Tips to bring traffic and keep traffic to your blog

Laughing owl by Kollor93/flickr

Laughing owl./ Harry Potters Owl

I’m off in a totally different direction today from my last two posts, readers. Hope you enjoy it.

A month or so ago I went to a class at the Writer’s Center in Bethesda, Md,. www.writerscenter.org This particular class was with Angela Render as my teacher and here are some of the tips and tricks she covered. In case you notice I haven’t used all these tips yet but they are on my “to do” list.

                 

                            To generate traffic

  • Participate on other blogs by commenting
  • Post frequently
  • Use your email signature to advertise your blog
  • Ask people to subscribe
  • Use interviews with other bloggers
  • Quest blog or take on regular partners.
  • Use Social Networking

a-      Twitter, face book, LinkedIn, My Space, Buzz

b-     Friend the followers of leaders in your field

                Keeping Traffic

  • Interlink your posts so people are enticed to click-through to more articles
  • Include ‘Related Posts’ or ‘Categories’ on your menu
  • Highlight a ‘best of’ or ‘most popular’ list of posts
  • Write posts in a series to draw readers back
  • Ask for participation
  • Make your posts useful

When I was a member of Alist blogging club, I found that they liked to encourage you to give away free  stuff like newsletters or eBooks as a way to bring or keep traffic. I haven’t evolved that far yet.

What have you found to bring traffic to your site? Can someone tell me how to interlink my posts?

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in blogging, social networking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Tips to bring traffic and keep traffic to your blog

  1. nrhatch says:

    To answer your question about Blog Traffic:
    http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2011/03/07/7-ways-to-increase-blog-traffic/

    To interlink posts . . . just refer back to previous posts and include a link to them so visitors can click on the link and be whisked through cyber space to the earlier post.

    For example, at the bottom of many of my posts, I include a section with links to related posts.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Is there a short way to link related posts or do you have to search your own blog and hand type the link in? I just don’t remember all I’ve written about a certain topic.
      Thank you for your link to ” the whale of a good blog” on your web site. It proved good reading and I saw that I had liked it before. There were other links on that particular post and I spent a pleasant hour reading posts of other writers. For instance the twitter article you had read earlier that day sent me through her blog reading other articles.

      Like

    • nrhatch says:

      I use the word search feature to find the posts I want . . . open up the post . . . copy the URL from the search bar . . . and paste it into the link box.

      Like

      • clarbojahn says:

        I really want to understand this so thank you for replying. Where do I find the word search feature to find the posts?? I can’t find it on my blog. I also don’t know where to link it up to and how.
        Again, I really appreciate your time in answering.

        Like

      • nrhatch says:

        You need to add the search bar as a widget . . . like the other widgets you’ve added (archives, subscription, etc). Take a look at my log and see the kind of widgets I’ve add that make it easy for people to maneuver around SLTW.

        You can also review this post for more ideas:
        http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2011/03/11/is-your-blog-user-friendly/

        Like

        • clarbojahn says:

          Thanks again, Nancy, I will open my widgets, look for that search bar and read your link. That should satisfy me. 🙂 I will also look around your blog. I really like your blog and admire your tireless posting of every day. I love waking up and reading one of your posts.

          Like

      • nrhatch says:

        Thanks, Clar! To answer your question, I did remember I’d written about widgets like the search bar. I use mine all the time ~ categories, dates, words, etc.

        To find the URL: As soon as you open up a blog post, the URL is displayed in your internet “search bar” at the top of the page. For example, the URL of this post is:

        https://clarbojahn.wordpress.com/2011/06/09/tips-to-bring-traffic-and-keep-traffic-to-your-blog/

        Like

      • nrhatch says:

        Let me clarify a bit. When you use the search bar, all posts that fit the search are access. Once you find the post you want . . . click on its title to open up the article. At that point the URL will be in your internet search bar at the top of the page.

