Milo, Sticky Notes And Brain Freeze And a Give Away

Shannon Whitney Messenger decided it was time to give middle grade stories the attention they deserve, and “Marvelous Middle Grade Mondays” was born.

MILO, Sticky Notes & Brain Freeze There’s a whole subculture in YA blogging that blog on Mondays about the book they read that week. I usually post on Tuesdays but for this once, I wanted to  join in the fun for MMGM, or Marvelous Middle Grade Monday. For Shannon’s blog, she not only posts the review on the latest YA book she read but will often have a give away. That’s how I got Milo, Sticky Notes & Brain Freeze by Alan Silberberg. I won it through her blog. And it was every bit as good as she said.

Back jacket blurb

My name is Milo Cruikshank. Being a kid is supposed to be the best time ever, but what about when you’ve already lived in 5 different houses, you have to start 7th grade in a brand-new school, and you’re in love with the prettiest girl you ever sneezed on? The good news is I have my best friend, Marshall, who is weird in a good way, and Hillary, who is just plain weird. My dad thinks everything is going to be okay—but I don’t think that’s possible. How can it be when my mom isn’t around to fill the house with noise anymore?”        winner of the *2011 SCBIWI Sid Fleischman Award for Humor* *New York Public Library 100 2010 Books for Reading and Sharing* * 2010 Cybil Awards Finalist*

Why I loved it:

From the back blurb you can see the voice is very much an 11 to 12-year-old boy starting seventh grade. Milo, the main character, is very self-deprecating and uses all kinds of tricks to get over his self-consciousness. Something everyone can identify with. The book is funny and sad at the same time which makes for roller coaster reading and keeps the pages turning.

As I read the book, Milo changed from someone who is depressed by his mom’s death to someone who has adjusted and is one cool dude. He finds all kinds of things to be happy about, especially his new friends Marshall and Hillary. Alan Silberberg has cartoons sprinkled around the chapters. Some of the cartoons are pure illustration and some continue the story line. At any rate they are a real plus for this mg reader.

I wish this book had been written a long time ago – when the father of my boys (and my husband) died. And that I would have known about it. We could have read this book together. Then I would have been better able to help my boys say good-bye to their father. I think it’s a healing book for any kid that’s experienced a loss, especially for a kid that’s lost a parent.

For those of you having had a loss or know of someone else who has, think about reading this book or giving your loved one a copy. It will be a blessing for them.

Would you read it? Do you think you will get it?

The Give Away

And now, Yes, I’m changing the subject. Now for the surprise! To continue the fun and because I loved it so much, I want to share it through a give away of my own. If you’d like to win a copy of  Milo, Brain Freeze & Sticky Notes be sure to follow my blog and leave a comment. You have until 12 midnight Friday, November 18, because then I’ll pick the winner.  And instead of posting the winner that following Saturday (because my husband is having surgery) I will post it Tuesday November 21. So be sure and read my blog that day.

You may also  like reading:     https://clarbojahn.wordpress.com/2011/09/14/book-review-of-another-bad-dog-book/   and  https://clarbojahn.wordpress.com/2011/09/24/and-the-winners-are/

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in blogging, Clara Bowman-Jahn, Course or Book Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Milo, Sticky Notes And Brain Freeze And a Give Away

  1. Clar – this book sounds great. I’d love to read it! And I’m already a devoted follower of you blog 🙂 Please count me in!

    P.S. How is Midnight?

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      OK, You’re in. I’ll use random google to pick the winner. Good luck

      We’ve been giving her the Desmopressin for about a week now and she is sleeping through the night and seems happier. I know we are. 🙂

      Like

  2. akossket says:

    Welcome to the MMGM gang. We hope you enjoy it here 🙂
    That’s one cute cover for such a serious kid voice. Interesting premise too.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Yes, I agree. The cover is too cute for words. Milo, the main character, is funny, too, as well as having a serious side. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. 🙂

      Like

  3. Clar — I’m always searching for good grief books for kids. Many I’ve shared are picture books. I am delighted to learn about this middle grade book. I enjoyed your review and how you personally related to the book.

    Also wondered how Midnight is doing? I hope he’s improving. I reviewed some pet loss picture books last summer. My Favorite was “Good-bye Sheepie.”

