Halloweensie Contest- Stacey’s Big Scare!

HI Friends,

Here I am for a special occasion. Yep, it’s not Tuesday or Friday so that could only mean one thing. Something special has come up. Susanna Leonard Hill is hosting a writing contest on her blog and I thought it would be fun to take part.

Here’s the link

:0

And can you believe how long?

Whew! Lol!

Here’s what she said:

“The Contest:  write a 100 word Halloween story appropriate for children (title not included in the 100 words), using the words witchbat, and “trick-or-treat.   Your story can be scary, funny or anything in between, poetry or prose, but it will only count for the contest if it includes those 3 words and is 100 words (you can go under, but not over!)  Get it?  Halloweensie – because it’s not very long and it’s for little people 🙂

Post your story on your blog on Wednesday October 31 and link up here (and I’m really hoping we don’t get 2 feet of snow that knocks out the power and the internet this year!!!)”

NOPE, some of us didn’t get snow or power outages but many people did. How did you fare in the Frankenstorm? 🙂  We just had branches down. On Monday morning before the worst wind my husband and I went out and cleared leaves and mud from our very steep and long driveway gullies to prevent corrosion damage since we live in rural VA down a mountain. No flooding here but branches are down. Now we’re settled in with warm lemonade spiked with cinnamon sticks. Having fun reading and relaxing. I wrote this Monday after hearing a Red Cross rep say not to burn candles because of fire hazard. (I have one burning just for fun, right now though.) 🙂

Stacy’s Big Scare

The wind howled, the branches shook. Under her blanket, Stacey’s knees shook, too. She smelled sulfur. Were the candles blown out before she went to bed?

Outside someone cried “FIRE!” Getting up she saw smoke. Her neighbors shouted to jump down from the window. It looked awful far. But she spied the tree branch and climbed down.

Collapsing on the wet ground she found her cat, she saw her parents. She cried with relief. Realizing she had everything she needed to make her happy, no amount of Halloween witches, bats or trick and treats could make this Halloween scarier.

The end

My story was 98 words long not counting the title. (Which I kept changing 🙂 )  Hope you go through the blog hop and enjoy the contest! And I’ll see you back here Friday for my Perfect Picture Book Friday on a historical fiction picture book.

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in blogging, Clara Bowman-Jahn, Clarike Bowman-Jahn, social networking, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Halloweensie Contest- Stacey’s Big Scare!

  1. Catherine Johnson says:

    That was real life spooky, Clar! Take care!

    Like

  2. I’m glad to hear you’ve fared the storm well (and I need to try warm lemonade!). I bet the story would be great to expand for a fire-safety ms too.

    Like

  3. Hi Clar, I posted a story for this fun contest. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  4. Happy Halloween! Do be careful with those candles. I once saw a birthday cake set fire to paper streamers…pretty scary end to an otherwise happy event!

    Like

  5. Glad you safe and enjoying such wonderful treats as warm lemonade spiked with cinnamon sticks!That sounds yummy.

    Good story! That would be the scariest kind of Halloween.

    Like

  6. That is scary. We’re staying safe with battery operated candles for our pumpkins.

    Like

  7. I’m always in awe how our everyday lives spark a story.
    I chuckled when I saw the required words plugged into the last sentence.Great job, Clar!
    And don’t forget to blow out your candle. 🙂 Did you write the story based on Stacy Jensen? LOL

    Like

  8. That was scary for real! I just had to go outside and blow out one of our pumpkins that was smoking…maybe the battery operated candles for us next year.

    Like

  9. Wow, Clar, very scary! Crazy that you wrote it before the real life stuff happened… do you have a 6th sense? 🙂 I’m reading entry after entry and being continually amazed at how good they all are and how very different from each other – none that I’ve read so far have been anything like this. Thanks for a great entry, and so glad you suffered only minor damage and came through Sandy all right! 🙂

    Like

  10. Laura Renauld says:

    Clar, I think we have things like Halloween to give us safe and silly ways to “be scared.” Real life can be so much scarier. Thanks for posting!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Yes, especially with this storm. I almost didn’t post this because of it. It was just too realistic and did happen to too many people. I guess I missed the real meaning of Halloween. 🙂

      Like

  11. jannatwrites says:

    This is a good reminder to us all – better watch those candles! This would be scarier than any Halloween prank, that’s for sure!

    Like

  12. I’m glad this wasn’t based on personal experience! Enjoy your warm lemonade with cinnamon sticks – yum!

    Like

  13. I love that you wrote a realistic fiction story! Great entry! 🙂

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks for your kind words, Erik. I was so afraid of posting it because it was too realistic and it was before we learned about those eighty houses in NYC. So sad about them. My heart goes out to them. 🙂

      Like

  14. That is spooky, no candles burning here today.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Yes, unfortunately it is spooky and real. My heart goes out to the NYC town that lost eighty of their homes. I did’nt know about those when I posted. I think I may have missed the real meaning of Halloween.

      Thanks for visiting and stopping by. 🙂

      Like

  15. What a great story of the value of life. The spookiest stories are the ones that are realistic. You did a great job at filling this with emotion in such few words.

    Like

  16. Yum…warm lemonade and cinnamon sticks…I’ll be right over. 🙂
    I love this story, Clar…so realistic and I agree that it could easily be expanded to be a fire-safety type story…or a story to help kids who lose everything due to disasters.
    BTW…thanks for the book info…I purchased my copy today…I’m so excited because I want to use it in my school program…I think it will be perfect!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      I can’t wait to hear about how you used it and what the children thought of it. Thanks so much for sharing with me and for sharing my book. I’m so intrigued! 🙂

      Thanks for your kind words on my story. I did cut a lot off and it was a lot better before the cutting. 🙂

      Like

  17. Fun post. I enjoyed this year’s Halloween. I miss the actual 31st but we celebrated it on the 28th at the town center. I had to work Halloween and take care of the post Halloween blues from to much sweets.

    Like

Comments are closed.