!

    Like

  11. Micki Peluso says:

    THis sounds like a winner–who doesn’t lke oenguins–Hmm, seems like I said this before–well it bears saying again!!

    Like

  12. Have to get this book for my aunt (a penguin fan)!

    Like

  13. I’m always looking for penguin books! And counting books! Most of the kids I read with LOVE counting books the absolute most! So this one looks great! Thanks! And I don’t even know what the blogroll is or does.

    Like

  14. Laura Renauld says:

    My son learned today that their is such thing as a Macaroni Penguin. He thought this was hysterical. I think he’d enjoy this book. And thanks for the fabulous blog list!

    Like

  15. Hi Clar,
    Your post was chock full of goodies today. Congratulations on selling your books.
    Yes, my blog roll is up-to-date for now. I’m always adding a few here and there.
    Thanks for adding all those terrific links. I’ll be sure to check them out.
    I’m looking forward to the second installment of Carol Cole’s interview too! 🙂

    Like

  16. Judith says:

    Clara so happy to see all your successes…sending hugs. Judith

    Like

Comments are closed.