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks for your input. I always value your opinion 🙂

      Thanks for asking about Midnight. She seems better since we started the medicine and is her happy self. I’ll browse through your blog when I have time and look for those Pet loss books.

      Like

      • Secret –I am publishing a brief new one in Susanna Hill Leonard’s “The Perfect Picture Book Fridays.” It won’t be a long pitch. It is by far the best book I have seen. — Pat

        Like

        • clarbojahn says:

          OH, I’ll have to make a note of it. Friday my husband is having surgery and I will be without the internet until late that night. And then I’ll probably be taking care of him. I may miss it. Thanks for the heads up though. I’d love to have input and see your pitch. Good luck! 🙂

          Like

  4. Cathe Olson says:

    I got this book for my school library but it has been continually checked out so I haven’t had a chance to read it yet!

    Like

  5. pattyabr says:

    Nice book cover. I like the story line. thanks for sharing

    Like

  6. Yvonne J says:

    I’m always on the lookout for books to recommend to middle-grade readers (especially boys) and this sounds like a great one. Our library doesn’t currently have a copy…..maybe if I win, they’ll get this one (after I’ve read it of course!) I got here from “Marvelous Middle Grade Mondays” but I have signed up to follow by email.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      This is the first MMGM I’ve done and am not reading one at present though my library has one on hold for me.
      Thanks for the follow, though. Hope I can keep you entertained. 🙂
      This is a good book for boys. They ordinarily have a harder time of it with emotions and this book deals with a topic so tragic as to render most incommunicative. I know because of my own experiences. This would have been a great book for my kids at the time. Anyone would enjoy it though. Its so universal.

      Like

  7. Hey welcome to MMGM! I’m new too. I love the sound of this book, very “voicy” and boy friendly. Thanks for the review!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      You’re welcome. It is boy friendly and because of that makes it that much more special. ( strange sentence much.lol )
      Thanks for visiting. 🙂 I’ll put your name in the kitty.

      Like

  8. Clar – Thank you for the kind words regarding my book. It is so nice to know that Milo made you smile. As someone who suffered the loss of a parent as a pre-teen, I wrote this book hoping it might be helpful to kids and families going through a similar loss. I tried to make sure the voice was true – and that there was plenty of humor mixed in with the hurt feelings. I really appreciate your help spreading the Milo love around!

    Alan Silberberg
    author “Milo: Sticky Notes & Brain Freeze”

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      I am so honored to have you see this post and visit my blog. Thank you for stopping by to comment. I am sorry you had to go through loosing a parent in order to write this book. Many will be grateful of the gift you give in writing about it. I feel you have succeeded in exploring all the feelings a preteen would have when experiencing the loss of a parent. My own boys were ten and fourteen when they lost their dad. I wish I had a book like this to share with them at that time. Thanks for writing such a compelling book. It is sure to help many kids.

      Like

  9. Clar ,
    Learning about other genres (YA) is so enlightening to me as a memoir writer. I’m thinking it must be quite a challenge to capture that child’s voice at varying ages. I have 7 grandsons, ages 3-9 who love to read and one who loves to write stories (6 y.o.) so I certainly have an interest in children’s books. Milo’s story sounds great!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Yes and Alan Silberberg does it so well. Keep this book in mind for when your grandson is a little older around eleven or twelve.

      I only have one grandchild, eight years old, that I am saving for. I’ll get another copy of Milo for him when he is old enough. I need to find him a book on divorce.

      I am glad you are interested in YA lit. Reading opens up other worlds to kids and can teach so much. Keep the interest going for the six year old writer. You may want to get her a copy of “Storee Wryter” by Barbara Carducci. See my blog post about it.

      Like

  10. Sounds like a fun book covering a difficult topic. I read another blog today (sorry I’m late in reading this post), which mentioned a Milo. I love the name Milo. (Glad to see the updates on Midnight).

    Like

    • Clar says:

      Oh, Stacy, I’m glad you made it for the contest.

      Yes the author did a good job. Apparently from real life experience. Sorry he had to go through that to produce a work of art. Shows how difficulties often make for brilliance doesn’t it?

      I love the name Milo, too.

      Like

Comments are closed.