Our Anniversary Weekend

Ed and I at the Easter Island Stature in the Smithsonian museum

Ed and I at the Easter Island Statue in the Smithsonian Museum

I hope I can still get away with talking about trips because I still haven’t changed my tag line to my blog of life under construction.  I realize most of my posts have been about my writing life but thought I’d let all of you in on what we did last weekend and why I didn’t go around to your PPBF blog posts.

Our weekend away for our fifteenth wedding anniversary was in Old Towne Alexandria, from January 27 through 29, 2012. We stayed at Hampton Inn on King Street, the main street, which had festive lights on all the trees and made it quite pretty at night. After our arrival on Friday night we walked to the Potomac River about a mile or two from where we were staying. The sidewalks were all brick and a little wobbly, leaving plenty of room for the crowd. There were plenty of people walking. It was fun to window shop and we stopped at one children’s book store and marveled about a whole shelf devoted to Newberry winner books. I spent a lot of time there. When we arrived at the water’s edge, it was darker and we didn’t stay. The temperature had dropped and we were cold, too.

However we had fun walking back to our hotel and having dinner at Eddie’s Crab House. We shared a fisherman’s platter. It was plenty for me but Ed was still hungry after we cleaned up our plate. He took desert as take out.

After a nice hot breakfast we studied our maps and metro info and left for the Holocaust museum.Knowing it wouldn’t be particularly a happy event didn’t deter us. We felt like we were on an adventure when we boarded the metro.

The Holocaust museum was just as depressing as we thought it would be. The thing that made it more difficult was the lack of chairs or places to sit down. We were guided to a hall with photos and collages all along this hall to see and read. Maybe we spent more time in the beginning because we couldn’t finish. We just got too tired and half way through just walked fast to get out. Near the exit we stood at a film station and watched specials on anti-Semitism, and different historical phases; for example about how refugees tried to get in to different countries and how America wouldn’t let them in to the U. S. There is so much evil that after a while it just left a big blur.

When we finally found our way out it was on a different street than when we entered. We were lost. We were also very hungry. I called my son, Ben, on our cell phone and he started by asking us the street names which of course we didn’t know. Then we saw someone running and waving his arms while talking on the phone “Is that you” I asked. “It is” he said. . We met at the corner. Ben had just run from his apartment to the Smithsonian to meet a friend and had changed plans to meet us. We decided to eat at the Smithsonian and meet with his friend, too. They had twin seventeen month olds who were very cute. We stayed and walked to some exhibits along the way. The Easter Island stone statues were an exhibit out where you see us standing for our photos.

Then we walked to Ben’s apartment, about ten blocks or more from the Capital where we rested and drank a beer. . While at Ben’s he showed us photos of when he and his girlfriend went to Puerto Rica. A very nice break. When we were ready we walked to a Thai restaurant and had another delicious meal. We boarded the Metro at eight and went home enjoying some people watching.

The following morning after a leisurely breakfast we enjoyed massages across the street from our motel. When we were finished we were so relaxed we just wanted to go home without further delay.

All in all it was a very successful happy anniversary get a way for us and we definitely want to do it again. It was spontaneous, easy and fun.

What happy time do you remember as a time away from home? What did you do and who did you do it with?

And now we come to the final and number two fun part of this post. I also want to announce the winner of last weeks post of “Author Susanna Leonard Hill’s Interview.” The winner of the picture book Punxsutawney Phyllis is

*drum roll*

Leigh Covington

*sparkles*

*Hurray*

Please send your snail mail address to Clarikebowmanjahn  at Yahoo dot com by Friday February third. The contest is over after that date and if I don’t receive your info by then it will be invalid. Friday is the cut off date for me. However if you’d like to be informed of other contests and give aways, I post every Tuesday and Saturday,  just subscribe in the subscriber box on the sidebar to your right above my photo or click on the follow button and you’ll get announcements whenever I post.


About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in Clara Bowman-Jahn, Clarike Bowman-Jahn, life story, memoir, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Our Anniversary Weekend

  1. Sounds like you had a great time away, Clar. After the week I have had, my husband whisked me away down country to a lovely beachside town that we often venture to and visit old friends. We spent time breakfast in a sidewalk cafe and visited a wine, cheese and fruit market, watched two huge cruise ships arrive in port, wandered around the quaint shops had a meal with our friends and generally lazed around. It was lovely. Sometimes we need a quiet time with change of scenery to get the writing juices flowing.

    Like

  2. Your weekend away sounds lovely, Clar! Our 22nd anniversary is coming up in April and I’ll be lucky if we manage to go out to dinner 🙂

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      You still have kids at home so it’s different. I remember with my late husband and while we raising the kids we didn’t make a fuss about it either. I’m not even sure if we gave each other cards or not. I know for a fact we didn’t have dates because we didn’t have baby sitters.

      MY how time changes things. 🙂

      Like

  3. Joanna says:

    Clar, I really enjoy personal posts like these. Sounds like you and your husband know well how to celebrate and enjoy yourselves!

    Yay for Leigh!

    Like

  4. suzicate says:

    Yay you! I love fun getaway weekends!

    Like

  5. Happy Anniversary,Clar! What a delighftul post. It sounds like you packed a lot of good times and memories into a few short days. Thanks for sharing, I feel like I was on a guided walking tour through Old Towne Alexandria 🙂

    Like

  6. Congratulations and it sounds WONDERFUL! We just celebrated our 50th and i can’t believe it’s been that long!

    Like

  7. What a fun and romantic weekend — glad you celebrated in style. Sounds like such a fun weekend — an even time to peek at books. 🙂 Loved your post and sharing.

    Like

  8. Happy Anniversary! Congratulations to Ms. Covington! I like going to the Smithsonian Museums. I am glad you had a nice trip!

    Like

  9. Darlene says:

    Sounds like the perfect anniversary get-away to me. I too enjoy these kinds of posts. We spent our 33rd anniversy on a cruise two years ago and danced to “My Heart Will Go On” It was very special, everyone clapped and congratulated us. Some young couples asked how we managed to make it last. We both said, without hesitation, “a good sense of humour”. Wishing you and Ed many more years of happiness!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks so much, Darlene. I think our marriage is good because we forgive each other our flaws and accept each other for who we are. I was married to my late husband for sixteen years and he had a great sense of humor. I guess that made it easier to live with me .lol. I need to work on my sense of humor.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. 🙂

      Like

  10. Widdershins says:

    Awwww. Happy Anniversary! 🙂

    Like

  11. jannatwrites says:

    Happy anniversary! It sounds like you had a nice weekend trip (especially the massages:))

    Our fifteenth anniversary is coming up in April and we’re going away without the kids (the first time since we had our oldest nine years ago!)

    Like

  12. I’ve been so slow on my blogging but I’m so excited about winning the book! Wahoo! Thank you so much!
    And your anniversary sounds amazing. I want to visit the Smithsonian one day with my kids. (Yeah, they need to get a little older first,) but after the Night at the Museum Movies, it would be such a fun place to visit. That statue is the best!
    Happy Anniversary & thanks for the win! 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.