Another learning event

I thank all you readers for putting up with me while I learn about this theme in my blog, this appearance of the blog. I could have left it alone but read a blog about how to make your blog great. Ha ha, jokes on me because in the doing I have left myself open to embarrassment. I’m trying though and I hope that be next week you’ll be reading a post with a little more enlightenment than this. However, I’ll tell you what I read. To make a great blog, one must have a photo in the sidebar and have an ‘about me’ page. So that’s the reason you see my photo as a post. I couldn’t for the life of me figure out how to get it in the sidebar, and all the widgets that were in the sidebar disappeared somehow. So I’ve been learning how to put them back.

Because it’s been Christmas there has been a limited amount of time I’ve been able to spend on this project and have left it unfinished. Today my son and girlfriend are coming for two nights and we’re supposed to get a significant amount of snow. They may be snowed in. I plan on enjoying this event and hope you will understand why this blog is so weird.

Read down to my blog about being on a learning curve and you will understand that this is all a part of that. However if you have WordPress and know how to make your photo show up in the side bar and know how to make an ‘about me’ page, please leave a comment to that effect. I will greatly appreciate your help. I think I have the wrong theme for the photo but don’t know why the ‘about me’ page disappeared. In any event I wish you a very Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays.

You are the light of the world.

About ClaraBowmanJahn

Journal writer. Author of "Annie's Special Day" And coauthor of Edmund Pickle Chin, A Donkey Rescue Story." Proud mother and grandmother of wonderful kids. Wife of brilliant husband. Servant of two cats. Member of Pennwriters and SCBWI.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Another learning event

  1. Widdershins says:

    Go to your ‘Dashboard’ and look down the list of stuff on the left side until you get to ‘pages’. Click on it to open it (if it isn’t already open, and you’ll see ‘add new’. Click on that and bob’s your aunty! (this works the same way as when you add a new post)

    … you can add an image by looking just underneath where it says ‘add new page’ (which is where you put the title of the page) and you’ll see ‘upload/insert’. If you roll your mouse over ’em you’ll see what they are.. then just click on the first one, which should be ‘add an image’ and follow the prompts ….

    … I used this feature to put book cover artwork on one of my pages and it worked like a charm … bear in mind that I’m using a different template than you, but all things being equal (hah!) it should work for you too …. let me know how it goes …

    … hope this helps

    Like

    • Clar says:

      I want to thank you for those options but it must be my template like you said in your earlier reply because I tried those. In fact I used to have an ‘about me’ page before I started to add an image and then it disappeared. I’m fairly sure I can’t add an image in this template, in this theme after trying everything else. My son and girlfriend are still here so I won’t be scrolling through any soon. Thank you for trying to help me.

      Like

  2. Widdershins says:

    P.S. If it doesn’t work it might be that your template doesn’t allow multiple pages…. just change templates! …. “Just” she says …. the thought of scrolling through all those options again, trying to find the perfect one … Oyyyyyiiiiiii

    Like

  3. jannatwrites says:

    I might be able to help with getting a photo in the sidebar, though I’ve not used this particular theme. Under “Quick Press” on the dashboard, upload/insert – click the photo icon, which is the first picture. Browse to the location on your PC where the picture is saved, select picture and click “upload”.

    Once the image is uploaded. you can click on the “Image Library” tab (it’s the last tab in the upload box). Click the “Show” link for the image, scroll down to “Link URL” – highlight and copy the entire line; close the window.

    On the dashboard, scroll down to the “Appearance” section and click on “Widgets”. Under “Available Widgets”, find and click on “Add” by the “Image” widget. On the “Image URL” line, paste the Link URL that you copied above.

    You can play around with the width/height and the other entries. The number you select for the position determines the order of the widgets in your column.

    If these instructions are confusing, you can also find some good info if you do a Google search for “add page to WordPress blog” or “add image to WordPress blog”

    Good luck 🙂

    Like

  4. clarbojahn says:

    Dear Jannatwrites, I did exactly as you said and I got an image in my sidebar, bot it was not me. It was a tiny square of color that was indistinguishable from anything else so I deleted it. I think I have to know the height and width of my image before it can effectively be shown there. Thank you so much for your time and trouble in trying to explain how to put my photo in the sidebar. Now I know. Now all I have to do is figure out what went wrong. Clar

    Like

  5. jannatwrites says:

    I think I had to play around with mine a lot. You should be able to experiment by increasing the width and height – just make sure you increase them by the same proportions or you’ll end up with a stretched out picture. Good luck 🙂

    Like

    • Clar says:

      I may be brave enough to try it today. I’m new to all this technology and just got scared off. I may leave it alone for awhile while I gather courage and time.

      Like

  6. Clar says:

    Dear Jannatwrites, Where is the link to your blog? I’d like to see your photo and read your blog.

    Like

  7. jannatwrites says:

    Clar, you can either click on my name in the comments, or go to
    http://jannatwrites.wordpress.com/ (sorry, I haven’t figured out how to link in comments yet…baby steps).

    I have other photos in my side bar, but my photo is on my About page.

    Good luck!

    Like

Comments are closed.