Getting Ready to Publish

Annie's Special Day/ book coverMy author photo that so many of you commented on was only part of what was necessary to send my publisher yesterday. Claudia’s and mine bios were also sent. Those two items were necessary for the “Coming Soon” button on eTreasure’s web site. Another button I am working on is the preorder button. You’ve seen this on Amazon for people who are enthusiastic to buy before the book is actually published and don’t want to miss it. This is good for while I am creating the buzz about my book.

For the button I sent my publisher book blurbs by two children’s’ authors, Sue Walls and Bobbi Carducci, and then my elevator speech. My two sentence synopsis of what the book is about.

Also my publisher needed to know exactly how many pages were in the book. From the beginning “Annie’s Special Day” was a thirty-two page children’s picture book. My first book dummy allowed three pages of front matter and a back fly page. This is standard in all children’s books. This is how I learned how to write children’s books. The front matter took into account the publisher’s and copyright information along with a title and fly page.

I did not count the bio page because I thought that would go on the jacket. Now however I have book blurbs to go there. I think the bios will go on the inside back cover.

The rest is formatting that the publisher will do.

Sunday my friend and I worked on my web site all afternoon. Yes, me, web site. All in the same sentence. Eekk. I can’t hardly believe it.

Have any of you dealt with these aspects of getting a book or other project off the ground? Did any of you make a book dummy? Or website? How did you handle it? Do you have any suggestions?

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in blogging, Clara Bowman-Jahn, marketing, personal growth, social networking, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Getting Ready to Publish

  1. suzicate says:

    Excellent! And you were able to remove the glare from your glasses!

    Like

  2. clarbojahn says:

    Yes, You must have seen the one I moved to trash. When I saw it on the website here, it was all in one column and all centered which I did not know how to remove. On this one you’ll note my photo is not here. I had to publish this without the photo but glad it came out all right on the email edition.

    Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting. And giving me the good word. 🙂

    Like

  3. I did make a website (you can see it if you want – http://www.susannahill.com) but it was so involved I don’t think there’s room to say much helpful here. If you have any questions, though, please fee free to email me 🙂

    SO exciting that your book is coming along! Isn’t it fun? Lots of work, I know, but still so amazing 🙂 Good luck with everything!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      I’m sure I saw your web site somewhere along the way in my searches through your blog but maybe not. It’s a good one. I like how all the important things are listed in one place. I like your banner. A theme is so hard to find. Thanks for letting me email you. 🙂

      Yes, when I stop to think about how everything is coming along it is exciting! Mailing everything to my publisher was a milestone. But I”m certain there are many more of them.

      Like

  4. It’s exciting that everything is coming together. I’m glad to be along to hear/see what’s happening. Good luck with the website. There is a lot to do!

    Like

  5. We’re learnig from you. Wish I could help, but am not at that point. Am so excited — feels like we’re all on the journey with you! I absolutely love the cover. The illustrations must really be good!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thank you, Patricia, for following along. This is so much better, having you with me. It’s all the support that makes it worth while. I love this writing community. 🙂

      Like

  6. Widdershins says:

    See! … Steep (read ‘vertical’) learning curves aren’t that scary after all!

    Only two suggestions: remember to give yourself lots of pats on the back, and remember to breathe!

    Like

  7. Joanna says:

    No help here, but learning with you! And wishing you all the best in this build up and promotional time! Of course I Sooo want to know what Annie’s Special Day IS, now!

    Like

    • Clar says:

      Lol, Joanna. Guess you’ll find out soon enough when it comes out.

      Thanks for coming with me on this journey! Glad to have you along. 🙂

      Like

  8. Wow! How wonderful for you. Following along with you and watching how you go. Goodluck and all the best! thankyou so much for sharing the journey with us, Clar!

    Like

    • Clar says:

      You’re so welcome, Patientdreamer. You will be the first in line to read when the book is finally published. All the illustrations are done now and we are waiting for the text to be embedded into them.

      Like

  9. krpooler says:

    This is so exciting ,Clar~Congratulations of your amazing achievement! I appreciate you sharing all you are doing and I am celebrating with you. Your author picture looks great. Wow!

    Like

    • Clar says:

      Hi Kathy, As you can see from my comment above that the next step is embedding the text into the illustrations and my illustrator will also do that. As soon as it is published, I will share the news on this blog.

      Thanks for the comments and for following the process along with me. 🙂

      Like

  10. jannatwrites says:

    Wow, the book cover looks great! You’re really coming along here – I’m so excited for you 🙂

    P.S. – I’ve got nothing on how to do a website…sorry!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks Janna, So happy to have you visit.
      Yes, it is coming along. Seems slow sometimes and fast others. I guess it will all be done before I know it and then, ta da, … marketing. 🙂

      Like

  11. Good for you and congratulations on your new book!

    My kids and my husband have been pushing me to write my own children’s books (I already have the theme characters in mind) but I’ve been so busy with life and doing freelance writing for the corporate world, I haven’t had a chance to even start the outline. I also want to do my own illustrations and this has been a procrastinating issue.

    I plan for 2012 to be my creative year, both for writing as well as art. I’m planning to open a store on Zazzle with my own photographs and add more as I go. My creative side has been itching me for way too long and it’s time I started paying attention to it and bring it to focus.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Creativity does have a way of itching us doesn’t it?
      One thing you should know if you’re thinking about illustrating your own book. Most traditional publishers like to pick their own illustrators. They have their own in mind when reading the text but there are a few that take both as you know.
      Good luck with the picture book. 🙂

      Like

      • I’ve been thinking about this fact, but since I want to create an early reader type of book series with simple sentences and illustrations to go with it (think Mo Willems), I’d like to do the illustrations to create the characters. We’ll see how things go, I may be horrible at this and instead go with the chapter book idea I also have!

        Like

Comments are closed.