        I searched NEW YORK. The search pulled up several articles. I clicked on the title of the first and the URL appeared:

        https://clarbojahn.wordpress.com/2011/04/30/about-the-pennwriters-conference/

        Like

        • clarbojahn says:

          Oh, Oh, now I get it. Thanks, I saw the url just as you said. And then I can copy and paste that into my editor, right?
          You must do this once you edit first. (I don’t mean to be stupid), I just want to use this cool thing. 🙂

          Like

      • nrhatch says:

        You insert the URL to your posts EXACTLY like you inserted the first link to the Writer’s Center.

        (1) Type out the words that will “cover” or hide the link ~ e.g., “We went to New York.”
        (2) Use your mouse to highlight those words.
        (3) In visual editing mode, click on the icon of a chain to insert the URL of the post you want to link to.
        (4) If there is already an “http://” in the box, delete it ~ you only want one http:// on that line.
        (5) Check “Open in New Window”
        (6) Close the box.
        (7) Save the change, then view the post and check the link by clicking on it.

        Like

        • clarbojahn says:

          Thank you again for stepping me through this. The blog inserted the link to wikipedia on the Writer’s Center. I didn’t do that. I don’t know how but now since you just gave me detailed instructions on how to do that I will from now on. Thanks again for your great patience and help. And for taking the time to give me all that good info. Know I’ll use it and consider yourself hugged. (hope you’re the hugging kind 🙂 ).

          Like

      • nrhatch says:

        You’ll be a pro before you know it!

        Just test each link for awhile until you’ve got the “knack.”

        Like

  2. Nice post clark. I fi enjoy it. And see? I’m even doing what u recommend by commenting (wink). I would anyway though. U r really enjoyable to read. Keep on

    Like

  3. Pingback: A Blueprint for the Perfect Blog Post | Donna Denil Marketing

  4. Pingback: 6 Blogging Tips « ADDICTED TO BOOKS

  5. Patty says:

    Right on sista! I try to comment on interesting blogs. But since I have a full time job and to keep up with the posts I think I need an IPhone, IPad or a laptop. I also try to blog one post every 7-10 days. Thanks for your tips.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Yes, an IPad would be nice. I hear they’re even faster than fiberoptics which is what we have. This is plenty fast enough for me. It would be nice to be able to blog on the go. We don’t have a smart phone either.
      I think you do great with the job, blogging and commenting. I’ll swing over and check you out.

      Like

  6. Excellent tips. A few of these I discovered by chance from experience since I started with WP like making comments and making replies . I just did them because It feels good to write back and got to know other bloggers in a more personal level. But it’s great to know that it draws interest to one’s blog. The making of comments part can sometimes be disheartening. I noticed that a lot don’t reply at all. But It was still worth it because I also found a lot of inspiring bloggers along the way.A very helpful post!

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thank you , Island, Yes, the comments serve double duty don’t they. I agree with you that there are readers that don’t take the time to comment. That’s why I always thank those that do.
      I appreciate your time in leaving a comment.

      Like

  7. jannatwrites says:

    I don’t take full advantage of all available technology to bring traffic to my blog. (I don’t do Facebook or Twitter.) It’s not that I’m lazy (well, I kind of am) but between work, family, blog reading and my writing, I don’t have time to commit to more. It seems a waste to jump into Facebook and Twitter knowing it wouldn’t be my best effort 🙂

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      You do sound very busy and you always have good content on your blog. I love reading it. However there is a widget for Facebook and Twitter that when you publish your blog, a notice goes to your Face book page and to Twitter. I see what you mean about it not being your best effort though. I only do Facebook to keep in touch with my nieces and nephews who do it religiously. I’m on Twitter but only do it about once a week. That’s all I have time for. I know I should do more and when I get serious about marketing my book I probably will.

      Like

  8. Great job done here. Again, way to go! Keep up the good work!

    Like

  9. mig welder says:

    Yes, Honestly I think you are right about this. I wish you will let us know more about this in future posting as well. Waiting for that.. Thanks again 😉 😉

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      You’re welcome. What would you like to know more about these tips, Mig? I could do another post if I knew exactly what you wanted to know. 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by. Hope to hear more from you in regard to this.

      Like

Comments are closed.