Post One on Interactive Books

interactive books_alt..flickr/by admanbI’m still one on those readers who doesn’t have an e-reader yet but here are three great children’s books you could get with an app. These interactive books are the next thing in kid lit. Take a look:

Harold and the Purple Crayon by Trilogy Studio

Harold is a brave and creative little boy who draws his way into exciting situations. Kids can join him by becoming his purple crayon. Things that Harold draws appear on the iPad screen as outlined in gray. When kids run their fingers over the gray outlines they become animated and are colored in. It literally draws kids into this outstanding book app.

The Three Little Pigs-A Nosy Crow Animated Interactive Story book

This version features video animation that resembles watching a cartoon. Kids take part by touching the wolf to hear his dialogue and when each pig is constructing his house, they need to tap the screen to help in the building. There is other physical stuff to move the story along, like actually blowing into the microphone to see the wolf “huff and puff”, and touch the pigs to see them squirm and jump.

The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lossmore by Moonbot Studio, LLC

This book app is based on an award-winning short film combining a great story, fabulous graphics and film clips as well as inventive interactions. Kids use interaction to swirl clouds creating a tornado and touch the screen on the next page to turn a cloudy stormy sky to a blue one. “The book also provides places to play a virtual piano, solve a jigsaw puzzle and write words on a blank page.”

These reviews were adapted from www.usatoday.com/tech/columnist/jinnygudmondsen/story/2011-08-28/Interactive-books-can-enhance-childs-learning-experience/

At first I was in awe of the authors who thought of all these cool things to do while reading to your kid. Then I noticed they were studios and corporations that were developing these apps. These books are produced by teams of computer whizz techs.

Does this leave room for the individual author? Will there be room for those of us who just write?

Check back on Saturday for “Post Two on Interactive Books”. Subscribe by clicking on the subscribe button on the right sidebar above my image or click the follow button at the top left and get a copy of my post delivered to your email box when I write.

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in Course or Book Review, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Post One on Interactive Books

  1. Susanna says:

    I don’t have an ereader either 🙂 I hope there will always be room for those of us who just write – after all, before you can add gadgets and animations etc. there has to be a story! I’ve heard of these apps before, and they look fun. I just hope that we’re not going in a direction that turns every kids’ book into a computer game rather than a reading experience.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Good point. Do you know that now instead of learning the multiplication tables kids learn how to use the calculator? I wonder if one day kids will not have to learn the alphabet to read?
      But you’re right that first there needs to be a story. Do you type it up first or use pencil and paper?

      Like

      • Susanna says:

        I do both 🙂 I usually write with pen and paper for picture books – I don’t know why. But for longer work – like my 8 novels that are going nowhere at the moment – I type. Maybe that’s the problem 🙂

        Like

        • clarbojahn says:

          I find myself writing most everything out in pen and notebook. Takes so much longer than just typing into Word. I even write out my blog posts. Wish I could just type everything.

          I guess, like you seem to think that it is easier to be creative with pen and paper.

          Like

  2. suzicate says:

    Technology is amazing!

    Like

  3. Widdershins says:

    You can download (for FREE) a Kindle reader app, a Nook app, a Mobi app, etc that allows you to read on your computer. I sure don’t want to fork out the $$ for an eReader, and this is a way to read eBooks on the cheap. I think they can also be downloaded onto smartphones and laptops but don’t quote me on that.

    Like

  4. Julie says:

    Interesting questions. I’d like to think that the most successful apps will be built around compelling stories, which should leave room for talented writers (we hope!)

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Yes, since I posted this, I think there is a push to get the really good stories out. There is a contest at “MeeGenius” for a PB. Then they will make it into an app. Go for it. I am. 🙂

      Like

  5. Widdershins says:

    Here’s the URL for the Kindle one:
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/help/customer/display.html/ref=hp_rel_topic?ie=UTF8&nodeId=200388510

    This is the one for Nook:
    http://www.barnesandnoble.com/u/nook-for-pc/379002322/

    All I did was type in Nook (or Kindle or whatever type you want) for PC and did a search.

    Like

  6. Clar, I’m e-readerless. I received a Kindle for my birthday and then returned it when I realized I couldn’t check out library books. I waited for a library reader for four months. A week before I got one, Kindle opened up for our library. Sigh. I have poor timing. After Wednesday’s news about the new Kindle, I’m thinking I might try for one of the new ones. I couldn’t find your email, so I hope it’s OK to put this in here. Here’s an author challenge for a PB app: http://www.meegenius.com/challenge/welcome/

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      OH, Thank you so much for that link. I saw that on your blog post this morning and copied it but didn’t think about posting it on my blog. Your good to do that for everyone.
      Too bad about the Kindle. It’s good news in general though. It apparently does everything the iPad does for half the price.
      I think I’ll still wait for the Nook so I can see the color in PB’s. Or is that necessary if the Kindle does all that the iPad does. OOOHHH, I want one now. 🙂

      Like

  7. Widdershins says:

    Well, that’s weird … my first comment is there now .. oh well … one can never have too much information!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Yes, I saw your comment. It’s up above the line a ways. Thanks a whole lot. Saved me a bunch of money. 🙂 and I’ll definitely enjoy it.
      Now the only reason to buy them is to be able to travel with them to the Dr.s or somewhere where one wants to read and not the book variety.

      Like

  8. Clar,
    My grandsons are teaching me the technology and it is amazing how easy it is for them. It’s a conscious effort for me to adapt to all these changes. When Jacob was 4 a few years ago, he showed me the karoake machine one night while I was babysitting. “Nana, all you have to do is plug in your iPod.”(which of course I didn’t have!) Well, I know who to ask if I have any questions! Currently I’m loving my Nook, my DroidX phone and my iPad so I guess I’m catching up 🙂

    Kathy

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Wow. you are catching up. 🙂 Your’re hooked up to tech to go.
      We just have a tracfone and a regular TV for viewing. Not even High definition. No iPad or e-reader or anything else. We’re not missing anything that I can see.
      I’m so busy now, I can’t see time where I’d want anything else.

      Like

Comments are closed.