Interview With Author Bobbi Carducci

Book Cover/Storee Writer gets a New Dog

Book Cover/Storee Wryter gets a New Dog by Bobbi Carducci

Bobbi Carducci is president of Community Voice Media and director of Young Voices Foundation aimed at giving the young people of today a voice through their writing. She is the editor of several books by the foundation and published a children’s book ‘Thanks to Tank” in 2010. “Thanks to Tank” was written and illustrated by two talented teens she met through the Young Voices Foundation. You can see more of “Thanks to Tank” at his face book page. Bobbi is also the founder of Round Hill Writers Group where she is influential in seeing other authors get published. I met Bobbi at the Round Hill Writers Group and she has helped me with all the questions I’ve had in dealing with my publisher in the publishing of “Annie’s Special Day”. Without her and the group’s help I wouldn’t have the confidence to continue on my writing career. So it is an honor to present the second interview with her here on my blog.

1– When did you know you wanted to be an author? How did you get your start?

I ’ve been writing since I was eight. However, I didn’t seriously start writing for publication until 2002. My mentor, Elaine Henderson, of Pennwriters gets credit for my first sale. She critiqued a story I wrote for True Story magazine and helped make it marketable.

2– You have a new book out called “Storee Wryter Gets a Dog”. Can you tell us a bit about it?

Storee Wryter represents creative kids who love to read and tell stories. Storee and her cat, Critique, train a puppy to be a therapy dog. In the process Storee gets great ideas for her next book and readers are introduced to the process of writing.

3– How did you get the idea and how long did it take to write?

Storee is me as a child. I wrote it as a picture book in 2008 with Storee as an adult.  Something seemed off and it  sat in my files. It was much better once I rewrote Storee. But the rewrites weren’t over. My editor , Callie Ferguson, at Tate Publishing suggested it would work better as a chapter book and asked me to expand it. I always listen to my editors. She was right and I’m extremely grateful for her advice.

4– You did an experiment with publishing this book, can you tell us a little about that?

I submitted this book to Tate Publishing rather than a traditional publisher for three reasons. First it supports my mission to encourage young writers and I wanted to get it done as soon as possible. Second because the contract includes a marketing program. And third, I wanted to find out if they performed as promised so I could inform other writers.

5–  If you had it to do over again, is there anything you would do different?

I’d submit to Tate Publishing sooner. They did everything they said they would, exactly when they said they would do it and did it extremely well.

6– You have a unique marketing plan for “Storee”. Can you tell us a little about how you plan to market your book?

Elementary school and home school educators are my main customers. It provides them with an entertaining story that also encourages kids to explore their creativity.  It’s available in e-book and audio book form for use in the classroom.

7– You are working on another book now. Could you tell us a little about that?

I’m writing a memoir based on the seven years I spent as an in-home caregiver for my severely ill father-in-law. It’s not a how-to book.  It’s a, this is what it’s really like every day, story. Laugh out loud funny at times, gut wrenching painful at others.

You can visit Bobbi at her blog at http://schizophrenicwriter.wordpress.com/ and you can also visit her web site at www.communityvoicemedia.com/bobbicarducci.html

“Storee Wryter Gets a Dog” is now on Facebook and Twitter @storeewryter and Storee has her own blog.  http://storeewryter.blogspot.com

Related Articles

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in interview, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Interview With Author Bobbi Carducci

  1. Clar,
    Thank you having me as I guest in your blog home. If your readers have questions about writing or publishing I’ll gladly answer them as best as I can. I’m looking forward to attending the Pennwriters Conference with you.
    Bobbi (Schizophrenicwriter)

    Like

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thank you for always being so willing to help. I always leave my comments up so anyone will be able to read your offer.
      To all you readers, if you have questions please feel free to ask them on this comment thread and Bobbi will answer them. I am going out of town to coincide with my computer repair till next Tuesday, April, 12th. I’ll schedule a post to run on Saturday but won’t be back to answer comments till Tuesday. Hope all of you have a wonderful weekend and see you back here after my trip to NYC.

      I’m looking forward to going to the Pennwriters Conference with you, too, Bobbi.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Interview With Author Bobbi Carducci (via Clarbojahn’s Blog) « Change is Never Ending

  3. First hand conversation with a beginning or establish ed auther is the best source of advice and encouragement. Much better than the “How to do it” books. Esp when it’s the only thing the guy got published.

    Like

  4. Awesomeeeeee! Thx for introducing us. I luv what she has done n is doing

    Like

  5. nrhatch says:

    Terrific interview. Especially enjoyed:

    Storee Wryter represents creative kids who love to read and tell stories. Storee and her cat, Critique, train a puppy to be a therapy dog. In the process Storee gets great ideas for her next book and readers are introduced to the process of writing.

    Thanks, Clar and Bobbi.

    Like

  6. amkuska says:

    The book looks great. 🙂 Thanks for visiting with Clar.

    Like

  7. Pingback: Creative Nonfiction and Memoir Writing Online Course « The Schizophrenic Writer

    • clarbojahn says:

      Thank you for the pingback on the interview. Are you going to use it for your class? Maybe you could talk a little bit about it here so anyone interested would be able to register. I know I would but have taken your class before.

      Like

  8. Pingback: Interview with Author Dixiane Hallaj | Clarbojahn's Blog

Comments are closed.