Campaigner’s Second Challenge: Imago, the Goal

Rachael Harrie the originator of the Author’s Champaign has posted the second challenge. Here are the rules.

Write a blog post in 200 words or less, excluding the title. It can be in any format, whether flash fiction, non-fiction, humorous blog musings, poem, etc. The blog post should:

  • include the word “imago” in the title
  • include the following 4 random words: “miasma,” “lacuna,” “oscitate,” “synchronicity,”

If you want to give yourself an added challenge (optional and included in the word count), make reference to a mirror in your post.

For those who want an even greater challenge (optional), make your post 200 words EXACTLY!

Here is my story:

Imago, the Goal

After reading a couple of the stories here on the campaigner’s challenge number two, my mouth oscitated. They were so good. I knew I could never compete. There was a big lacuna in my writer’s craft. I just don’t have the skill. I write picture books and memoir in synchronicity. If I were to win a prize for my kind of writing, I would truly oscitate. The words to be included in the story create a miasma in my brain. I had to look them up in the dictionary, they were so obscure. My thoughts wandered like ships in a miasma.

Yesterday, pondering this, I looked in a broken mirror and felt it was telling me what to write about.  I woke up thinking about it. I would just write the truth. I would tell everyone how inexperienced I am. How I don’t know how to write anything that’s not real or hasn’t happened to me. How I don’t know how to write anything that isn’t memoir or creative nonfiction. The mirror said it all.  Now there’s nothing left but to post my confession. At least it will set the record straight for everyone; maybe it will even entertain.

Word has this at exactly 200 words excluding the title. I am number 62 under Campaigner’s Second Challenge: Imago, the Goal. I hope you like it. 

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in blogging, memoir, personal growth, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Campaigner’s Second Challenge: Imago, the Goal

  1. What a fun take on the challenge! I know I oscitated when I saw the words, too. Good job!

    Like

  2. How lovely to share this AND meet the challenge. I don’t know that I dare try this one. We’ll see what the weekend holds. Plus, this post is a perfect memoir, because as a fellow writer I so relate to those thoughts. Especially this: How I don’t know how to write anything that isn’t memoir or creative nonfiction. Off to like your entry.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      @Jennie-Thanks for your encouragement. But it’s true. I only know how to write memoir and creative nonfiction.
      @LadyJai-Thanks. 🙂 So many writers have self doubts. I only said what was true.
      @StacySJensen- Thanks for liking me. I can’t wait to read your story. Especially if it’s going to be memoir or creative nonfiction.

      Like

  3. Your words speak volumes to my own heart!

    Like

  4. Jennie B says:

    You did great! Don’t get down on yourself 🙂

    Like

  5. So you see, you could do it. I had to look up all the words too. Mine is #29

    Like

  6. Sonia Lal says:

    I can’t write non-fiction! Especially creative non-fiction. LOL And I had to look up the words, too. In fact, I don’t think there is anyone in the challenge who didn’t.

    Like

  7. Jen says:

    What a clever way to attack the challenge! The first thing I reached for was a dictionary. I knew miasma, but the others had me stumped!
    Mine is #3.

    Like

  8. elizabethannewrites says:

    Good for you for being honest! When I first looked at the challenge, I nearly turned away thinking, “This is NOT meant for people like me”. I’m glad I tried it, and I’m glad you wrote this piece! And look at the new words we learned! (Not that I’ve figured out yet how to work them into everyday speech…)

    Like

  9. Cortney says:

    Way to incorporate the words into your own story!

    Like

  10. Widdershins says:

    Phew!!! That is so disciplined … well done!

    Like

  11. Don’t worry, I had to look them all up, too – I like your take!

    Like

  12. I think that you put into words what we’ve all been feeling about those WORDS! Lol! ; )

    Like

  13. Christy Farmer says:

    I really like this! I also wanted to answer your question about the like buttons you asked on my blog….which like buttons were you referring to….? 😉

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      OH thank you, Christy. After I posted the comment I saw your link for the linky tool. I had made a mistake and thought that you had connected the *like* button on your blog post to the like button on the linky tool. Some have done that and I had thought you did too until after I published my comment and I couldn’t edit it. So sorry to have misunderstood. 🙂

      Like

  14. Dawn says:

    It was a challenge to be sure! I wondered If I could use the words well. I think I did, but I had to revise about 50 times to get it right.

    Thank you for sharing. I think you did a great job.

    The Write Soil

    My entry is #50.

    Like

  15. It was a very hard challenge. I had to wait few days so I could build up the confidence to even attempt it! Great job. I am #92. Thanks

    Like

  16. My thoughts exactly when I saw those words. Luckily my secret weapon knew just what they were. Awesomeness. An honest and refreshing take on the challenge!

    Great job, Clar! 🙂

    Like

  17. clarbojahn says:

    Thanks, David. I appreciate your stopping by and commenting. I wonder what your secret weapon is. Maybe you expand on this in your story? I’ll mosey on over and find you. 🙂

    Like

  18. That was great! Clever use of the words.

    Like

  19. Love the personal spin on the challenge (went the route myself). Great job getting those words in there 🙂

    Like

  20. Tyrean says:

    I really liked your way of tackling this challenge. I had to get out the dictionary too, and then words I thought I knew (like lacuna) turned out to be different than I expected. Your fresh, vibrant honesty is great, and you used the words perfectly.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks, Tyrean. The only reservation I have is the word, Imago meaning adult insect. The other meaning it had was the ideal , so that’s why I used it for the title. I really appreciate your words of encouragement. 🙂

      Like

  21. Nicole says:

    That was great! It wan an entertaining confession!

    Like

  22. Doreen says:

    I am smiling because I too write non-fiction also. Both challenges were-well challenging but a lot of fun. Good practice for the fiction I will one day write…
    I love your creativity:)

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks, Doreen. Your comment is well appreciated. There are so many good ones out there, I definitely oscitated with awe at the well written stories. Just like you, I am glad for the practice.

      Like

  23. Grillyfish says:

    I think we all feel a bit like that sometimes but we must endeavour to fill the lacuna with practice and confidence in our own abilities! Good job 🙂

    Like

  24. I love your take on this challenge. Very different! Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  25. magnolia says:

    Clever idea. We can all identify with your story. Great word usage. Good luck.

    #188

    Like

  26. Clar says:

    Your welcome, LadyJai, I enjoyed writing it.

    Like

Comments are closed.