Lucketts Fair, My First Book Signing Event

HOPEHi Friends!

Visited at Storee Wryter’s blog Monday on how I started writing http://storeewryter.blogspot.com/2012/10/guest-blogger-clara-bowman-jahn.html?utm. I hope you enjoy it.

I’ve been meaning to publish this post for a while now. It’s about happier times this past summer. It was during a much smaller storm than this Frankenstorm we are having now. Many of you are in the worst of Sandy’s Hurricane.  Wind and rain coming down now at it’s worst. I hope all of you are staying dry and warm. And I hope you have electricity.  I’ll tell you about my first book signing event for Annie’s Special Day, called Lucketts Fair. Lucketts is a very small town not too far from my home. It honors itself with a fair each summer’s end.

The highest point on August 19th was not selling my books because I only sold one before we got rained out, but meeting Carol Cole, author of The Penguin Lady.  I feel like I have a new friend. We exchanged emails addresses and she said she would love to be on my blog  This Friday I’m writing a review of The Penguin Lady for Perfect Picture Book Friday on my blog hop and I’ll be posting an interview with her next week on “Clarbojahn Presents,” .

Now I know what my mentor, Bobbi Carducci, meant when she said net working is just as important as selling books at signing events. I had a grand time at Lucketts Fair. My husband, (who I’ve dubbed as my agent) and I were only there for an hour and a half before getting rained out. I was taking a bathroom break when it started to rain. The other authors in the tent had been tracking the storm on their phone apps and those of us that didn’t have the fancy phones saw the clouds coming in the distance. We could see the streaks of rain going from the clouds to the ground.

The fair grounds had all but become deserted. Some of the vendors were leaving, too. As soon as I got back to the Readers Garden, where my display and my husband were, I started packing up. We left in pouring rain. It came down harder and harder as we made our way to our pick up truck. While Ed tied my chair to the back I packed myself and the suitcase full with the display stuff into the cab.

After Ed came into the cab with me we just sat there for awhile watching the down pour and drying our glasses off. It came down so hard we were thankful that we had made it into the truck when we did.

Since everyone else had already driven off we had an easy time of getting out to the parking lot. The police were still out directing traffic at the road and we didn’t have to wait. We drove out of the storm on the way home, saw it was very local, and took our walk along the W and O trail like we so often do. It felt grand to put two miles behind us, the air cool from the rain.

I was pretty ecstatic, having sold a book, meeting a nice person and escaping the rain. Tell me of your book events in the comments, OK? As you can see this qualifies as another post of maneuvering through my life. This Friday I’ll have my second book signing event at Book’s and Other Found Things for First Friday Leesburg. I’m excited to see what happens.

Do you ever go to First Friday book signings and buy a book? Or events like Lucketts Fair and buy books? Or do you just wander through enjoying the crowds.

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in Clara Bowman-Jahn, Clarike Bowman-Jahn, marketing, personal growth, travels, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Lucketts Fair, My First Book Signing Event

  1. When I go to book fairs, I usually end up buying more books than I sell, but I meet some great people!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      That’s what I found with Lucketts but met some great people. 🙂 We ended up trading books, too.

      This Friday will find me at another autographing event. 🙂
      We’ll see how that turns out. 🙂

      Like

  2. I enjoyed reading about your adventure at the fair. I’m sure you would have sold more books if it didn’t rain. But I think you know the reason you were meant to be there was to meet the Penguin Lady. All the best for Friday’s book signing. Can’t wait to read it. I’ll also check out your link at the top. 🙂

    Like

  3. Sounds like a bit of an adventure, Clar, but no matter what you will always remember your first book signing! I always feel like if I sell one book it was worth the trip 🙂 But once I didn’t sell any, and that was hard! Hope your upcoming visit is a big success!

    Like

  4. Stacy S. Jensen says:

    I hope you remain ok after Sandy. A book sale and a new writer friend. Sounds heavenly. I’m not always a fan of rain. I like watching it, but try to stay dry.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Actually I’ve enjoyed the storm except for being without power for fifteen minutes! Just enough to scare me. lol. It made me realize how very lucky we’ve been. Course now in aftermath I see that. Then it was quick double time to get the extra water and flashlights out. 🙂
      Glad you are OK, too. 🙂

      Like

  5. What fun to read about your book event, Clar! So sorry about the rain…but Mother Nature has her own calendar. 😉 I’ve had several book events and signings…and my experiences mirror yours…as well as others I’ve spoken to…unless the event place really advertises like crazy, there isn’t usually a lot of foot traffic…and most people are NOT going to buy books…except the other authors, perhaps. 🙂 But you can make connections and I do think it is important to get out there.
    Hope you guys are ok with the aftermath of Sandy…it was scary seeing the NY/NJ news reports…I grew up there…right across the street from the East River. 🙂

    Like

  6. What a memorable first book signing! Was excited to see the actual printed book. Will give to my granddaughter for Christmas! She’s six. Hope you are safe in the aftermath of Sandy.

    Like

  7. I have been to really nice book signings over the last few years. All the authors I met were really nice! I like to talk to authors about the books they write, it is interesting! 😀

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      OH! That’s nice, Erik.
      That is one of the benefits for me, too. Meeting all the other authors during an event. So glad you like book signings. Thanks for stopping by and visiting. 🙂

      Like

  8. Margot Finke says:

    You make it all sound so immediate and real, Clar. As if I were there myself. Thanks for a real treat.
    That rain was a real spoiler!!

    BOOKS for KIDS – Manuscript Critiques
    http://www.margotfinke.com

    Like

Comments are closed.