Post One on How to Increase Traffic to Your Site Using You Tube

Alist Club had a free Webinar for all its past members on how to increase traffic using YouTube. It was given by Video Traffic Academy. Their claim is that video is the best source of traffic for the 18 to 54 age group. That a visitor from this demographic spent over fifteen minutes a day on You Tube.

Good reasons people like You Tube are because it’s free and Google loves it. Google owns it and will not get rid of it any time soon. Like Google, it is growing exponentially. It grows with use. They recommend you make a channel and make a video each week building momentum with consistency. The more consistent you are the more your views will increase, like blogging. The more consistent we are about posting, the more we increase traffic. Of course you must have good content in your videos, just like in your blog posts. You can read how to increase traffic to your blog here.

A good way to increase traffic is to make it sharable by being able to transfer it to your blog, website or face book just like I do here by linking the reader to other blog posts.

Here are some “jaw dropping stats”:

  • 35 hours  uploaded per minute
  • 3 billion views/day
  • Second largest search engine
  • Third most visited website

In case you don’t have the web site, here it is, www.youtube.com/watch.

There is a three-step process to boost traffic with online video.

  1. –     Optimize your keywords
  2. –     Produce high value videos
  3. –     Consider the aftermath

I will explain the three-step process in my next post called “Post Two on How to Increase Traffic to Your Site.” If you are enjoying these posts on how to increase traffic consider subscribing to my blog by clicking the subscribe button in the sidebar to your left and find each new post in your email box. I post each Tuesday and Saturday about issues of interest to writers and about my life as I navigate my second career as a writer.

I had an image to add to this post but when I clicked on the icon, (and I did this several times because that’s all I know how to do)  to add an image it remained blank. Something must be wrong with WordPress tech right now. It reminds me that they aren’t infallible and I’ve heard total breakdowns have happened to almost all bloggers at least once.

Has this happened to you? What did you do about it?

A related post you might like is:   “Seven tips to a more readable blog”

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in blogging, social networking, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Post One on How to Increase Traffic to Your Site Using You Tube

  1. clickerbug says:

    Great post. I’m going to guess a lot of traffic is driven to YouTube from social network sites. I personally probably watch 15 minutes of video a day, but I rarely go straight to YouTube to decide what to watch. The videos are all handed to me via facebook and Google+.

    So integrating is essential.
    ~k

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Hi Clickerbug, Thanks.
      Yes, it’s good to be share-able to FB and your other sites. Sounds like you fit into the demographic of people who watch YouTube. 🙂

      Like

  2. Patricia Tilton says:

    Boy are we in sync — or maybe not. I was just looking at my blog and YouTube and trying to decide whether to subscribe. I wanted to download some book trailer for upcoming reviews, but was on the fence. My blog is linked to my FB too. Does it help? My site is different than many, as I focus on reviewing books for parents who have children with special needs (autism, OCD, stuttering, grief, courage, etc.) But, I also review books that are multicultural, deal with social issues, the military, and values/virtues. But, on Word Press is does cost. Will look forward to your posts.

    And yes, I’ve had problems with WP this afternoon. Acting up.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Yes, It definitely helps to be share-able like having it linked to FB.
      Checked out you blog and it is very valuable.
      WordPress has a new site now called Selecta that I think is free for videos. I just had a blog from head quarters about it from the Happiness Crew. I will post the info on my next post about this.

      Like

  3. Susanna says:

    Hi Clar – this is really interesting. I have a YouTube Channel, but only 5 videos, all book trailers. They take so long to make that there’s no way I could do one a week! But I’m really looking forward to your next post. Will you tell what kind of content works well? A certain length? etc?

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Yes, all that will be in my next post. I was going to post it on Saturday but with the writer’s campaign may have to wait till next Tuesday. 🙂
      So much to do.
      Would love to see your book trailers. Do you have links?

      Like

  4. nrhatch says:

    Sounds like a fun adjunct to blogging for those who want to use their video skills. I’m going to share this with Christine Grote. She posted a video of a rattlesnake today!

    http://randomthoughtsfrommidlife.wordpress.com/2011/09/07/animal-control-bags-rattle-snake-at-a-hilton-head-resort-%e2%80%94-the-movie/

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks for the link. How fun! 🙂
      Glad you found it valuable.
      Also thanks for hooking me up to “Random thoughts from midlife” I enjoyed visiting. My beach vacation is cancelled so it was a nice interlude to go to that site.

