15 Responses to A Free Contest Giveaway and Book Review of “Another Bad Dog Book”

  1. Susanna says:

    Clar – this book sounds terrific! I will have to read it whether I win it or not 🙂 And I am already a follower 🙂 Thanks for the opportunity!

    Like

  2. pattyabr says:

    The book sounds terrific and I am probably close to the age of the author Joni Cole. I need a pick me up right now for me to keep pluggin along. I don’t feel old but I feel like a clocking is ticking over me.
    My dog and I have been through a lot together, actually we were both hospitalized at the same time three years ago. Nothing like sharing hospital admission stories eh?

    Like

    • Clar says:

      You must be close to your dog. The book is about a lot more than dogs however. It’s about personal essays that bring us closer to our humanity. I felt closer to everyone while I was reading it. I felt closer to a community of others that had the same obstacles I did. And everyone goes through a midlife crises of some kind or other. I know you would love it. I will put your name in the pot. 🙂

      Like

  3. Dawn says:

    Sounds like my kind of book – much of my life is filtered through the memories of whatever dog I had at the time…”You remember that Memorial Day weekend when we were all swimming and Mac (a Jack Russell Terrier) thought the squealing meant we were all in trouble – he went from one to the other of us trying to pull us to shore by our arms (we all had matching bruises)…”

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Sounds like quite a Memorial Day to remember. :O

      Actually it is not a dog book as such although the name of the book is kind of misleading. Only the first and last essay are about Joni’s dog. The rest are personal essays.

      Like

  4. Sounds like a hilarious and good book, although I wonder how easy it will be for a younger person to relate to, since I’m in my 20s. Thoughts?

    Also, I nominated you for a blog award. Find out more here: http://iwriteandread.blogspot.com/2011/09/awards.html

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      I think anyone who likes people and likes reading about personal essays would like this book. Just because it’s by someone in their 50’s doesn’t make it unattractive for other age groups. Would you like to be entered into the contest? I think you would like this book. 🙂

      Like

  5. Carol Wong says:

    I would love to read this book, I love dogs and reading about other people’s midlife’s crisis. Also, I can relate to the author as I am a Fire Dog in Chinese astrology.

    CarolNWong(at)aol(dot)com

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Yes, I think you would like this book. Don’t forget to subscribe so you can be in the drawing for a free copy. 🙂
      One of the essays are related to how Joni is a dog in Chinese astrology so you have something in common.
      Thanks for your comment.

      Like

  6. clickerbug says:

    You’ve written a good review; really piqued my interest! Will have to check it out. Sounds funny in a real bittersweet way.

    I’m already subscribed so I get your posts in my google reader, but I’ve gone ahead and hit “follow” as well. 🙂 Thanks!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Hi Clickerbug! Yes, it really it is a book for all ages and all types. It has a lot of humor in it as well as sad moments, the hallmark of a good book. 🙂
      I’ll put you in the bag!

      Like

  7. The title made me not want to read it, but your review changed my mind. Sounds like a fun mix of essays. Thanks for sharing this title and I look forward to reading the book.

    Like

  8. Joni Cole says:

    Thank you all for your comments and thoughts about Another Bad Dog Book.And a special thanks to Clar and her super blog! If you ever want to share your own tales of life, love, and neurotic behavior, send ’em along. Or “like” my author facebook page or follow @jonibcole on Twitter to stay in touch. All the best!

    Like

Comments are closed.