Thanksgiving Isn’t Over Here!

Annie's Special Day by Clarike Bowman-Jahn

Cover for Annie's Special Day

Thanksgiving is barely over but the season of thankfulness isn’t. Black Friday is over but my Thanksgiving food isn’t. Still have turkey in the frig. Still making turkey sandwiches. It isn’t too late to say what I’m thankful for is it? I’m still in the Thanksgiving spirit.

This year I’m particularly grateful for Claudia Wolf, my illustrator. As you can see “Annie’s Special Day” has a cover now. I want to thank Claudia for her vision in making all the illustrations in the book a reality. I received all the thumbnails quite some time ago and approved them.  She is almost half way done with coloring the sketches. We talked about some minor changes needed and she carefully changed them where required. Even now if there’s something drastic she’s more than willing to alter the design. For example in one of the completed illustrations one of the girl’s hands while standing in line was too close to the crotch of the boy standing next to her. I hadn’t caught this in the thumbnails and with all the to-do at Penn State we both felt this needed to be changed. She did it cheerfully and quickly. She knew just what to do. She lengthened the arm and made it down to the boys leg and off to the side.

She even found a piece of the text that didn’t quite fit and together we “fixed” it. This was not in her job description but she wants my/our book to succeed. She is doing everything possible to make it the best book.

I am also grateful for my health. I have a chronic bad back. The Pilates Class I started back last January is panning out in unexpected but wonderful ways. I no longer have to have weekly Chiropractor adjustments but can go ten to fourteen days without one now. This started about three months ago so I’ve been getting confident that this is a new pattern for me. Now I even dare hope that soon I can start going once a month and then only for the preventative treatments not for needed corrections to alleviate pain. This has radically changed my life. I no longer take pain pills several times a day. And I’m not laid up with pain for days at a time where all I do is watch TV or read. When I do get pain I call and make an appointment, usually for later in the day and am totally relieved of pain. (This is not an advertisement for chiropractor although it could be. I’m a registered nurse and believe in some alternative medical treatments, this chiropractic venue one of    them. Not all chiropractors are the same.)

Yes, this Thanksgiving is an especially grateful one. Besides being grateful for my health and illustrator, I’m also grateful for the usual, kids, grandkids and husbands. ( And all of You)

I hope all you readers have had a wonderful Thanksgiving.

What are some of the things you are particularly grateful for? Did you have a nice Thanksgiving?

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in blogging, Clara Bowman-Jahn, marketing, personal growth, social networking, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Thanksgiving Isn’t Over Here!

  1. So exciting that your book is coming along and you’re so pleased with its progress! I’m sure I speak for all of us when I say we can’t wait to see it 🙂 I have yet to try Pilates – yoga drives me nuts because I am just not patient enough! – but so glad it’s helping you. I, too, believe in alternatives to Western medicine, and I could tell you some stories about what acupuncture has done for people in our family, as well as chiropractic. And yes, I have many things to be thankful for, not just now, but all year round!

    Like

  2. I love the brand new cover! It is beautiful and engaging. Makes you want to read the book. You must be very excited and thankful! The pefect time to share it.

    I’m glad you found help through alternative therapies and have found relief. I turned to them over 20 years ago. Have found acupuncture, craniosacral and primary reflex therapy helpful. Am grateful for so many things, my list would be endless. But, I am thankful for connecting with this wonderful writing community.
    Pat

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks for your kind words about the book cover. It is exciting to finally see it coming together. Depending on the illustrations it will be published and ready by early 2012.

      I haven’t had the courage for acupuncture but chiropractic corrections seem to be all I need for comfort. I also believe in massage therapy. It greatly reduces my stress level. But it’s hard to find the right therapist and I have lost mine because of him moving and haven’t found a good replacement.

      Like

  3. Congratulations Clar on your achievements on all fronts. The cover is so inviting & vibrant and seems to shout out “read me”! And conquering your daily battle over chronic pain is HUGE. So many can benefit from your message. I wish you continued healing and good health and I share your excitement about your book launch. Brava!

    Like

  4. Julie says:

    I love Pilates – and your book cover! Must be so gratifying to see it all come together.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Yes, this is an especially good time for me, what with the cover and being able to attribute my decreased pain because of Pilates. I am so glad to be able to share both. 🙂

      Like

  5. Widdershins says:

    What a WONDERFUL cover!!!

    Like

  6. pattyabr says:

    I had a nice Thanksgiving and congrats on getting illustrations completed 🙂

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      So glad you had a nice Thanksgiving. Is it over for you? We went to the theater last night and that kind of signified the end for us. Now here it’s Monday with all the work and daily grind back. We had a wonderful Thanksgiving break.

      Thanks on the kind word of my cover. The illustrations are half way done. Claudia is still working on them. She just did finish the cover though. Kinda in the middle of everything.

      Like

  7. Joanna says:

    I think it is wonderful that you have that sort of relationship with your illustrator where you have input and a say in the final result. this isn’t always the case. I love this cover, very appealing.

    I am very happy to hear you are finding some relief from your back pain too.

    So will you be celebrating Sinta Klaas?

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks, Joanna.

      I’ve found as long as I actually do the Pilates, my back pain is less. Once I skip a week or two for life reasons, the back pain comes back.

      I may send my grand nieces and nephews something but now that my kids are grown we just forget about it. Sinter Klass is mostly for the kids.

      Like

  8. Tina Turbin says:

    Adorable! Congrats! You have wonderful things to be thankful for this year. Happy Thanksgiving!!!!!

    Like

  9. A wonderful list of thanks. (I’m behind on reading, but thankful the Internet makes things accessible when I have time). I hope the new back pattern continues. And, what great news about the illustrator. I like the cover.

    Like

Comments are closed.