      Like

  5. Pingback: Visitor Traffic Counters For Your Website or Blog – voodooDr's Blog

  6. It appears that people are extremely interested in youtube video presentations. I put a number of “booklets” onto youtube a week or two ago…and one of the videos got linked by a newsletter…people came to that video, but stayed within the channel and viewed many many others…I was really shocked by the number of views. So, I guess youtube is appealing. Most of the viewers seem to be within the 55-64 year old range, but I notice that there are starting to be some younger viewers now too. (it was just linked on Saturday night) So, I guess youtube is a very engaging medium to many. I don’t have a clue what the words “keywords” means or what they might be for..is there a separate google search for youtube? I did notice this morning that when I googled the name of that linked booklet and typed youtube beside it, it comes up as the first link.That was a surprise! I just kind of stumbled into youtube. Well, I stumbled into blogging too. : ) (I arrived to your blog through Christine Grote’s blog…and have gotten helpful ideas from Nancy Hatch too… I see they both commented above) Thanks for your ideas…

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      You’re welcome, Pocket. Welcome to my blog. I’m glad YouTube has been a good site for you. It is an up and coming media. That’s why I posted about it. I go into keywords more in my second post so if you can come back you can read what I have to say about that there.
      You are more advanced than I. I haven’t done any videos but only plan on it to promote my children’s book “Annie’s Special Day”.
      I am interested in seeing your “booklets” .Would you give me the link?

      Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      You’re welcome, Pocket. Welcome to my blog. I’d be interested in seeing your “booklets”. Could you give me the link? You are further along than I am. I haven’t got any videos out.. But I will definitely do so for my children’s book “Annie’s Special Day” when it comes out.
      I’m glad you have found YouTube to be a valuable site. I go more into keywords on my next post on this subject. If you can come back you can read what I have to say there as there is a lot to say and the subject of another whole post. 🙂

      Like

  7. Here’s the process I went through to get the booklets onto youtube: I “create” the booklets with Print Shop by Broderbund. Then I save them as pdf’s or jpegs. I then create a powerpoint presentation and do the timings of page turnings. Next I save that as a “video”. I then upload that video to youtube. My 24 year old daughter taught me how to do this. I have a full page, written in small print, of the steps for doing this. I couldn’t do it without going through those written steps each time. I’d be happy to share the steps that I have with others.
    I embedded one of the booklets into today’s post in my site …expanding on the booklet that got linked a few nights ago. (Feelings…like clouds ) You can get to the videos through today’s post… http://pocketperspectives.wordpress.com/ or the post from August 31 when I first put them on http://pocketperspectives.wordpress.com/2011/08/31/pocket-perspectives-booklets-viewable-on-youtube/ or through either of the following youtube links: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GgLMOv4d9Lk or the channel http://www.youtube.com/user/pocketperspectives Lots of ways to get to them…
    I’ll come back a bit later and check out the topic of “keywords”.
    I still have to work more on a few of them on the timing of the ” turning” of each page…as I mentioned, it never occurred to me that people might actually find them, so I wasn’t as careful with timing as I might have been…I’ll need to make a few revisions, but they are still okay…

    .another blogger suggested the idea of music or nature sounds in the background of the pages. I might try a draft of that and see what it presents like. thanks again for your ideas…kathy

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks for your wonderful lesson on how to make a video and for your links. I will enjoy both. I’m not ready to make a video now but when I do. I’ll come back here see how to do it. 🙂
      I would love all the steps that you go through. I may not publish it on my blog unless a lot of people ask me for them but I personally would love them. Love your videos by the way. And the ways for getting to them are all good. Do you make them share-able?
      My post on keywords will come out on Saturday along with the three step process for videos.

      Like

  8. Patrick says:

    Great post! I am just now beginning to explore creating video for education and promotion on the web. I am experimenting now and sharing my findings here: WordPress Advantage

    I’d be interested in hearing which tools you folks are using to create your videos.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thanks Patrick! I’m just learning about video at the moment although I want to use it when I start marketing my children’s book “Annie’s Special Day”.
      Read your post on what you used to create a video and saw your video. Great info.
      I also have a camera that will take videos but I haven’t tried it out yet. You are far more advanced than I.
      Thanks for stopping to comment on my blog. I wish you success in your experiments with videos. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.