An event at the Renaissance Faire: What would you say?

Renaissance Faire/flickr/king-kong

Dancers at the court / Renaissance Faire

As discussed in the previous post, we went to the Renaissance Faire at Lake Anna near Fredericksburg, Virginia recently. It was a two and half hour drive, too long. And even though it was cooler than it had been, it was still too hot. While we were sitting in the tent next to the Tavern, watching a show, a couple came  with a thin little boy, about two and half years old. He was listless against his father’s lap. I saw how the mother and father were trying to make him eat a hot dog. A bad cough would escape periodically from the little boy. I t sounded just like the whooping-cough commercials on TV. After a while the little boy threw up. The mother scrambled to the tavern looking for napkins. I met her half way and said “I’m a nurse is there any way I can help?” She shook her head. Then I said “I think your child has whooping-cough or croup”, (as a nurse and parent, I have heard a croupy cough), she looked incredulous, turning away to take care of the vomit.

Later, in the car, I realized I had scared her. I should have said something like this “I’m a nurse and you need help. Take your baby to the first aid tent.” Or I should have said, “Your baby needs a doctor, take him to the first aid tent and get help”. That way she would not have been so scared and maybe the baby would have gotten help. Instead I scared her and don’t know if later they had gone for the help they needed.

We had wandered away, fairly quickly, because I was embarrassed for myself and hubs. We had been ready to leave and this just finalized our stay there. We didn’t enjoy the show because of watching the couple struggle with the sick little boy.

Do you get plagued with shoulds? Have you known a medical diagnosis and told an unbeliever about it?

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in personal growth, travels, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to An event at the Renaissance Faire: What would you say?

  1. nrhatch says:

    Your comments to her sound reasonable to me ~ you offered help and a tentative working diagnosis. Pointing out the First Aid Tent is also a good idea.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pertussis:
    If there is vomiting after a coughing spell or an inspiratory whooping sound on coughing, the likelihood that the illness is pertussis is nearly doubled.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thank you, Nancy. How ever I didn’t point out the first aid tent to her. It was what I should have done.
      I am almost sure he had whooping cough or another name for it is Pertussis.

      Like

  2. Beautiful photo. Reminds me of the seviana dance in Sevilla Spain. Can’t get enough color or flare.
    As to your q, …um yes. U gave her your self, courageous living beautiful wise and experienced self. The affiliated emotions r what they r but u gave what takes a lifetime to acquire. U r the bomb. Keep on.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Wow, what a beautiful comment. I did that didn’t I? Wish I hadn’t scared her. Next time I will know to do it differently. Thanks for the encouragement.

      Like

  3. pattyabr says:

    It’s hard to know when to jump in as a medical provider. I have had that very dilemma as well. Even as a pediatric nurse parents have either sought out or bristled at my comments. I’ve moved onto adults now and it still is difficult. I am glad you pointed out the first aid tent. When I read about the hot dog the first thing I thought was that the child choked on it. See how I am too?

    The picture of the dancer is beautiful 🙂

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Yes I do see how you are. We share the dilemma of knowing something others don’t. And then we scare them when we say something. So what do you do?

      Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      That photo is from flickr. I thought I had given it credit with my hover mouse but it didn’t work like the other flickr photos I’ve gotten from the common stream. I’m not sure if I can edit it.

      Like

  4. Widdershins says:

    Oooiiiiiiiiiyyyyyyyy (yiddish groan accompanied by face palm)

    ‘Shoulds’ are the bane of human existence. They cause us to second guess ourselves constantly and immediately try to rewrite the past, which of course, unless someone invents a time machine, we can do nothing about.

    What I do when I hit that cringe moment when I look back and wish I’d done something differently (read ‘better’ … but according to who?) is allow me to give myself ONE ‘bad time’ about it and from then try and look at it as a learning exercise for forward movement. I certainly don’t get it the first time, or the second, but with practice, lots of practice, its getting easier.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Oh, that sounds like a great practice. “One bad time”, I like that. Judging ourselves and being critical of ourselves serve no one. Another technique I’ve since thought about is replacing the should with “could have.”
      Thank you for your thoughtful comment. I love it when you stop by.

      Like

  5. Pingback: Next Career Move for The King « ferN dawg's Blog

Comments are closed.