Happy Author’s Good News

Water on dry sand/cuba gallary/flickr

WATER ON DRY SAND

Yes, Hurray and Hurray!

I finally received a contract from eTreasure’s Publishing LLC that they are going to publish my children’s book, Annie’s   Special Day, written under the pen name of Clarike Bowman-Jahn. I just got the contract today. (Here’s their website, www.eTreasurespublishing.com.) And I just read it for the first time. I may hang it on my wall since it’s my first. It seems pretty good with some adjustments. Scheduling the release date will have to be negotiated. Other things to clarify are that I can promote my book better if it’s a print copy rather than an eBook. Parents and grandparents are more apt to buy a print picture book than an e copy. Grandparents especially don’t seem to be that techy yet. And if used in schools this early concept book would have more appeal in print.

I haven’t even finished the contract with my illustrator. Think I should get on the ball with that, don’t you? Something has to give. They want to publish the book the same day my dynamite illustrator, Emily Schell has stated she will be finished with the illustrations. I’m not sure how much time I should allow between the completion of the illustrations and the publishing date. I’ve written them asking how much time they suggest.

Another authorly detail I concluded today was submitting a story to the book of the Chicken Soup Anthology, Marriage and Married Life. Under comments I also noted that I thought my story would be appropriate for the book, Find Your Happiness. I think I rewrote and revised it at least ten times. I was so nervous submitting it, I asked my hubs to do it. It was my first time submitting something that you copy and paste onto the place where they say submit. I was so afraid I’d end up copying ten times by my heavy finger that I felt better with him doing it. He’s such an understanding good sport that he happily did that for me. I couldn’t ask for a more supportive life partner.

I don’t want to neglect saying how grateful I am for my writing group for critiquing it. At the end, I felt I had as good a story as I could make it, but I’m sure if I waited I would find ways of improving it even more. I always give more tell than show, my weakness. Now off  to work on that illustrator contract.

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in personal growth, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Happy Author’s Good News

  1. SuziCate says:

    Absollutely awesome. Congrats!!!!

    Like

  2. Congratulations Clar! Great news to share at the conference.

    Like

  3. give more show than tell – if it’s your weakness it must also b your strength. i celebrate it w u! nice post clar. hugs

    Like

  4. widdershins says:

    Congrats on the contract … In’it the most wonderful scary-velous feeling ever!!!!

    **doing Snoopy Happy Dance for you**

    Like

    • Thanks Widder. Wish I could watch you dance. hehe. woopdee woop.; Now I want to ask you , how are you promoting your book?

      Like

      • widdershins says:

        Not doing anything yet, ’cause I have nothing to promote yet … my publisher is dragging its feet in the editing department (haven’t even heard from the editor at all so far. Grrrr) … but I’m getting my ducks lined up as we speak for when I DO have something.

        First up though, once you have their signatures on the dotted line, contact your publisher and ask ’em for a list of what they’re going to do in the promo department, so that you don’t duplicate anything. For instance, will they enter your book into awards or do you (some awards will only take publisher submissions)

        We can email each other for more stuff if you’d like once your contracts are squared away.

        Like

      • clarbojahn says:

        How can I contact you. Do you have my email?
        Clar

        Like

  5. Jennifer says:

    Congratulations Clar – was very happy to read your news!
    Jennifer

    Like

  6. jannatwrites says:

    Congrats to you – that’s great news! Good luck coordinating the illustration completion and release date. Looks like you’ve got busy times coming but (but ‘good’ busy, for sure :))

    Like

  7. Pseu says:

    Good news!

    May I ask where you are now, and where you were bought up, Clar?

    Like

    • Hi Pseu, I was a child immigrant from the Netherlands growing up the rest of the way in Northern Virginia. After being a Volunteer in Service to America in Rural Indiana I returned to Northern Virginia and am only an hour away from where I was raised. When I moved here it was a small community but it has grown to quite the large suburb of Leesburg, Virginia.How about you? Where were you raised and where do you live now?

      Like

  8. Pseu says:

    I was born in the Midlands, UK and spent some pre-school life int he UK, before returning. I moved away to Oxford to train as a nurse and have spent most of the rest of my life so far here, with little forays to Australia and to Lincolnshire.

    The reason I asked, Clar is that occasionally I detect a slightly different syntax or use of words in your writing that I couldn’t locate.

    Like

    • Pseu says:

      oops
      “… spent some pre-school life int he UK,” should read “spent some pre-school life in South Africa….”

      Like

      • clarbojahn says:

        Maybe what you’re seeing is that I spent years writing in medical records and nurses notes. I think and my huby agrees that is why I have so much tell in my writing and little show. But that doesn’t answer your question on syntax.Could you give me an example?

        Like

    • Pseu says:

      If I notice it again I’ll let you know. I can’t find any now!

      Like

  9. nrhatch says:

    Congrats! And have a wonderful time at the conference. 😀

    Like

  10. Congratulations on the contract. I bet it’s a great book that both children and parents would enjoy. From reading your about and that comments you gave to others, I could say that you have a loving and generous heart and it would definitely show in you book. I bring my son to the library every 2 weeks and we would borrow about 14 books. I would read to him every night that I’m off and It helps create a father and son bonding .He usually chose half of the books I read for him. I can’t wait to read to him your book. God Bless you and your family.

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thank you very much, Island Traveler, I really appreciate your stopping by and commenting on this post. You sound like a very good, loving father who cares about what kind of things your son is learning about. I hope you will buy a copy of my book to read your son. It will make me very happy.:)

      Like

Comments are closed.